1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

CrossfireX a Firepro Card and a Radeon HD card?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by loloTHUNDAH, Sep 15, 2012.

  1. loloTHUNDAH New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    63 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Philippines
    There was a recent thread that asked why Firepro cards and Quadro cards are so expensive but offers lower performance (gaming wise) compared to the Radeon HD and GTX cards.

    out of curiosity i thought;

    Why not get Firepro v9800 and a HD 7970 and crossfire them? or get a Quadro 6000 SLI'd with a GTX 680?

    I mean that would great since you get the visual quality a gaming gpu can deliver with awesome computational prowess that a workstation card can offer?

    has anyone done this yet? if so how?

    Just asked out of curiosity.. thanks for the replies!
  2. Capitan Harlock

    Capitan Harlock

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    453 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Arcadia
    for my opinion is a fact first of all chipset and second drivers
    loloTHUNDAH says thanks.
  3. loloTHUNDAH New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    63 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Philippines
    yeah but people can make custom drivers and such, plus with the tech today it might be possible. though the downside is that it'll be so expensive
  4. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,798 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    417
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Well the chipsets are the same. It's the drivers that make the difference ;)
    loloTHUNDAH says thanks.
  5. Capitan Harlock

    Capitan Harlock

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    453 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Arcadia
    if you have enough power you can make rendering with a normal gaming gpu but its not optimaized ,about the tecnology mmmmmmmm its possible but first need benefit for become true ,a guy here on tpu have 2 hd 6990 in crossfire and use it for rendering not only for game ,try a crossfire or a sli with a different chipset dont work but with the same chipset need to try but is worth it?
  6. Capitan Harlock

    Capitan Harlock

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    453 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Arcadia
    well if the chipset is the same lets try xd
  7. loloTHUNDAH New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    63 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Philippines
    Anyone willing to try? XD
  8. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,798 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    417
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Well you would have to use regular Catalysts to get X-fire. So at best the Firepro would just be ID'd as a 7970 so waste of a MUCH more expensive card with zero benefit.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page