1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

crossfire fan/heat/fit question (5770)

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by shevanel, Dec 13, 2009.

1. shevanel

shevanel New Member

Thanks Received:
    I have this particular 5770 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814161310

and I have ordered another which will be here Monday.

i am a bit concerned though. I am wondering if the top card of the xfire config is going to get burned up because it seems the pcb of the bottom card is going to suffocate the fan on the card above.

I've never ran a multi gpu setup so I've no experience in the issues I'm going to face so if someone can make some suggestions on either aftermarket coolers or comments on how you think the issue I'm concerned of will affect the setup I would be appreciative.

Thanks
  2. Mussels

Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

Thanks Received:
    top cards tend to run 5-10C hotter, but it shouldnt have any real issues.

5770's arent hot running cards, so there should be no problems.
    shevanel says thanks.
  3. shevanel

shevanel New Member

Thanks Received:
    Thats what I was thinking and was hoping someone would say the same thing to confirm.

You did exactly that, thanks!
  4. MKmods Case Mod Guru

Thanks Received:
    To me the 5770s are MUCH cooler running that the 4870s (when I had them they radiated a ton of heat)

I use exclusivly SLI/Crossfire and always pick mobos that have a bunch of space between the cards because of that. Since you have less space ur gonna have to work with what you got and using the 5770s was a good choice.
    I notice mine run at 50% of fan speed, are almost silent and run in the upper 30-low 40C range. If I turn up the fan the temps drop to the upper 20lower 30 range (but the fans are LOUD) I have these 5770s
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814150447