1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Crossfiring 5850 + codmw2

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Jaxx, May 15, 2010.

  1. Jaxx New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=108857

    This is the only thread which I can currently find which has the same problems as me. I really am stuggling to fix this.

    I am going to copy an' paste what ive been posting to all forums I can find about video cards.

    I currently run two ATI 5850's in crossfire and I notice i am getting some real bad flickering. It is espically obvious when steam interface is brought up ingame. This flickering only happens in modern warfare 2. I have up to date drivers ( 10.4 ) and my video cards are not broken...I think not.

    I understand this may be the wrong section of the forums so if it is can someone point me in the right direction, or give me a link to where i can submit issues to IW so they can fix in a new patch


    tl;dr

    1)get flickering in game

    2)Need link to bug/problem thread

    Would be awesome if someone could help, rather upsetting having spent alot of cash on a 2nd card and it not to work in a game i enjoy very much.


    ( this is pasted among several threads )


    -----

    Now I dont know if this is useful but Ive got

    i7 920 @ 3.6 ghz
    ASUS p6t v2 mobo


    I am not your much tech wise guy you can find, but i think this issue with my flickering on codmw2 is games fault and not mine. I really hope it is as that 260 pounds I have spent is useless now.

    Help would be great, thanks.
  2. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,154 (5.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,959
    Location:
    Home
    Try running MW 2 non crossfire, one 5850 is more than enough to power that game.
  3. Jaxx New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I know that. But I didnt get two video cards just for MW2. Never the less I still would like to use my 2nd video card when it comes to MW2, so do you have any ideas on my issues or are you going to continue pointing out the rather obivous?
  4. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,154 (5.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,959
    Location:
    Home
    Didn't suggest a fix, I suggested a workaround. Have you tried all the other obvious step like Vsync and things like that yet? Do tell us what you have done, I think its easier than getting us to suggest things you already done.
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,493 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,908
  6. Jaxx New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Good idea. Im not your most tech wise guy but this is what ive done.

    Disabled AI in CC which fixes it because it disables crossfire, so thats pointless.
    Vsync does not help.
    updated video cards to 10.4
    Tried messing around with ingame settings for codmw2 to 59hz- 65hz etc.
    Switching the video cards themselves.

    I can't think of any other things I have done, but I have done the usual ( I know that doesnt help saying that )

    Please do throw Ideas at me :)
  7. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,855 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,413
  8. Jaxx New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Tried that. I may try it again tomorrow. :S

    I have posted their already, thanks.
  9. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,855 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,413
    You ran driver sweaper in safe mode?

    <<<<<<LOOK AT MY POST COUNT!

    6,666
  10. Jaxx New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yeah am sure I did.

    Like I said il give it another bash tomorrow. I hope I dont get any problems by doing this "reinstall video drivers ". Ive had alot of bad experience with driver updates. Tho It didnt mess up 1st time I did it but you know never. I just dont want it to give me more problems then before


    6,666 the devil:p
  11. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,855 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,413
    Follow that guide closely and you'll be fine man. If you do run into trouble post back here and we will help. If you don't get a response then PM me and Ill help. :toast:
  12. Jaxx New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yeah il give it another go tomorrow, thanks for concern.

    However could it just be codmw2 that has the problem with CF 5850's ?

    I dont get this issue anywhere else. Tho I do get texture flickering in dirt 2 and ocasinally in BFBC2.
  13. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,855 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,413
    Well MW2 uses the same engine that MW, WaW, CoD2 used and I used to run crossfire with all of those with no issue. Out of curiosity is your DX up to date?
  14. Jaxx New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...FamilyID=2da43d38-db71-4c1b-bc6a-9b6652cd92a3

    I downloaded that and installed it, I assume imy dx is up to date. I dont know whether thats a program you, or if it automatically update your dx when it installs.

    Is there a way i can find out so i can report back to you?
  15. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,855 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,413
    If it says it up to date then you should be ok. Oh and I think you have a software issue. I doubt its your cards but out of curiosity are you using one crossfire cable or two?
  16. Jaxx New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well all it did was install then close.

    reinstalled, said all was up to date
  17. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,855 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,413
  18. Jaxx New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  19. Jaxx New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  20. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    Did you try updating your Crossfire profile? I know this doesn't mention MW2, however maybe it will help...give it try, you never know

    Latest CrossfireX Profile --It says 10.3, that's okay. Just download and install. That's it, let me know what you are getting after that

    Edit: How much watts is PSU?
  21. Jaxx New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    850w PSU.

    I have downloaded that link and installed. I assume it installs then it does all the updating and doesnt require you to run a program to update it.

    It does not work. Codmw2 is flickering.
  22. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,154 (5.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,959
    Location:
    Home
    Brand? Have you reinstalled your drivers yet? Also, have you tested your cards for stablilty through Furmark and things like that? Test each card for stability. I wouldn't rule out a malfunctioning card.
  23. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    Dang, is it just MW2 that is doing it? Or is it more than one game? It may be a bad graphics card, that is the worst case scenario :shadedshu
  24. Jaxx New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    XFX 850 PSU


    My card(s) are stable and fine with furmark and several other similar programs.
  25. Jaxx New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    double post:


    Its only codmw2 with the program. BFBC2 is fine, crysis is fine, tf2 is fine, dirt2 is fine but i get texture problems but i guess thats on dirt'2 side.

    Its not the cards :S

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page