1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Crunchers Helping Crunchers

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Aug 8, 2009.

  1. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,049 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,215
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    Maybe tomorrow...I've had enough fun for one day!!;)

    Plus, I'll have to go buy some blanks and it's past open store time around here.

    Thanks for the info JR, If my buddy doesn't come through with an Ubuntu disk I'll probably load Lisa.

    Most of what I've heard is that Ubuntu 11.10 was the shizzle and that's what Lisa is based on...and if you say it's a breeze, good. I could use something easy after today!

    Take care fellow crunchers! I'll check in tomorrow, hopefully on the P4!!

    Now, for real, I'm outta here! Whiskey, HERE I COME!!! :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,079 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    471
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    Good luck!:toast: Sorry about post from the "TPU folder" we don't roll like that.:mad:
     
  3. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,049 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,215
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    This old thing has a 1.6 GHz P4 in it. I'm trying to make it into a cruncher, not much else it is good for. I happened to see the 3.0 P4's for $9 and kinda freaked!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
  5. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,049 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,215
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    Drives are switched, or CD R/W is attached, ghetto style, to This Old Comp and I have some CD-R disks but, ImgBurn won't open!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,846 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,393
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    What os are you using? Have you troed isorecorder? It's what I use to burn iso's.
     
    Arjai says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,049 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,215
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    For some reason, I don't know, all of the downloads download but then during, or even before, setup, they freeze.

    They move up and down the processes list on Task Manager but, the cpu usage for them sits at zero.

    I have rebooted multiple times, did a Malwarebytes scan, downloaded Microsoft updates....IDK what's going on! :confused: :banghead:

    So now, ISO Recorder is doing the same. I got as far as it opening a command line window, then nothing, for over 10 minutes. Task Manager says it is running, but it's just hung up, like the rest of them!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,846 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,393
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    It shouldn't open a command line window. Right click your iso file and click copy image to cd/dvd.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,049 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,215
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    Alright, dumped all the free burners and just used Windows. I hope it works! I'll be back in about an hour and let you know! Wish me luck!!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,589 (10.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,092
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Windows will not work it will just burn the ISO file to the CD not image the disc
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,049 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,215
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    ISO Burner setup is still running. But, when I right clicked a file, the ISO Burner window opened.

    Windows won't work? Alright. Then I'll give this ISO Burner a try at it!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,049 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,215
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    ISO Burner says it's complete...see you all in a bit!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,049 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,215
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    Well, Mint is installed! Yea! Bad news is now it won't connect to the internet. I changed the cat-5 line and everything. Plus I now realize I know nothing about MAC addresses and that is what is messing me up. It says it's trying to connect with the MAC addy on the Device.

    The built in Ethernet was working during install but, when I re-booted, as it asked me to do, it couldn't find a connection!

    So, all that for nothing!! TWO DAYS dickin' around with this P4 and now it won't connect!

    Thanks to all of you that have gotten me this far (C-P M-S B-64 and Norton and JR)but like most everything, lately, it's never done nor easily gotten.

    So, here I am again, asking for help. I thought that the install went so well the crap was over.

    Linux guru's, how do I fix my connection failure?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    MAC address is "basically" what assigns an IP when you have DHCP enabled. Easy way to get it, boot off the Live CD, connect to your router and check its client table. Hard way, there should be a sticker on the mobo near the ethernet port.
     
  15. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,049 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,215
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    It has a MAC address that it found but, even after rebooting my Netgear the cat-5 plugged into the number3 slot is plugged into the back of the P4, with Ethernet lights on, solid, it is still not lit on the Netgear.

    I also tried to run 'ifconfig -a' with terminal and it shows the exact same MAC. The Ethernet was working, now it's not. I've used two different, working cables. The only thing different is now Mint is installed.

    During install it worked!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,049 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,215
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    Is there such a thing as a PCI RJ45 10/100 Ethernet cards? Cause Methinks maybe this onboard is dead? Even with the red and green lights on?

    Damn this is irritating!!

    EDIT: I'm shuttin' her down. Gotta get some sleep.

    If anyone can think of why my wired connection, Mint Speak, won't connect, Please let me know!
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,589 (10.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,092
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Ok have a huge request!! CP if you could please post the in the OP I would appreciate it. My wife has flipped out again over my 6 core cruncher being open in our living room on a test bench for the last time. Would anyone PLEASE have a mATX AM2+/AM3 motherboard with onboard video they would trade me for my MSI K9A2 Platinum ATX 790FX board. I am desperate at this point. I may have to pack this cruncher up until I come across one.
     
    stinger608, ThE_MaD_ShOt and Daimus say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,155 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,561
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Damn Brandon, wish I had one but I just don't anymore man. Hopefully someone has one they are willing to swap ya out with bro.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  19. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,624 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,497
    I have another AMD rig in progress but I'm in need of a CPU.

    I will eventually pickup an X4 or X6 AM3 chip for it but in the meantime...

    Does anyone have an AM2/AM2+/AM3 CPU sitting idle that I can pickup for cheap. It doesn't really matter how many cores or what generation as I can run anything but FX in my crunching rigs (140W support in all of them)... just need something to stick in a rig to keep it crunching

    PM to discuss if you have something that will work for me. :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  20. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,589 (10.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,092
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I have a AM2 dual core if you want it. :)
     
    Norton and Chicken Patty say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,624 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,497
    I may if I can't locate an X3/X4- what model?

    YGPM- Thx!
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  22. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,589 (10.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,092
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Ok well its sitting here on my desk in the plastic case. I can mail USPS First class for you no problem.
     
    Norton says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    :respect: Brandon :respect:
     
  24. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,624 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,497
    Thanks- that chip will allow me to keep all of the rigs going :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  25. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,589 (10.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,092
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Chip will be in the mail tomorrow :) Push it to the max!

    I had one of these OCed to like 3ghz+ if its the one I remember having. They have been on my desk for atleast 5 months collecting dust.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page