1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

CrossHair 4 Extreme ~ Lucid Hydra Brings SLi to AMD chipsets.

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by cadaveca, Jun 12, 2010.

  1. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,770 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,846
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Seems nVidia really does have no place in the chipset business(pic stolen, no source, unknown validity):

    [​IMG]



    Thoughts?


    :laugh:
  2. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    I read a review that said the Hydra chip wasn't as good as everyone hoped.
  3. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,770 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,846
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Depends on who you are talking to. It's not for benchers, for sure, as the Hydra Multi-gpu engine will add a bit of latency to the overall PCI-E bus, just by being there, however, the same can be said about NF200.

    But, if it's just used as a PCI-E switch, the end result shouldn't affect real gameplay, nor should it or NF200, really be of any concern to a gamer.

    Always consider who comments come from, before taking them into consideration for your own uses.
  4. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,041 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
    i think the sli on the amd boards is probably the best feature of the hydra chip. the ability to mix ati/nvidia cards is just a bonus. how would this work with drivers and licensing i thought u needed nvidia to give a sli license before sli would work in any configuration.

    drpepper ! another scotsman on tpu i thought i was the only one lol
    DrPepper says thanks.
  5. SystemViper

    SystemViper

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,499 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    472
    when it that board being released, i can't wait,
    Lucid Hydra bring it on.....
  6. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Wow us Scots will soon be taking over ! Where abouts central ?
  7. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,606 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    the way i see it, your not running them in "SLI" but rather just combineing the gpus together , or splitting the data between them.

    this is different to SLI and the way it works.
  8. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,041 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
    im in ayrshire u?
  9. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Stirlingshire
  10. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,770 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,846
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Maybe..this is the first I have heard of SLi on AMD chipsets, so...I dunno how it will work. Seems ot me one way is using the Hydra chip, but the other is not?

    I guess those things will be made more clear once the board actually launches.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page