1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Crunchers Helping Crunchers

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Aug 8, 2009.

  1. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,114 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,775
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    You have it unlocked to x4?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,944 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,608
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    The K9A2 has an ancient SB600 and the only board with either real or fake ACC functionality that I own currently is the 990FX Extreme4 which is getting FX-8150 treatment next week. :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,114 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,775
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Ah cool. I think you will get better production running x3 A 3.5 the x4 @ 2.8 anyway. I am seeing that more cores doesn't always equal more point/production. My x2 555 unlocked to x4 is kinking the crap out of my 1055t x6 right now and I suspect the 970be is going to do the same once it hits full throttle. And if the 970 doesn't it will get a os change to see if it will then.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,944 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,608
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Yeah, this 720BE is going to take some work. I went out and got a pizza and came back to work to find that computer had blank screened. Trying 3.4 and I lowered the NB clock to 2200 and it's still running an hour later, so it's either of those.

    Either way, since it's an old C2 version, that's probably about what I will get out of it and honestly that's even better for my wimpy Biostar board. I think I'll swap the chips in the next few days and light up the 1045T on the K9A2. Surely even the oldest 790FX can probably do 250-260 HTT.
     
    Norton and ThE_MaD_ShOt say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,114 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,775
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    You'll find it's happy spot. You are real close now. :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9,126 (8.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21,493
    MSI made some real nice boards back then- my DKA-790GX Platinum has been running strong since the day I got it!!! :rockout:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,114 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,775
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    My Msi boards blow chunks. And you do know the reason I say that. But maybe I ought to let all that pent up hostility against all three of them go. I mean they are atleast running and doing there job hehe :toast:
     
    Norton says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,944 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,608
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Yeah, this K9A2 Platinum seems to be going strong (don't know how old it is, didn't look at the date on the PCB). We'll see how it holds up against an overclocked 1045T in a few days. If it ends up finishing off the board in the near future, so be it. At least it was doing something useful. :)
     
    Norton and ThE_MaD_ShOt say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,448 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,059
    Location:
    Wyoming
    I had some ass kicking MSI boards back in the Socket A days, but really has some crap boards during the 939 days and up into the Phenom days.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  10. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Only good MSI board I had was a p7n platinum that went to Batou a couple years back. Bought it for $100 sold for $75. That thing was paired with a kickass e5200 r0 stepping that did 4.3ghz @1.33v.
     
  11. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9,126 (8.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21,493
    I was stuck with PCChips boards back in the Super 7/Socket A days :banghead: I would have been better off with trying to glue the components to the box the boards came in and throwing the boards in the trash.... my system would have run better :p
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,944 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,608
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I actually trash picked a system with a PCChips Socket 478 motherboard in it about 2 years ago, and it was still working after many years with an EZ-Media "gutless wonder" PSU. I still have one of the sticks of DDR that came out of it. One of the pins caught on fire in the memory slot but somehow both the memory and the board were perfectly fine.

    Blowing up/finishing off cheap or older hardware seems exciting to me for some reason. I guess I see it as an easy way to get rid of old junk and make way for nicer, newer stuff. Conversely, I have nasty fits of rage if something really new or expensive decides to break or is malfunctioning. Funny how that works.
     
    Norton says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  13. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,114 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,775
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    My socket 7 was based around a Ecs board. Now my Socket A days where mainly Abit with a splash of Asus and Epox. S939's where all Asus.
     
    Norton and stinger608 say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,776 (9.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,238
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Got the 5770 and it booted with it but I will do more testing at work (AKA game all day HAHAHA). Thank you so much justin
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,944 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,608
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Cool man, I'm sure it will work fine. It passed through 30 minutes of Furmark last week. :laugh:

    ATI 5xxx+ cards seem to be pretty darn hard to kill versus those DX10 era NVIDIA cards and their defective solder bumps.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  16. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,776 (9.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,238
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Ok I just got to work and installed the card with the latest drivers and I am getting blocked artifacts in games :( Here is a screen shot of skyrim with the issues. Seems I can't win for loosing

    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,944 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,608
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    KieX says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  18. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,776 (9.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,238
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I just testing COD4 and there was no boxes so let me test the AA on Skyrim and some other games. I wished I would have let BF3 update last night I would test it out as well. I also noticed that the clocks are alot higher than the card shows on newegg? did you use a OCed bios?

    *EDIT*

    I just tested with no AA or AF and the artifacts are gone. Seems like it was just the game itself! NO WORRIES! HAHAHAHHAHAHAH
     
    Jstn7477 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,944 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,608
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I edited the BIOS 2 years ago, yes. 110MHz OC on the core and 50MHz OC on the mem at stock volts. I used it in my gaming rig until last October when I built the Sandy system and I've never had any problems with artifacts. Card can do 1GHz but needs volts, plus 960MHz is the AMD overdrive limit for it so it's reasonably "safe."
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  20. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,776 (9.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,238
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I just tested BF3 SP on medium with some fancy visuals and its smooth as butter! The card works great! Thank you again! I hate that skyrim is the way it is, the engine needs to have a lot of the bugs fixed.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,944 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,608
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    No problem! If I recall, these traded blows with GTX 260s a couple years ago, so it's definitely an upgrade over an 8800 GT.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  22. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,776 (9.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,238
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    actually with the clocks you have it will trade blows with a GTX 285 :)

    I am going to leave you heatware this morning as well! :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,944 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,608
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Cool, thanks. I'm getting closer to reeling in this 720BE on the K9A2 but it was frozen this morning. I'm going to return it to stock clocks today and see if it still has any issues so I may identify the problem.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  24. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,776 (9.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,238
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I know I ran the 1005T at 3.6Ghz 1.45V (voltage settings only had three for some reason) and it was crunching stable and would run for days without issues. I think with denab it has more voltage setting thought since it was one of the first higher end 790FX that was released. The later 790FX was 710SB with DDR3
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9,126 (8.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21,493
    On that 720BE I always found it best to run @ 3.0Ghz as an X3 or 2.6-2.8Ghz as an X4 (ppd was about the same) and the memory at DDR2 800. It will take a slight bump on the NB (2200 was OK for me)

    Other info:
    a) I never put a lot of volts into it (1.3v or so to go to 3.0/X3 or to unlock to X4)
    b) stock/auto X3 voltage is low (1.22v) and it was always super stable and cool at stock voltage and clocks.
    c) It got about 2k ppd for the month or two I used it for crunching
    d) YMMV :eek:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page