1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Crossfire Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by (FIH) The Don, Feb 10, 2010.

  1. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    oh i meant the one i pictured above, the one with the vapor/toxic lookalike cooler on it:D
     
  2. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land

    you're in man

    i bet 2 used blocks are VERY cheapo?
     
  3. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Possibly. They me be very hard to find making them more expensive than expected though.
     
  4. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    that sucks, just saw 2 of them got sold for 50$ total in denmark, full cover EK's if my memory is right, dont know much about WC, but it looked like them
     
  5. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
  6. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    thats very cheap for a brand new block i must say:D

    are you gonne get those?
     
  7. mikek75

    mikek75 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,371 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
    Count me in, I run 2 x 1gb 4870's.

    @Mussels, I use a P45 board and I don't have a problem with flicker. Very rarely use Vsync. The only game I have which had a problem was NFS Shift, which manifested in a flicker only on the headlights/brakelights and trackside lights. This was a driver problem as it didn't occur with 9.10. It started with 9.11 through to 10.1, but its fine now with 10.2.

    Have you tried using the second card since 10.2?
     
    (FIH) The Don says thanks.
  8. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Possibly. But not in the very very near future. Odds are will look into a new video card instead of watercooling.
     
  9. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    you're in man! :toast:
    yeah i thought it was a driver problem too

    yeah i would do that too, especially if its only one of the cards that is running a tad hot.
     
    mikek75 says thanks.
  10. ChewyBrownSuga

    ChewyBrownSuga

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    398 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Throw me in the mix

    2 4770s + a 4870
     
  11. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    you have 2 4770s and 2 4870s?

    or just 2 4770s?
     
  12. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,966 (12.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,391
    A freind of mine had a nice P45 that did CrossFire well too. My x38 and x48 boards though, I had the shimmer with vsync off. I always thought it was the cards/driver problem, but perhaps it wasn't.
     
  13. ChewyBrownSuga

    ChewyBrownSuga

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    398 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    two 4770s and I'm going to add one 4870 this month
     
  14. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    cool :D you're in bro :toast:
     
  15. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Oh and if you want to list them, I have ran 2x 2600 Pro's in the past as well.
     
  16. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,966 (12.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,391
    I've decided that tonight everything is getting dissassembled and cleaned. Then it's going back together and I'm going to take some pics for the case gallery, my old 3870 CrossFire rig is still in there. Still using the same case, but things are a bit different now.

    Here's the old 3870 setup:

    http://www.techpowerup.com/gallery/1359.html

    That case was so new and shiny then. :(

    We'll see how she cleans up. Currently it looks like this:

    [​IMG]

    TriFire with a 5000 x2 BE. Yes there was bottleneck:

    [​IMG]
     
  17. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    updated:p
     
  18. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    nice rig erocker,

    you better go clean it up then:D
     
  19. mikek75

    mikek75 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,371 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
    Serves you right for being rich and going for the high end, lol! Seriously though, maybe it is limited to those chipsets:confused:
     
  20. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,983 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    416
    Location:
    Florida, US
    ooo ooo
    count me in
    I run 2x 4850s
    soon to be 5850s or 5770s
    :D
     
  21. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    [​IMG]
     
  22. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,950 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,508
    I've got 2x4870 in Xfire now- looking to test a third as it sits around otherwise. will get pics of all when i'm doing that :)

    1 Sapphire 4870 1GB
    1 Sapphire 4870 512MB
    1 VisionTek 4870 512MB
     
  23. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,966 (12.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,391
    Assassin48 says thanks.
  24. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    you're in bro :toast:

    that is one freakin nice setup man:D

    did you put the 3rd 5770 in it or still running 2?

    you're in bro! :rockout:
     
  25. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,088 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    This is awesome. Totally sad my board has one slot.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page