1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Crunchers Helping Crunchers

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Aug 8, 2009.

  1. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,037 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,682
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    The board I had to get for that demon proc is a Msi 790xt-g45. I ended up really liking the board. I also have a 790x-g45 with is the same board just supports ddr3 and also a 870-g45.
     
    Norton says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    That 790xt-g45 looks nice. Eventually i'll replace this board. Would like to get ahold of a few am2/+ ddr2 boards as i have a few other chips I could use. Could get some decent crunchin in then.
     
  3. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,037 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,682
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    If the chips will run in a ddr3 supported board I would strongly advise going that route. As ddr2 memory is expensive. Ddr2 is over twice the price of ddr3.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    nope. everything I have is ddr2 only I believe. I had a few builds in mind that never happened due to funds. One day hopefully. Luckily ddr2 still pops up on here time to time.
     
  5. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,037 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,682
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I just traded a mobo a couple weeks ago for 4gigs (2x2) of it. And I know where I can get another 4 gigs (2x2) I can put away for backup.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    good find. luckyyy lol
     
  7. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,037 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,682
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I have 6 x 2gig sticks now. and when I get the other 2 I will have enough to feel safe for awhile. I like to try and put backup stuff away for that just in case moment. And where I only have 1 system running ddr2 I think 4 extra sticks will be enough put away.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    I hear that. Thats why I like keepin a lil extra around of things just in case. I do have some ddr2 for sale I might take down, plus I took a set out of my main rig since this is screwing up.
     
  9. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,206 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,781
    Anyone have an extra 2gb DDR2 SODIMM for a laptop?

    EDIT: Norton has me covered :respect:
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9,001 (8.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21,011
    I got 2 x2GB DDR2 (PC6400) PM if you want em'

    *EDIT- they're on the way! *
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2012
    theonedub says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,089 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    I don't think this came through in the email I sent you.:)
     

    Attached Files:

    • 18.PNG
      18.PNG
      File size:
      123.8 KB
      Views:
      46
    popswala says thanks.
  12. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    lol. I didn't notice the paperclip for attachment nor did I scroll to bottom. I got it though. Thanks sooo much man. Will definitely let you know the second it gets here.
     
  13. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,741 (9.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,220
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Would anyone have a cheap GPU laying around like a 8800GT single slot or 4850? Going to be taking the second 2600k to work and I will need a GPU to make it work. Also looking to play HL2/Portal2/CSS/CS/EXEC while on off time. PM me with a shipped price and we can go from there.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,089 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    I don't have anything myself, but Geeks is my personal favorite for cheap hardware.:)

    http://www.geeks.com/products.asp?cat=VCD
     
    T4C Fantasy says thanks.
  15. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,741 (9.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,220
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Scratch those two cards, I think I may look for a 8800GTS 640MB G80 core
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,208 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,717
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    Well, spent all day trying to get Ubuntu to load up on the P4 HDD. Moved it to This Old Comp and tried Wubi install on that drive from XP running on my C: drive.

    I'm done trying to get it to work this way. USB, P4 BIOS won't boot from it. Boot CD, MadShot sent me a 64bit that won't work (Thanks for the effort ). On top of all that, The HDD Chicken Patty sent had Win7x64 on it. So, once I got all that formatted and figured out the disk thingy, I tried the windows installer, Wubi, and all I get is some cryptic verbage and a command prompt.

    Upshot is this, I don't have $5 to buy an install disk. If anybody has one, kernel or ver. # doesn't matter, can I get a 32 bit copy?

    I'm going through all this because my understanding is that Linux is a bit better cruncher and I want to get all I can get out of this goofy old E-machine P4! Also, my XP Pro Install disk is 25 miles away in a storage locker. Even if I could get there, it would be a half day of searching for it!

    The good news is that it appears there is only one more hurdle, an install disk, and this thing will be up and running!

    P.S. I left a message with my local IT bar buddy, big fan of Ubuntu, and haven't heard back. If I hear anything, I'll let you all know.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
  18. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    973 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    Last edited: May 13, 2012
  19. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,208 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,717
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    Will it install easily? i.e. from XP to a blank drive? Does it run without hiccups, like needs a reboot every two days...I've heard good things about Mint, is Lisa all that and some chips?

    I'm a newbie to Linux, can I just plug and crunch or will I have to spend another day configuring it?

    Well?

    turns out it's another .iso file that doesn't play nice with windows!
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Burn it to CD-R. http://imgburn.com/ then boot from disc(you have option to run it Live or install it). I have yet to touch another distro that is so easy to use and utilize. Pretty much plug, install wcg and crunch away. Stable enough in my use that it very rarely needs a reboot.
     
    Arjai says thanks.
  21. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,208 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,717
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    The CD-R is on the P4. This Old Comp just has a ROM drive. That is why I was asking for a install, 32 bit, disc copy.

    As soon as I get this P4 up and running, I'll have a CD-R...kind of a catch-22, no?

    :ohwell: Time to get a drink!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Swap drives between rigs.
     
  23. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,208 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,717
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    I might have to check the specs on this MoBo...for $9 I could triple my MGHz! Probably won't work on a cheap old E-machine, though!

    :ohwell: OK, now it's time for a stop at the bar. Good thing it's close, literally out the back fence!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Post the specs of the cpu or the model # of the tower.
     
    hertz9753 says thanks.
  25. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    973 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    hahah thats fucked up

    i never heard of someone spending 9 dollars to triple the cpu power hahahaha
     
    Arjai says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page