1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Crossfire (one or two bridges?)

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by twicksisted, May 29, 2008.

  1. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    quick question...
    I just saw an advert for another HD2900pro (£80)
    I already have one and want to crossfire them.... I will only have one crossfire bridge though.
    do I need two? or will it work with one bridge?
  2. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    You only need one.
    twicksisted says thanks.
  3. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,600 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    yeah you only need 1 but if your buying that card new it might come with another bridge anyway
    twicksisted says thanks.
  4. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    nope its a second hand card... will also be able to check it out running before I leave with it.
    £80 isnt a bad price for the card considering that you cant find them anymore except on ebay where they go for £150+

    I know that a 3870X2 would be much better, but to be honest, my single HD2900pro does well on my 24" screen, i just want a bit more and have always wanted to try crossfire :)
  5. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    448
    Location:
    East TN
    that's pretty cool that the 2900 pro's work only with one bridge. I've gotta have two.
  6. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    ok so the GT version needs two bridges? but the pro only needs one...
    Are you guys 100% sure of this?
  7. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    alright so im back... i bought the card... and its a 256bit version!!! whereas my original one is 512bit... should work right? its the same GPU.

    also... can someone get back to me on the crossfire bridges... some people are saying one, and some saying two. :)
  8. FR@NK

    FR@NK

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    521 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    It should work with one bridge using the newest drivers. Try it and see.
  9. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    any particular slot i need to use? 1st or 2nd?
    this will be my first try at crossfire so I want it to work... will read the crossfire tips thread first.
    for now i have to wait till i get home as im at work :(
  10. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Use 2 if your into High res gaming. Truly anything above 1680x1050. Can't fidn the link mentioning resolutions limitations with 1 bridge at the moment if I find it will post it.
  11. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    i have tried 1 and 2 and seen no gains between them but im using 3850s @ 1280x1024
  12. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    hmmm i only game at 1920X1200.... because thats my screens native res... which is why i bought the second card, for that extra bit of power
  13. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    twicksisted says thanks.
  14. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    thanks mate... so far it looks like ill be fine at 1920X1200 :D
  15. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page