1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Crossfire woes!

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by SeeK, Jun 27, 2011.

  1. SeeK

    SeeK New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    138 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    Firstly, hello again. It's been almost five years since I was last active 'round these parts. :)

    Secondly, my issue: I can't get Crossfire working right. I've got 11.6 with its CAP1 installed. Both cards are detected, Crossfire is enabled in CCC and all that. However...

    When I run any Source game, everything's fine in the menus but as soon as a 3D environment loads, performance hits rock bottom. It does seem like it's actually running, because if I minimize the game and bring it back up it'll have a different frame. But it simply will not render (and sound loops as if I was changing settings) while in the game.

    Metro 2033 gets around 1 FPS at all times. Never got past the menu as it was stuttering too much.

    Crysis Warhead works fine, but sees no performance benefit whatsoever compared to running just the 5850.

    So, what is wrong? Like I say, everything looks fine in the drivers and setup, but games just will not function correctly with Crossfire enabled. I've tried older drivers, with and without CAP, and I've even done a complete wipe and re-install of Windows, installing only the bare minimum to get a game running. Still nothing.
     
  2. LGV

    LGV New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    260 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    The clock rates may be an important factor, as well. The first card (the one closest to the CPU) is usually the "master" in the configuration. If this card is overclocked, there's a risk that the second card will try to reach these speeds, too. If you suffer from frequent crashes or overheating, you should try adjusting the clock rates of the master card to match those of the second card (or even slower) and see if this makes the configuration more stable. Moreover, both cards have to have the same frame buffer, too.With AMD graphics cards, you usually use the fastest one as the master card. The performance increase by doing this is very small, but it can be seen in all the benchmarks. Again, running a differently-clocked CrossFire combination might cause some issues due to higher clock rates of the master card. You need to either change clock rates or change the card sequence to fix this.
     
  3. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    740
    Location:
    Portugal
    The problem here aren't the clocks alone. Besides, OP's HD 5830 has higher stock clocks than the HD 5850. I'm thinking the differenet number of ROPs must be the problem too. And, as far as I know, Crossfire doesn't downclock or overclock to match speeds. Scaling must be terrible with those two cards too.
    SeeK, of the two cards, which one is on top PCI-e slot?
     
  4. SeeK

    SeeK New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    138 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    The 5850 is in the top slot. I haven't tried switching them around yet.

    I'm aware this is hardly the most common of Crossfire setups, but according to this it's fine. I was thinking the bridge might be faulty, but seeing as the Diagnostics section in CCC doesn't report anything, I dunno.
     
  5. LGV

    LGV New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    260 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Both card works ok as stand alone?
    Try to swap the sequence or make the clocks closer to each other or both.
    But even you make them work, wont see too much increase of performance.
    (I would sell one of them or both if need higher performance)
     
  6. SeeK

    SeeK New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    138 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    Yep, both of them work fine on their own.

    Worth noting is that when running Furmark, both cards run and get hotter. Framerate still seems to be the same as a single card though.

    Why would I not see much of a performance gain? Crossfire is engineered to be much more flexible with different GPUs and clocks these days and seeing as, with a bit of overclocking, the 5830 will be at least as fast as a stock 5850, I don't see the problem. Time'll tell though...

    A dual-5850 combo scales at around 75% it would seem, so a 5850+5830 combo shouldn't be too far off - if I get the damn thing working.
     
  7. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,447 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    That says to me only 5870 can CrossfireX with a 5970, there is nothing to suggest you can pair an 5830 with a 5850, unless I am reading it totally wrong?

    Ah ok, I see "external crossfire bridge required" so seems they "should" be compatible, perhaps that isn't the issue then.
     
  8. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    746 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Ptobally cpu bottle neck, you just have a dual core, not enough cpu power for thise gpu's, even my q9550 with gtx275 sli sucks donkey balls, lower fps than one card
     
  9. SeeK

    SeeK New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    138 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    Which brings me to an issue that'll probably get its own thread sometime soon - my 555 unlocked to a quad just fine on a cheap M4A88TD-M but it freezes in idle on my new Sabertooth board. Figure that. :p Still, I don't think it should bottleneck that when running scenarios in which the GPUs to the bulk of the work.

    To be honest, I wouldn't've gone for this combination usually - but I got both cards quite heavily discounted during a sale at OCUK. Got the 5850 for £99 and the 5830 was just £59. :D
     
  10. LGV

    LGV New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    260 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    look at http://www.aria.co.uk was my fav shop b4. £99 for a 5850 ( I know , diff what you got)

    may bigger PSU as well... I would...
     
