1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

crossfire OC

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Paladone, Jan 19, 2013.

  1. Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    421 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
  2. TommyT New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    55 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    Beer-Sheva@Israel
    yes, i think its a shot athat must be done, :) you must do it, :toast: first try to look and the top oc of the xfx card and then oc them both.
     
  3. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,668 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,273
    depends if you really think you need the extra OC, Ive had 4870s, 5850s & 6970's in crossfire, the way i went about OC'ing the graphic cards was to OC each card one at a time to find out its limits then back down and settle both cards at clocks they can both handle either by using MSI afterburner or editing the bios so i dont need to fudge about with OC programs all the time which sometimes causes my system to hang.

    Can you please fill in your system specs and tell us what size of monitor & resolution you play on?
     
  4. Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    421 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    i7 3770k @4.3ghz
    32GB DDR3 RAM @2400mhz
    Asus maximus Formula V eAtx Motherboard
    Nzxt switch 810 tower case with 6 fans + a corsair h100i closed loop cooling system
    128GB samsung 840 pro SSD
    1TB caviar black wester digital 7200rpm HDD
    Corsair gold 80plus 1050w PSU
    And then of course the two graphics cards.
    Edit: and my monitor is a samsung S23A950D 23" 1080p 120hz monitor

    So i've never actually overclocked before doing my CPU. Do i just increase the ratio and voltage? And what program do i use to test it's stability?
    Edit: And Will it cause problems if i OC one more than the other? Do they have to be the same?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 19, 2013
  5. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,668 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,273
    If youve never OC'd before, I highly insist you read these guides before making any changes.

    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?

    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=20251

    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=140238

    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=30480

    These guides are rather dated, but the important thing is all the basics to overclocking you need are in those guides - such as what to do and what not to do.

    Heres a more relivant article for sandy/Ivy Bridge OC

    http://www.overclock.net/t/1198504/...-guide-sandy-bridge-ivy-bridge-asrock-edition



    For GPU overclocking - read this guide here http://wolframpc.blogspot.co.uk/2012/01/graphics-card-overclocking.html
     
    Law-II and Paladone say thanks.
  6. Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    421 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    How do you i swap graphics cards on msi afterburner so that i am able to OC the second gpu, because atm i can't work out how to.
     
  7. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,668 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,273
    there should be an option in the settings to 'link clocks' or something of that nature. I havent used afterburner since battlefield bad company 2 was released so someone else here might need to fill in the gaps for you where my memory falls short.

    If youre running two 7970s on a single 23" monitor, id say it was a waste of time. youre more likely to get more frames if you OC your CPU harder (like mine for instance) but I know of the heat issues with ivy bridge.


    :EDIT:

    do you run games at 120hz on the monitor or 60hz?
     
  8. Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    421 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Aah right, i might try to push my CPU a little bit harder then. clocked at 4.3Ghz, at 100% load it sits at around 65 degrees. And I run my games at 120hz.
     
  9. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,020 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    229
    Location:
    Central Israel
    You click the little settings tab at the bottom right and under general you can pick the graphics card you want to OC and also there as option called:synchronize settings for familiar graphics processors,enable it if you want the OC to apply for both cards.

    EDIT: a 3770k should do atleast 4.5 with an H100i,do you have hyperthreading enabled? what core voltage are you running?what PPL voltage?
     
  10. Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    421 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    i couldn't tell you right now because i'm on my laptop and my PC is in the living room where my mate is sleeping, but i'll let you know in the morning. I thought hyperthreading was automatically enabled? Do i want it enabled with an OC cpu?
     
  11. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,384 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    565
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    Ive found xfire to work better by forcing them to the same clocks .ive had issues with aburner and recomend saphire trixx for ocing amd cards .its neater easier and works better imho
     
  12. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,020 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    229
    Location:
    Central Israel
    Hyper threading should be enabled by default,but if your not running any multi threaded apps you can disable it to help with your OC.
     
