1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Crunchers Helping Crunchers

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Aug 8, 2009.

  1. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    once i bought something from best buy that was alittle more then i had on the card then took it back 2days later and got a cash refund.maybe you could get lucky like that?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,221 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,818
    Could always try selling it here, or seeing if anyone is buying from BB and wants to use your card in exchange for cash. Someone from TPU should be able to help.

    I believe in some states, like CA, retailers have to cash out gift cards when asked to. They do not like doing it and will hesitate but I believe they will do it. Its been some time since I worked in retail :laugh:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,180 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,821
    Location:
    04578
    ill see i got a few friends that want a couple PS3 games and maybe a cheap monitor so im hoping to use the card that way and get cash from them so ill have to wait and see but with the $200 gift card turned to cash ill $700 for the samsung T 260 hd = $330 or $300 on tiger but i prefer newegg so $370 i might grab just a 965 or buy a ps3 etc dont know what ill do yet havent decided on where to go besides getting a new monitor that offers cable + dvi at that size with 1920x1200 . or i might go full AM3 rebuild theres alot of things i can do so i havent decided 100% yet if i had my 940BE lined up for sale for sure with 790gx and ram as a combo (around $280 shipped) id go full rebuild with the new monitor. just so many choices and they all hinge on getting that card cashed
     
  4. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    buy the monitor reaper.;) your card will be much more useful with a 24" screen:)
     
  5. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,180 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,821
    Location:
    04578
    i think u mean card(s) lol XD and yea the t260 caught my eye and i cant let it go
     
  6. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    ah k overread "crossfire".... then its a must. i hope you can finance the screen,it can power:laugh:
     
  7. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,180 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,821
    Location:
    04578
    well ive got the money for the screen its just the bestbuy card will cover 2/3s the price ;) thats $100 out of my pocket for 1920x1200 in a 25.5inch screen that has cable coaxial dvi hdmi vga etc etc etc so it fits my needs perfectly pair it with my acer 20inch for dual monitor setup and ill be very happy just im a man who likes to save a buck where a buck can be saved. so yea getting the cash for the gift card would result in a very nice upgrade XD

    seems with tiger and there facebook promo i can get the t260 for a bit cheaper to $309 shipped
     
  8. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    i changed to 23", on Christmas. i used 15" for 4 years, then 17" for 6 years... and now: DANG.
    this is a really nice Flatscreen!:D i can not even spot a dead pixel:laugh:
     
  9. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,180 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,821
    Location:
    04578
    yea the 260hd isnt as good as a real samsung pc monitor but im on an acer al2016w which is old VGA and has backlighting issues when it comes to dark colors and blacks near the top so i wanted a multi purpose setup that had HDCP on hdmi and dvi :toast: only one that has it is samsung haha

    so yea all hinges on that gift card if i can get 180 out of the 200 thats on it ill go for it haha
     
  10. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    youre not right, crazy;)
    i got an LG Flatron, enabling me HDCP on DVI,VGA and HDMI (everything has its own out). now, what now?:p

    i just dont know how big this series gets, inchwise :eek:

    EDIT: my old Samsung LCD has burn in issues. mozilla firefox´s taskbar has burned itself, very subtle in the upper part of it... dont ask me, how i did that, but i believe i overheated the screen
     
  11. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,180 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,821
    Location:
    04578
    well i mean it has hdcp on HDMI and DVI but also has COAXIAL for cable tv ;) with a 1920x1200 res at 25.5inch no other monitor in its price range equals it for what i want in connectivity with resolution and at proper size

    it means i dont need a tv tuner or any of that i can just switch between pc and tv on the fly which is key for me as my tv is 1 foot to my left i like to what i call lazytasking watching tv while surfing the net aimlessly
     
  12. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    i got a really big non-lcd TV. but i dont watch it, its wasted time.
    i dont even got enough time on the rigs, not even when im 24hours in front of it:laugh:
    i get mad at having nothing to do:eek:
     
  13. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,180 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,821
    Location:
    04578
    i watch alot of tv while i game / surf /do 3d work etc so being able to switch 1 monitor on the fly and still have a 2ndary monitor thats on is a nice idea
     
  14. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    i cant concentrate too well on tv when gaming:D but sounds like the perfect solution for you!
     
  15. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    how do you guys feel about a X2 5000+ 45nm based on the Phenom II? I am considering grabbing one in a few days to replace the X2 5kBE 65nm that i sold.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    shouldn't be a bad replacement, if not mistaken, its more efficient and overclocks better I would say.
     
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  17. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    thats what i was thinking. if it unlocks to a quad that would be a hell of a replacement.if not hopefully i can get it to 3.6ghz that would be amazing 3 duals@3.6ghz would do wonders for my PPD compared to what i had before...

    if all goes as planed
    X2 240@3.6ghz
    X2 5000+ 45nm@3.6ghz(possibly unlock as a quad at lower speed)
    E7200@3.6ghz(got it stable at that clock completely now vdroop was killing it)
    X2 4200+@3.1ghz
    E1500@2.8ghz
    P4HT@3.9ghz
    hows that for a little farm?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    were you able to get the 7200 stable at 3.6 GHz?
     
  19. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    yes i was. I bumped the vcore up a notch its still same Vcore in windows as before its just under load the Vdroop was causing problems
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    So what vcore is it at now for 3.6 GHz?
     
  21. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    1.37v IIRC
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    not bad :toast:
     
  23. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    thats due to POS ability to clock real good;)
    but the proc is shit (or the board is just a whore) , my e5200, which is truly the crappiest of its kind, did even 3.3 on 1.35.
    its good fur crunching, but i would consider every C2D "bin-worth" which cant reach 3.5 with 1.3...

    luckily the 240 kicks its nuts, and behaves far better. i really need a few of those... maybe i should buy me three, bin one, and sell the other 2 again

    good luck on the 5000+ 45nm! a quad would slowly take you in my direction:D
     
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  24. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,180 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,821
    Location:
    04578
    i got my $200 haha finally also looks like my 4gigs of ram is pending so the T260HD will be mine for $50 spent off the egg ill be ordering it on monday now i pray it has no dead pixels

    the customer i build the machine for decided he needed a monitor and extra junk so went to bestbuy used my card price came to $197 and i got $200 in cash he also bought me some Burger King as payment for the work all in all a damn good night :toast:
     
  25. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    "customer"... sounds like you made a rig ready, for one of your buddies,eh?:)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page