  11. SeeK

    SeeK New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    138 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    Law-II says thanks.
  12. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,636 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    671
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    You mention "gtx275 sli (S.D.Balls)" - your system spec's suggest you run one card.

    Information asus p5q-ws dose not support SLi; which is possibly why it suck's as it can only see one Nvidia card in Top PCIe x16 slot (however it can run AMD crossfire x8 & x8)

    Note: asus p5q-ws

    2 x PCIe 2.0 x16 (@ x16, x0, or x8, x8)
    2 x PCIe x1
    1 x PCI 2.2
    1 x PCI-X

    Look here http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/Intel_Socket_775/P5Q_WS/#specifications

    Hope this is helps

    atb

    Law-II
     
  13. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,636 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    671
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    When looking at this chart I was looking at the black dots that represent the cards, I miss read the chart ?:eek:

    MY bad, AMD recommendation is black dot's

    atb

    Law-II
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2011
  14. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    746 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I know, i swapped mobo because it didn't work the way i wanted, i ran sli on my 780i mobo and that supports 3 way sli.

    I have single card with p5q-ws atm
     
    Law-II says thanks.
  15. SeeK

    SeeK New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    138 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    I've sent off an inquiry to AMD themselves to see what they have to say. At this point I'm fine if they don't support my configuration, but I will ask them to alter their compatibility charts accordingly if that's the case. I might just get another HD5850 Extreme and stick the 5830 in my girlfriend's system.
     
  16. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,636 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    671
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    agree, will be interesting to see what AMD say. I did take another look at the AMD chart after your post and took onboard what you said; seems you are on the money and that the yellow represents external crossfire bridge and if the 5850 & 5830 have a bridge, there must be some improvment in performance, just not what AMD recommend.

    I agree with others on this thread suggesting that the core and mem should match in both cards, as that could course issues with syncing frames

    Good luck

    atb

    Law-II
     
  17. SeeK

    SeeK New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    138 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    Thanks. :) Will do more testing when I get home in an hour. Eagerly awaiting AMD's response as well! My girlfriend's in need of a new card, so it's no big loss either way - but it would be nice if it worked.
     
  18. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,117 (6.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,177
    What slot is each card in?

    I don't see a reason why this wouldn't work and give better framerates than a single card.

    Your CPU might be a bottleneck, but it wouldn't cause worse framerates with Crossfire than a single card, the worst case is you wouldn't see an improvement, but it wouldn't get worse.

    The only thing that I can think of maybe, is your PSU might not be able to handle the load. But I would think a TX650 wouldn't have that problem.

    Have you don't a total driver sweep and re-install?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  19. SeeK

    SeeK New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    138 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    The cards are in the light brown slots, so slots 1 and 4. Already triple checked that they're in the right slots. :) Even if one of them was in an x8 or even x4 slot it wouldn't cause this.

    I did think of the PSU, but it should be fine. And Crysis runs fine, although with single-card performance, so...

    Yep, tried several drivers with full sweeps in between and I've also re-installed Windows. Think I'm just gonna buy another 5850 Extreme to be honest. Just hope I don't have the same problem with that.
     
  20. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,117 (6.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,177
    I don't think Crysis properly supports crossfire, which is why you are getting single card performance, so the second card isn't being activated and stressed, so the PSU isn't overloading.

    If you've done driver sweeps, then the PSU is really the only idea I have left.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  21. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    994 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona
    http://www.radeonpro.info/en-US/

    Use this
     
  22. SeeK

    SeeK New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    138 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    Right, bit late, but here's an update on this: The AMD support rep said that while they do support my configuration, he would never ever recommend it. I gave him all my system details and he said they'll look into it. In the meantime I've gotten myself a second 5850 Extreme, so my problem's "solved". Stuck the 5830 in my girlfriend's computer, made her happy as well. :D
     
    Law-II says thanks.
  23. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,930 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,362
    problem with the 5850 xtreme's is they dont OC too well. Had mine for less then a week before i sold it off to a friend. however i am aware that you can now tweak the voltage using TRIXX. unfortunately, they only added support for the card after i sold it so i have no idea how high it clocks with extra voltage.

    It struggled to reach anything above 780Mhz on the core. on stock voltage
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page