1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Crunchers Helping Crunchers

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Aug 8, 2009.

  1. GREASEMONKEY

    GREASEMONKEY

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    597 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    Location:
    Pacific N.W.
    Man after my own heart:D:toast::D
     
  2. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    :laugh::laugh::laugh:

    Hey Grease! You have any AMD stuff to sell. I have a board coming my way with no CPU. Also, I will be doing an AMD build soon. Let me know. PM me if you'd like. :toast:
     
  3. GREASEMONKEY

    GREASEMONKEY

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    597 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    Location:
    Pacific N.W.
    You mean outta my junkyard:laugh::laugh::roll: As msgclb calls it anyway :)

    Maybe We'll just call it a crunchyard!
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2009
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  4. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    That works for me :D
     
  5. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    she is my beloved one. she is 17 and im 20... and atm its very difficult between us, even tho, we both still have a strong feeling for each other...thanks for your good wishes:)

    youre right, but i dont understood your joke :p

    wasted hardware is as much horrible, as spilled beer!:laugh:
    i never went to a stripclub, theyre a little rare here, and i spent my money EXCLUSIVELY for Hardware,Hardware,Hardware....Ganja? not so much anymore. hardware is eating FAAAR more money:D
     
  6. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    hardware is FAAAR more expensive. :laugh:
     
  7. i789 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Messages:
    145 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    point roberts, wa
    strippers are FARRRRRRRRR more expensive than hardware :D
     
  8. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    you will never know, how much a human beeing can consume... some of my buddys went up to 10-15g a day.
    shall i do a calculation?:D
     
  9. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    no please! :eek:
     
  10. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    i prefer to waste it on hardware, as said:laugh:
     
  11. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Speaking of that. I'll be getting a new PSU for my i7 tonight.
     
  12. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    do you think, yours is broke? what signs showed that to you?:)
     
  13. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I need one for my upcoming build anyways. However, the video card loosing the display. I try a different card and the system BSOD's. However, the other card does not use any PCI E connectors, so that leaves me to believe its the board.

    But when I test my PSU with a multimeter, one pin that is supposed to be 12v, shows 3.3? But maybe its just a 3.3v pin?
     
  14. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    try another board, with your card, and the same PSU?
    is that possible for you?
    which plug did you read out?
    :)
     
  15. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    i tried a different PSU and it was fine so far. but i tried mine again and problem started.

    24 pin was the one I read.
     
  16. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    i believe things are clear, when you encountered such a situation, or am i wrong?:p
    which other PSU worked? also Brand?

    its should be your PSU, try to run 24 hours with the other psu, and if it does not crash, you will know, it was the PSU fucking with you;)
     
  17. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    it did run 24 hours without crashing. But when I plugged in my PSU again the one I think is bad, it ran for 24 hours also LOL, but then failed lol
     
  18. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    Extend period to 48 hours?:eek:
    i dont know, it seems thats the best thing to do? :)
     
  19. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    OCCT PSU test for a few hours ;) on both of them or just get the new PSU and be done with it like you said you need a new PSU anyways... As for testing with a DMM its best to test on the 24pin if its dual rail if its one big one you can test it anyplace...

    just remember
    yellow= 12v
    red=5v
    orange=3.3v
    and black= ground
    it doesn't matter what ground you use and test all voltages underload and idle. I would recommend running Linpack(your choice of progy) and Furmark to load the CPU and video card to get the worse case readings
     
    Velvet Wafer says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    It won't run. Doesn't give me an option.

    Anyhow, my 12v was rather high last time at 12.19. I checked again today and it's 12.40 :eek: Couldn't that be an issue. This PSU is adjustable but the screw is like not working :laugh:

    Imma have to RMA it
     
  21. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    voltage too high and too low both can cause problems. It sounds like your video card is fine but because of the 12v rail being so high it is cause OVP (over volt protection) to kick in when the card goes under load(its when it draws more power) I had what you are describing when i would run about 1.35v into my GPU would be fine at idle(for awhile) then shortly after being loaded BAM black screen..didn't you say you had a problem with it running hot?

    also did you test it under load using furmark and linpack?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I have before, and its fine, but then fails after, or sometimes it fails during stress. Its just so random, I can't even describe it anymore.
     
  23. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    you said your not having the problem(s) with the other PSU? If that is true then it is the PSU and with the voltage being that far out of spec on the 12v line i would get it replaced
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Yeah, once I have a chance, I'll proceed with the RMA. This PSU is adjustable. But the adjustment screw, the head is stripped or something. I just can't get no screw driver to turn. So I'll be forced to RMA it.
     
  25. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,546 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    855
    heads up - the CPU (E8600) has now gone on general sale. If you have any interest in it and will use it for WCG let me know and i'll work out a reduced price for you.

    cheers
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page