1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Crossfire Radeon HD 6670

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by rkbHD, Feb 16, 2013.

  1. rkbHD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi guys,

    I am running a pretty budget build.

    Intel Celeron G530
    Radeon HD 6670
    Biostar TZ68A+
    8GB 1333mhz RAM

    Do you think it will be worth the extra £50 ($80) for a second HD 6670 in CrossFire? Do you see any potential performance issues in that neither of these cards come with a CrossFire bridge? The Z68 chipset I believe can provide enough bandwith for the PCI lanes. Any input would be appreciated.

    Thank you.
  2. dude12564 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    472 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    216
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    What's the wattage of your PSU?
    Law-II and Phusius say thanks.
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,931 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    its going to give somewhere between a 50-100% boost, but personally i'd suggest saving up and replacing the card entirely.
  4. rkbHD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    PSU Wattage

    Hi @dude12564,

    I have the OCZ 500W CoreXStream PSU.

    Sorry for not including this in the original post.

    Thanks.
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,931 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    that would handle the power requirements. still, i stand by my suggestion that its not a good idea.
    rkbHD says thanks.
  6. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,613 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    348
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    Pairing low gpus is newer a good ideea better sell that 6670 you already have and buy something like a 7770, it will be faster and cheaper overall (than crossfired 6670).
    rkbHD says thanks.
  7. rkbHD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks for the input, selling it for a 7770 makes a lot more sense.
  8. jaggerwild

    jaggerwild New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    119 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Reality
    RkbHD

    Just wanted to know about that BioStar Z68 board, do you like it? Do you over clock it, if so does it do well?
    I been itching to get another one soon.....
    Thanks!
  9. rkbHD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Great board for the price, only complaint being it only having two USB 2 ports. I have not overclocked anything on the board itself so I can't really comment on how it performs. Other than that, an ATX board with two USB 3 and two SATA 3 ports for £40 I thought was a steal.
  10. dude12564 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    472 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    216
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Don't think you can overclock a Celeron anyways.
  11. LDNL

    LDNL

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    450 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    Finland
    And crossfire wouldn't have scaled that great with the bottom lane wired only for pcie x4.
    rkbHD says thanks.
  12. jaggerwild

    jaggerwild New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    119 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Reality
    Thanks man!!
    yeah they are cheap so if you blow it up...... and yeah you can over clock a Celeron, but that wasn't my question!
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,931 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    if you want to ask about the board, PM an owner or start a new thread. please dont de-rail this one.
  14. gathor New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I would go for the 7770 as said before. Before I bought mine I was considering 6670 but in the end 7770 was the winner. Power/price ratio is great and PSU requirements are really low. Really enjoy that card, was a bit of a step up from 1650 :laugh:
    Good luck with the upgrade mate:)
    rkbHD says thanks.
  15. jaggerwild

    jaggerwild New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    119 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Reality
    Mussels
    First off, on my phone there is no indecation of a MOD.
    Second I did not insult you, I qouted the rules an told you to check your EGO (incase english isnt your primary thats not an insult) unless your power tripping.
    Again all my postings are to help others, then I get jumped on.Like I said I got more hardware Than half your members combined. I didnt see you warning Drdeath or Erocker in the other section about the PSU, I assume cause they have a high posting count...........
  16. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    You can't crossfire 6670's there is no bridge as you mentioned...
  17. jaggerwild

    jaggerwild New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    119 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Reality
    WRONG!!
    I thought you know computers? Low power GPU'S dont need a bridge, so YES they can be crossfired. If your gonna post information maybe research it first.
    On topic you can crossfire two 6670'S, as stated the gains are minamal so replacing the first 6670 with a beefer GPU would be the way to go...........
  18. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Never knew you could xfire with no bridge. No need to be a dik.:slap:

    Ooops, I guess I am a dik at times...
  19. jaggerwild

    jaggerwild New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    119 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Reality
    Im a dic cause you go around this forum actting as if you know something about computers but then you spew out dis-information cause infact you dont know. Get used me doing this, as I don't post about stuff I don't know.......
    And the OP asked if it can be done a simple google shows it can, Sapphire suggests a 400 Watt PSU for one card and a 500 Watt PSU for Two cards.
  20. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs

    I don't deal with low end shit. get over it. I got a 6670 from Gigabyte for a Trinity review, did not see a tab for crossfire and just figured it couldn't.
  21. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,487 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,897
    Now that would be somethin'.

    Let's be friendly and polite! People can have disagreements and different ideas without calling people dik's or even bringing emotion into it. We're talking about computer hardware afterall, it's a hobby and an enjoyment for many of us. Let's try to make our posts reflect that.


    **Know what? I'm banning drdeath and jaggerwild from this thread. You've both said enough and have been warned by a mod.
    Mussels and jaggerwild say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page