1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Crossfire Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by (FIH) The Don, Feb 10, 2010.

  1. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,433 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,189
    I have a fresh OS install happening today as well so Im going to push the bitch.... last night I maxed out the gpu's voltage and core+mem clocks in MSI After burner but I got a lower score in Vantage... i think it was due for a clean install... going from a 4890 to a 5970 fucked up things. the registry I'm thinking took the biggest hit from swapping gps's out and messing with drivers even thou I followed Erockers suggestions. :eek:
     
  2. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    that tend to fuck things up sometimes yes:D

    but, when i do like 1000/1400 on my 2 cards i get the same score as if i run 960/1375.

    so i think i found the limit on my cards maybe? or maybe not, because that was on the amd, maybe the i7 can handle it better?
     
  3. copenhagen69

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,929 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,243
    Location:
    USA
    has anyone played crossfire with BC2 yet?

    how did it run with them? ...also curious if you ran it with 2x5770 lemme know :) that will be my soon'ish crossfire setup
     
  4. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    i played the beta, even though i found it VERY boring, and that was with 2 5770s, it did NOT feel like they had to work for it:D

    was actually kinde dissapointed with the beta, prob why i dont buy the game until it drops MUCH in price

    and i play mw2 and etc,
     
    copenhagen69 says thanks.
  5. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,433 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,189
    run it chicken shit lol :laugh:.... I just ran mine and got ever so close to my all time record.

    once you hit the wall with the gpu's you can always try for more cpu freQ hehe:rolleyes:
     
  6. copenhagen69

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,929 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,243
    Location:
    USA
    how do they run MW2? that is my main game at the moment ...
     
  7. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    ROFL:D i will i will, but i'm also cleaning up my case and putting cathodes in there, new fan, removing hd bay and what not:D so i'm kinda bussy, :roll:


    well with one 5770 i coul play it in full hd with max aa, its not because that game is so demanding, it uses the same engine as the mw1 i think, with some modifications?

    so yeah, not a heavy game at all

    but yeah, i play it maxxed out
     
  8. copenhagen69

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,929 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,243
    Location:
    USA

    very cool ... glad to hear it blows through MW2 :toast:
     
  9. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    it sure does, they also takes crysis at 1680x1050 with around 40fps with 4xaa
     
  10. copenhagen69

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,929 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,243
    Location:
    USA
    daaaaaang ... very nice :toast:
     
  11. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    yes it is:D

    havent tried warhead though, but cant imagine that will be much different

    its gonna be exciting to see how well the 5890 performs, hope it will be REALLY good, since i'm considering it for the next CF setup

    i do NOT consider nvidia in the near future, they've just been dissapointing to mee for too long in the price vs performance.
    and if its true that the gtx-480 isnt much better than the 5870 and it will cost 200$ or so more, then nvidia is diggin their own grave
     
  12. copenhagen69

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,929 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,243
    Location:
    USA
    ya nvidia has been crap for a few years now

    that 5890 should be pretty impressive ... hopefully ATI learned on the 5830 flop and make the 5890 the way it should be
     
    (FIH) The Don says thanks.
  13. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,433 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,189
    New Vantage high! :pimp:

    [​IMG]
     
    (FIH) The Don says thanks.
  14. copenhagen69

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,929 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,243
    Location:
    USA
  15. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    dang nice score there, :eek:
     
  16. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    come on Brad, you got some catching up to do :p BTW this is another c/f setup, dual 4870's.

    CPU is only at 4GHz on this run

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]
     
  17. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    which unigene test is best?

    and nice rig CP, thats the old one right?
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  18. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    My new 5770s show up Mon so can I play too....
    Crosshair III (FX790)
    AMD 965
    Asus CuCore 5770s (had XFX 5770s but sold them)
     
  19. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Yeah, miss it a lot, the case especially.

    :rockout: Kick ass system there Mark :toast:
     
    MKmods says thanks.
  20. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    what case was it? looks like it has some nice wm possibilities
    and LOTS of room :D

    MK, that is gonna be kickass, but you already know that since you had it before:D
     
    MKmods says thanks.
  21. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,433 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,189
  22. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    LOL, im so retarded... I had perfectly good 5770s (a bit noisy but good) and I sold them to wait for 5830s but they turned out to be not such a good deal, than I waited for an openbox 5880 but I am just too dam slow...

    Today I found a pair of the New Asus cards for $124ea, so screw the waiting I got them. I like how they have the long exhaust slot (instead of the small one the rest of the cards have)

    Im probably gonna make a custom cooler that attaches a fan to the power connection end and blows along the cards and out the back of the case. It wqs either gonna be the Asus cards or the MSI Hawks but I figured if i was gonna make my own cooler why spend the extra $100..

    And CP thats a very clean looking loop you had there...
     
  23. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,489 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,768
    i had issues with flickering and such, until i ran the game as admin (UAC disabled also works)

    weird, but true.

    I still get minor crossfire flickering in the background image even with Vsync on, but i can only see it in menu, not in game. Not everyone gets that flickering.
     
  24. MetalRacer

    MetalRacer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    868 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    712
    Location:
    The Lone Star State
    Sign me up.

    [​IMG]
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  25. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    yeah the 5830s are not good imo, either you go 5770, or you go 5850, that middle thing is not good,

    but dang, 124 each is CHEAP, those suckers costs 210$ in denmark, ffs i hate being here when it comes to hardware

    its gonna be fun to see what you will do with them:D

    Metal, which cards are those? 50s or 70s?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page