1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

CrossfireX 5770's 3x enough Power??

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by >>PhoeniX<<, Mar 30, 2011.

  1. >>PhoeniX<<

    >>PhoeniX<< New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    131 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Ok, I I just got my shiny new MSI 890FXA-GD70 mobo, 4 GB G.Skill 1600 ram, and a Phenom X4 955. I have an 850w NZXT Hale90 power supply that has held my system great so far. Right now I am running a single XFX HD5770 and I was wondering if my PSU would hold three 5770's. I know for a fact that I would not be overclocking them nor my CPU.

    So? Enough power? Thanks <LB>
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    without OCing it should be fine, but you are aware that gains from triple crossfire arent that great? two would be the most effective.
  3. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    unless your PSU is really crappy, you should be fine... I mean 850W is alot.
  4. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    where the fuck do you get those numbers? lol. total BS. :roll:
  5. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,772 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
  6. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    [​IMG]

    Tri-fire 5770 won't even get to 300W unless under Furmark lol

    That review says TOTAL SYSTEM power consumption
  7. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,772 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Unless they are using the whole system in the review instead of just the cards. which they might be doing....

    Like I said I just looked at the load pictures at the legit review I posted..... They might be listing the whole power consumption. If thats what they are doing I am sorry for providing wrong information.

    But it ain't just BS.... watch what you say before you accuse! Maybe there is a mistake.
  8. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    It says so in the graph lol

    He could OC the shit out of the GPUs and CPU and still be fine.

    Thing is he won't get much benefit from tri-fire over CFX as Mussels said
  9. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,772 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Well shit man it is late here.... My bad make a big deal about it then bro for Christ sake.

    I still think he would be pushing it with that Power supply Just My opinion.... I would rather be safe then sorry
  10. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    I'm sorry, it's just that it is so OBVIOUS looking that it lol

    I mean, I saw that you said the 5770 takes 270W alone and I was like :wtf: My 5850 CFX took about that much power

    How do you figure it's pushing the PSU? Granted I didn't go check the Amps on the PSU or anything but my guess is that it has ample enough. Again, 5770 tri-fire = ~300W max, which is like 25A for all 3
  11. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,583 (13.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,978
    Have you checked how many amps is required? Make sure you have the dual CF tabs on your 5770's, the single tab cards won't work with tri-CrossFire.
    yogurt_21 says thanks.
  12. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Would tri-fire work with 1 dual CF tab and 2 single CF tab cards?
  13. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,772 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    It's cool man I shouldn't have been so defensive shows me right for trying to help when I am half awake.

    But yes my thought pattern now turns too the AMPS it would take to run those cards.:toast:
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    TPU reviews measure just the cards power consumption, most other places measure the whole system. your numbers were way off 20mm, his tri crossfire system wont even hit 500W at stock.
  15. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Oh my, After looking up his PSU, it is a nice 80 Plus Gold PSU with 70A, MUCH more than enough as the tri-fire will take 25A or so

    It even does 86% effenciency at 100% load, this PSU is Corsair standards, NO PROBLEM AT ALL. It can handle almost 1KW!!!

    Dude, no problem at all, this is a quality PSU, and 5770s draw very low amount of power, you have TONS of power to spare


    It won't even go NEAR 350W stock.


    Sorry for being a bit abrupt, I was more shocked by the humongous numbers :roll:
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2011
  16. 2DividedbyZero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    780 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    Location:
    in retarded hell
    see my sig
  17. >>PhoeniX<<

    >>PhoeniX<< New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    131 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    The power supply is actually an 80 Gold. Payed a pretty penny to get it. Its white so it contrasts in my case well. Thanks guys! InerTia*
  18. >>PhoeniX<<

    >>PhoeniX<< New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    131 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    And erocker, my current one does only have one tab. But I am going to sell that one and get two dual tab ones. Then eventually a 3rd one.
  19. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    as long as you have one card with 2X xfire connectors 3way xfire will work, BUT the reason they took the 2nd xfire finger from the newer rev cards is tri 5770 scales like shit, there is onl like one or 2 drivers that support t for 5770 nad really it isnt worth it. my suggestion sell them and get a better card. both ones im selling have dual fingers but 3way 5770 isnt worth it.
  20. 2DividedbyZero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    780 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    Location:
    in retarded hell
    how do you configure that to work? at least 2 cards will need 2 bridges connectors surely :confused:




    ahhhh... unless you got a long flexible bridge
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    only the one in the middle...
  22. 2DividedbyZero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    780 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    Location:
    in retarded hell
    ...|...
    ...|...
    ...|..|...
    ...../...
    ...|...
  23. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    the end cards dont need to be connected to each other.
  24. 2DividedbyZero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    780 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    Location:
    in retarded hell
    i didn't show that it had too
  25. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    you asked how it worked, and said you didnt understand how it would work. for trifire you need three cards, middle one having two connectors, and two bridges. that is all.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page