1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Crucial Releases "000F" Firmware Update for M4 SSD, Enhances Power-Loss Protection

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Apr 12, 2012.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,713 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,669
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Crucial is known for issuing firmware updates for its M4 series SSDs that bring significant improvements, be it the 0009 update that introduced performance improvements by as much as 20%, or the 0309 update that fixed a lot of BSOD instability issues. Introduced on Wednesday, the newest firmware update, "000F", introduces the following changes:
    • Improved compatibility with certain SAS expanders and peripheral RAID cards.
    • Improved throughput stability under extremely heavy workloads.
    • Improved data protection in the event of unexpected, asynchronous power loss.
    With higher performance, improved OS-level stability, and now with higher throughput stability and improved data protection in the event of power loss, Crucial M4 is closer to being the perfect consumer SSD.

    DOWNLOAD: Crucial M4 000F Firmware Update Windows 7 Updater Utility, Manual Boot File, Instructions
     
    ChristTheGreat and 1c3d0g say thanks.
  2. Rowsol

    Rowsol

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    574 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    Crucial is awesome.
     
  3. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    i will be looking at this when i get home from work on my M4 128

    +1 for Crucial being awesome.
     
  4. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,742 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    982
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Installed it yesterday already. Works ok so far. Only thing that i hate is that their Windows app was constantly saying that no SSD was eligible for upgrade. Then i burned the update boot image on DVD and booted and it updated no problem. I think i'll stick with boot image updating proceedure. It's just much more reliable without wonky OS possibly interfering...
     
  5. 1c3d0g

    1c3d0g

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    699 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Love the new automagic Windows updater. No more burning useless CD's after firmware upgrades for me!
     
    Completely Bonkers says thanks.
  6. Sp33d Junki3

    Sp33d Junki3

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    200 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Crucial knows SSD very well.
    Love my 256GB M4.
     
  7. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,742 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    982
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    You never heard of CD-RW or DVD-RW technology? I use them all the time since the day they were introduced tot he market. Besides, like i said, boot CD method is far more reliable since it boots its tiny OS and fires up firmware updater. No other stuff is running, no possible conflicts or interferences. It might take slightly longer but is just infinitely more reliable. Isn't that the reason you use Crucial M4 in the first place? Reliability?
     
  8. 1c3d0g

    1c3d0g

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    699 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Didn't have a problem updating the SSD with the automagic updater. Besides, I don't like wasting time burning CD's/DVD's. Now I just download, double-click and I get a shiny new firmware. Easy. :)
     
  9. Jurassic1024

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    173 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Stable and reliable yet it had how many problems and firmwares to get there?

    *pets his old but very reliable C300 and i only had to update once (007) to get 6gbps setting to stick after a reboot
     
  10. Jurassic1024

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    173 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    You mean flash drives right? No one should still be using CD and DVD's except for installing software and burning movies.
     
  11. ice_v

    ice_v

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    111 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Italy
    sooo...if I have the 0009, can i skip the 0309 and just slap this one on?
     
  12. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    i must be retarded i can not get this to work,

    windows up date did not work, and boot come up with "error" and did not update (i am in IDE mode)

    even following the process in help guide i can not even check my the version of the firmware i am on, all i have listed is "M4-CT128M4ssd2" and nothing shows in the details for a firmware version

    bugger it i give up for tonight
     
  13. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,845 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,338
    Why arent you running in AHCI mode???

    Anyway....the update takes ages if you have other hard drives connected as it searches for the SSD. Quickest thing to do is disconnected all hard drives and leave the SSD plugged in then try the update again.

    Unless youre not using it as an OS then things might get a little complicated.

    Also as others stated, If the windows updater doesnt work - try the ISO version


    :EDIT:

    the windows updater worked fine for me. firmwares been updated!!
     
  14. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    after digging a bit deeper it did previously flash to 000F it just spat an error but worked anyway.

    as for why im in IDE mode, i dont have a clue ..lol there must have been a reason when i set up the rig
     
  15. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,845 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,338
    I dont think its too late to change it to AHCI - your system might BSOD on boot, If that happends then follow these instructions to enable AHCI in windows registry, reboot and enable AHCI in bios again and you should be gold.

    enabling AHCI should also increase the speed of your SSD a little since TRIM is now enabled
     
    1c3d0g says thanks.
  16. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    Does the "windows 7" updater work on XP/2K3? Anyone tried? (I don't use optical... ) Would be nice if Crucial had a USB boot utility.
     
  17. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,742 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    982
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    I haven't tried using UNETBOOTIN tool. But i think it should work just fine. Stick in USB drive, use UNETBOOTIN to integrate ISO image on the USB flash drive and boot with it.
    Not sure why i haven't tried that despite the fact i use it for nearly everything.
     
  18. ice_v

    ice_v

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    111 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Italy
    up
     
  19. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,747 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Norway
  20. Evolved

    Evolved New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    352 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I never updated to 0009 or 0309.

    Does this newest update include EVERYTHING up until now?
     
  21. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,742 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    982
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Yes it does. Besides, it's recommended to upgrade to at least 0309 because of the 5000 hour bug in 0009 firmware. It's no biggie, but the system will BSOD in after you exceed the number of 5000 (or so) operational hours.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page