1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Crunchers Helping Crunchers

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Aug 8, 2009.

  1. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,816 (4.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,961
    I agree with Chevalr1c on the i3. I put an i3 2100 in my second rig, and it's a very capable pc. It sound like your friend needs doesn't need (typo) much :)
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  2. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1,939 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,894
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    Is that an AM3 board? Is it possible to someday get him a 'more better' CPU?

    Also, will this be available in two weeks, pay day?

    :toast:
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 23, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    I've found my i3-2100 + HD7950 to be capable of pretty much any games (w/ BOINC snoozed, at least)--to the point that I pretty much don't touch the 3930k unless I need more RAM available (2100 only has 4GB).
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,819 (4.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,361
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    it will most likely take a better cpu without a doubt. Without the exact model number can't tell which proc it can use. But where it was mentioned it takes ddr2 I guess it's this one. Which seems to take just about all phenom II x4's and 2 x6's. I would think if it can take a 970 it should be able to take alot more then 2 x6's. I have a Msi ddr2 board and it takes all Phenom II procs.
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2013
    theonedub and Arjai say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,130 (3.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,658
    Yup, that's the board and as MaD pointed out, it does accept much higher spec'd CPUs. Given the design of the VRM I would stick to quads- either over clocked Athlons or stock Phenoms (6 cores as well). The board is black, not red, too.

    I'll post some pictures of it if you'd like. This one should still be available in a couple weeks.

    If the budget miraculously grows to the $450-500 mark you were estimating, I also have 2 mITX setups. One is an APU A8 3870K in a Node 304 and the other is an i3 3210 in a Prodigy.
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2013
    Arjai and ThE_MaD_ShOt say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,947 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,071
    Location:
    Washington, US
    Someone please tell me that my pump didn't just die (or at least give me a "Yeah, I've heard that sound before. It's not good.")

    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. torgoth

    torgoth

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Messages:
    110 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Have you guys seen the mod of making 771 xeons work on 775 boards?!
    I'm thinking about maybe picking up a L5420 which is almost a q9450 (-160mhz, but with much lower tdp :D) and throw it in the g31 I have lying around
  8. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,425 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,484
    would anyone by chance have some DDR2 laptop ram kicking around? pref a 2GB stick of 667.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,465 (8.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,954
    Possibly... I'll look tonight to see what I have ;)
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU
  10. cameronh779

    cameronh779

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    180 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Trying to get my cruncher back up and running. Does anyone have a dual core Athlon and maybe some sticks of DDR. Preferrably 1GB. Anything works though. I'm in a really tight spot right now. I gave my last cruncher away to my uncle when he got done with kemo.
  11. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,819 (4.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,361
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Where you at and which socket do you need the Dual core for? S939?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,465 (8.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,954
    Sorry Bud- Only stick of laptop ram I have left is a 256MB stick of DDR 266 :eek:
    Crunching for Team TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU
  13. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,773 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,226
    I have 1GB DDR2-sodimms
    AlienIsGOD and Norton say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,178 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,356
    I got two DDR2-SODIMMS (laptop RAM) of each a GB. I do not have dual core Athlon available though, only a single core s339 Athlon64 3500+.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,130 (3.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,658
    I have a 2GB DDR2 800 SO-DIMM sitting here on my desk, but I am not sure if its working or if its a stick that had memtest errors. Not sure if its worth the risk send a potentially bad stick to Canada and I do not have a DDR2 laptop available to try and test it in at the moment.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,178 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,356
    Oh, Canada. Meh, then it is useless to ship my RAM too, because of shipping fees.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. cameronh779

    cameronh779

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    180 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Does anyone maybe have a 400W+ PSU laying around? Themadshot is looking for a s939 dual core for me so I might be covered on that, not sure. I'm still looking for some ddr ram. Preferabbly 512MB or more sticks.

    Thanks guys!
    :toast:
  18. cameronh779

    cameronh779

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    180 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    I have a pair of 2x1gb Dominators DDR2 that I can offer up to a cruncher in need. I would really like to use them to maybe trade but im willing to help someone out.
  19. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,529 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,042
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Guys, I'd just like to remind/warn all of you to please do ABSOLUTELY NO B/S/T in this thread. If you need something ask, if you have something to give say it, but anything further than that please take it to PM's. Saying it again in case someone missed it last time, but this will be the last time.
    ThE_MaD_ShOt, Arjai, Norton and 4 others say thanks.
  21. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,816 (4.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,961
    Here here! :toast: but at he same time :respect:
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  22. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,130 (3.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,658
    Can we edit the thread title to add 'Freebies Only' or something to that effect?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I think title is just fine. What I'll go ahead and do is edit the OP.
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  24. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,529 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,042
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Is it still OK to create a FS thread in that section and link it here?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,773 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,226
    I think that's the preferred method. If you list it in B/S/T and meet all the guidelines there, then linking it here is fine.
    brandonwh64 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page