1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

crosshair III formula out

Discussion in 'Hot Deals' started by LittleLizard, Jun 22, 2009.

  1. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
  2. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
  3. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,590 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    Yeah I've seen it up on there for like a week
     
  4. Mike0409

    Mike0409

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,142 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Im picking one up in a few week's. probably end of July. been waiting for this board for a while. Only downfall I see with it is 5 SATA port's.. I got a lot of HD's..
     
  5. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Other Thoughts: I ordered this after seeing it was finally available after its may 29th release of this year.
    I had ordered the high dollar DFI AM3 Board as I'm an Overclocking Freak & Custom High Performance PC Builder and have used DFI for YEARS...HOWEVER after 2 defective DFI boards in a row as I rma'd the 2nd board and searched for a replacement I saw it like a shining Jewel..the Hol E Grail....the Legendary ASUS Crosshair III and I overnighted it to myself and I will get it--.6-19-09 (belated Birthday Gift to me :) 6-14). I will repost with performance results with an x4 940 this board, and a triple channel kit of Mushkin DDR3 1600 and 2 640g WD hard drives in raid 0 with 32 megs of cashe :) in a CoolerMaster CSX Limited Edition Case (#49 of 400 Skulls n flames) all on stock air & Parts Using a PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 watt Power Supply...$1500.00 in parts for mmm 16Mhz + ?, pwnin noobs..Priceless :)
    Newegg&Virginia=#1!
    ...................................
    Find whats wrong in there..
     
  6. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    according to your system specs u got six drives, use five on sata, one in the esata with an enclosure and an ide cd drive.
     
  7. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    did anyone read the customer comment on newegg. What a TOOL!!!! funny as hell but. Good looking board too :)
     
  8. Psychoholic

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    517 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    MMMMK... a triple channel kit.. lol; Tech level is high too.. lmao


     
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,889 (13.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,286
    I just want pics of those three sticks humming along in single channel!:D Looking at the componentry of this board I'm having a hard time seeing why it is better? I understand the there may be benefits to only having two PCI-E slots? It is a gorgeous motherboard for sure.
     
  10. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    phenom X4 940 is a AM2+ chip and wont even fit in the socket


    and

    [​IMG]
     
  11. From_Nowhere New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    661 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    He can't even run them in single channel with a Phenom 940! RAM he has is DDR3, Phenom II AM2+ only supports DDR2... he can't even put the CPU in the board becaues the Crosshair III is AM3.

    Otherwise it looks like a badass board.
     
  12. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    I really wanna see a review on this board vs the m4a79t Deluxe. From what I can see, it just looks like that same board with a SupremeFX II pci-e riser, more right angled sata ports, dual 16x slots (vs quad slots), and "Republic of Gay-Mers" branding...? :confused:

    Although, granted it really isn't much more expensive than the m4a79t board. I picked up my m4a79 Deluxe off newegg for $135 open box. It is great, although one out of the two right angled sata ports has serious issues with it (and no I/O shield of course). Still worth it though.

    Edit: what is that cable coming off the northbridge cooler and plugging into the board? Is that a fan? (I hope not 'cause the 790FX chipset has not ever needed active cooling IMHO).
     
  13. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    ROG logo lights up. as for M4A79T vs this mobo big thing right out of the box is no vdroop with the crosshair and no pci-e switch which means better overclocking
     
  14. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,369 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    The Pico Mundo Grill
    Hmmm...was´nt all previous Crosshairs versions on Nvidia chipsets?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    yep
     
  16. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,889 (13.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,286
    Ok, there's an actual switch in the mobo for the PCI-E slots. As far as V-droop, I get absolutely none on this board. Not once has it deviated from where I set it, it's got to be one of the best boards I've ever used. :toast:
     
  17. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,369 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    The Pico Mundo Grill
    What a shame...I owned a Crosshair with the 590 SLI chipset....back then I had 2 ASUS 3870 cards and could´nt do CF....now I own 2 GTX285 cards and a mobo with AMD chipset ... that´s just f.....g great ....no SLI there....

    I´ll have to do a little "brain-circumvention" on my self...:banghead:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Nvidia's 980a failed horribly, so they just used 790FX, which is better anyway.
     
  19. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    sorry let me rephrase that in sub zero conditions with cpu volts in the 1.75-2v arena the board has vdroop lol
     
    erocker says thanks.
  20. mav2000

    mav2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    451 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    Nice ...any review out on this board??
     
  21. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    mav2000 says thanks.
  22. mav2000

    mav2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    451 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    Looking at tht right now
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page