  13. Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    421 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    So you think i should OC the xfx 7970 to the same speed as the Asus 7970 Matrix. Just core speed or memory as well? And should i OC bit by bit until the xfx 7970eaches the same speed as the asus 7970 or just do it in one go?
     
  14. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,384 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    565
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    Gpu and mem at the same clocks .
    What clocks are you starting with?
     
  15. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    If your not overclocking both cards and just trying to match the speeds of the 2 cards, just leave it be. There will not be any substantial gains....
     
  16. Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    421 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Asus Radeon HD7970 ROG Matrix Platinum 1050M/5500M 3GB/2xDVI/4xDP


    ASUS MATRIX-HD7970-P-3GD5 graphics card - Radeon HD 7970 - 3 GB

    Bus Type -PCI Express 3.0 x16

    Graphics Engine -AMD Radeon HD 7970Memory -3 GB - GDDR5

    Core Clock - 1100 MHz

    Stream Processors - 2048

    Effective Memory Clock - 6.6 GHz

    RAMDAC - 400 MHz

    Memory Interface - 384-bit

    Max Resolution Details - DVI: 2560 x 1600 / VGA: 2048 x 1536

    Max Monitors Supported - 6

    Interfaces - 4 x DisplayPort ¦ HDMI - with adapter ¦ DVI-I (Single-Link) ¦ DVI-D (dual link)

    API Supported - OpenGL 4.2, DirectX 11.1

    Dimensions (WxDxH) - 5.33 cm x 27.9 cm x 13 cm

    Microsoft Certification - Compatible with Windows 7


    XFX Radeon HD7970 Dual Fan 925M/5500M 3GB/DVI/HDMI/m-DP:


    XFX Radeon HD 7970 - graphics card - Radeon HD 7970 - 3 GB

    Bus Type - PCI Express 3.0 x16

    Graphics Engine - AMD Radeon HD 7970

    Memory - 3 GB - GDDR5

    Core Clock - 925 MHz

    Effective Memory Clock - 5.7 GHz

    Memory Interface - 384-bit

    Max Resolution - 4096 x 2160

    Max Resolution Details - DVI: 2560 x 1600 / DisplayPort: 2560 x 1600 / HDMI: 2560 x 1600 / VGA: 2048 x 1536

    Max Monitors Supported - 3

    Interfaces - DVI-I (dual link) ¦ HDMI ¦ 2 x Mini DisplayPort

    API Supported - DirectX 11, DirectCompute 11, OpenGL 4.2, OpenCL 1.2

    Dimensions (WxDxH) - 27.5 cm x 11.1 cm x 3.8 cm
     
  17. Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    421 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    So do you think i should just leave the two, not overclock either and maybe push my CPU further?
     
  18. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,384 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    565
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    Id personally up the xfx card to the higher 1100 and mem speed in 25hz steps upping volts marginally if required and test.
    Id use kombuster from msi and it can be used without Ab must be full scrn test for xfire
     
  19. Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    421 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    I'm currently trying to overclock the XFX card. I have pushed it as high as 1000Mhz up from 925 and i see literally 0 FPS difference in MSI, is this normal?
     
  20. Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    421 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Aaah, so do you mean just jump to 1100Mhz? Also, when i adjust the voltage on the XfX card, it seems to also be applying to the Asus card but is not letting me change it unless i also change the XfX card.
     
  21. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,384 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    565
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    If your using saphire trix you can switch off the sync settings and oc just one
     
  22. Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    421 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    I have a h100i cpu cooler and i noticed that i could set the fan speed up tp 2600 RPM. Is it going to decrease the life or be dangerous if i keep it around 2500?
     
  23. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,668 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,273
    faster rpm is gonna decrease the life of the fan a little quicker. its all down to how loud or quiet you want your PC to be. running the I tend to run fans at medium/high so i dont sacrifice much in the way of cooling for performance.

    If your temps are good then there's no need to change. my CPU never gets close to 60'c even after hours of BF3
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page