1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC2-6400 2 GB Kit

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by infrared, Mar 7, 2007.

  1. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2007
    kureng and Sovereign say thanks.
  2. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Sweet kit and sweet results. The price isnt bad either, less than what I paid for my GSkill DDR400 :)
  3. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    I couldn't believe the price either. It was originally a lot higher, but i guess with the PC2-8000 and PC2-8500 kits here now they lowered it a lot. Certainly great value!

    I'll post a new set of results shortly on my new Asus P5K Deluxe when it arrives. I'm hoping that i can run the modules 1140mhz 1:1! We'll see anyway :D
  4. Sovereign

    Sovereign New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    797 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Thanks for the wonderfull review, Infrared!

    I personaly own this kit and am just in love with them! It's too bad my motherboard is holding them back from their true potential. I've had Corsair XMS and OCZ EL Platinum & Platinum XTC in the past and nothing compares to Crucial and their Ballistix & Ballistix Tracer line! I'm going to go play with them some more and see if I can't get better results!
  5. lucassp New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Romania
    There are low end value sticks that can do 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 2T at ONLY 1,9V.
  6. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Great... go ahead and use that then. :)

    Thanks for the compliments, and I'm glad you're enjoying yours as much as me!
  7. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,302 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    Blighty
    damn infrared, i thought you were selling your ram when i saw this thread, bugger
  8. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Sorry :p
  9. Sovereign

    Sovereign New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    797 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Midwest USA
  10. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I have the 2x1GB PC2-8500 Tracers. I currently have them set at 950mhz 4-4-4-6 1T and 2.150v on my evga 680i board. They are super fast. I did try to test them at 4-3-3-6, which caused errors. Probably asking too much! They were $219 with a $75 rebate, bringing them to $144. I just got an email confirmation from crucial, that the rebate is being processed. Sweet.

    Attached Files:

  11. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Try 3-3-4-8, they should like that.
  12. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,865 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Micron D9??
    Hm so I suppose the Tracers ARE better than the Ballistix for overclockability??
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Nope. They did not like that at all. Just a long beep. I even tried to give it 2.2v (spec).
  14. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Yes, they are D9's. My guess is they are the best of the best, since they are top of the line, and Crucial is owned by Micron.
  15. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    No there the same just the Tracers got the Blk HS and leds ;) I think cuz look a mine Crucial Ballistix (2 x 1GB) DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) {OC'ed to 1100Mhz@5-5-5-15} @ 2.25v dont have 2.2v just 2.15,2.25
    Edit: I tryed it again @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 1.8v and passed :p Also look at my specs. 1100Mhz @2.05v

    :toast:On the Rivew Good Job
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2007
  16. lucassp New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Romania
    yeap, Crucial sticks are far better than mine using low timings :)
  17. zOaib New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    985 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    FL
    < ------ proud Owner of the Ballistix pc 1000 4gb kit.
  18. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Change one latency at a time until you find the latency that causes the system to not boot, that latency is likely the latency that isnt supported in the SPD data.
    Paulieg says thanks.
  19. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Yeah, that's what I was thinking too. I'll play around with it tonight. I also wonder if 950mhz is too high with tight timing like you suggested. I'm gonna try underclocking them a little more, and see if it helps. Then, I think I will start testing the latencies one at a time. On another note, people have mentioned that they see better performance on DDR2 with higher frequencies, and looser timings. I've found the opposite to be true, particularly in super pi and everest benchmarking.
  20. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Clock them to 800MHz with a starting voltage of say 2v, adjust latencies one at a time to fund that latency that isnt supported in the SPD data, then see how far you can take the modules before having to increase voltage ;)
  21. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,635 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    does this ram come with a little sticker like most g.skill ram does? lol i know this is a stupid question but im interested
  22. alias_1ab New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    does anyone else have a problem with the ddr2-6400 ballistix being identified by CPU-Z on a EVGA 680i NF-63 board? cpu-z shows me no information about the ram at all. nor does everest or nvidia control panel. and it doesnt matter whether if i take out the 2 ballistix sticks without the leds or vice versa no matter what speed settings. any ideas on whats the issue?
    (i have 2 x 1 gb non-tracers and 2 x 1 gb tracers, all ddr2-6400)
    (also have memory voltage set to auto which the board determines is 2.2v)
    (can easily hit 1 ghz at 5-5-5-15 timings)
    (currently running at 853 mhz at 4-5-5-13 timings, Linked FSB:MEM ratio of 5:4)
  23. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Have you updated the bios to p28? If you haven't try that. The flash through Nvidia update actually works quite well.
  24. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    nope, sorry. Whats the one that cames with g.skill ram? a case sticker?
  25. alias_1ab New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    ive already updated the bios for the board. im pretty sure it was doing the same thing even before I flashed the board. Maybe its a slight defect with the board? From what ive read online about the EVGA NF-63 board is they basically are NF-68 boards but they were "declassified" because they couldnt run the quad-core cpus or something like that. Too bad I dont have another DDR2 board to test the ram out in.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page