1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Crunchers Helping Crunchers

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Aug 8, 2009.

  1. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    just shipped out 4GB of DDR2 today bro :(
  2. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,587 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    It's okay.

    I'm starting to lean more towards selling it still and using a new mobo instead. :D
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I just found a 512MB stick, that wouldn't do heh?
  4. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,587 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Not really. Kinda need 2 GB, or more.

    Honestly I'm looking at buying a Gigabyte GA-88GM-UD2H for this next build. It's going to be a cruncher and my GF's rig.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    that looks like a pretty sweet board there :toast:

    btw, there is 2x 1/4-13/19mm barbs with the apogee gt, and the original barbs, some nasty plastic ones
  6. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    the cpu is up again for freebee :)
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  7. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,125 (3.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,656
    the 2140?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    yes thats the one :)
  9. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,125 (3.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,656
    I think I could make a rig of it down the road, if $5USD could get it to my door- lets get it done :toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    that would be great, then the shipping is covered.

    but no trace numberwould be like 40$ lol
    theonedub says thanks.
  11. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,125 (3.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,656
    Payment sent, let me know if anything unexpected comes up.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    its onedubs

    i also have a 30gig OCZ agility for cheaps
  13. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,125 (3.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,656
    Anyone have a spare 1GB DDR2 SODIMM? Texbill was able to get me one, then the 1gb stick I had died. Looks like I can't RMA it either, so I really a new stick.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    i just gave all the ones i had away :(
    theonedub says thanks.
  15. garyinhere

    garyinhere

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    948
    Location:
    I'm roomates with Corey Feldman
    So i'm crunching on the computer that i won in the contest! The temps are worrying me a bit... the only other intel i have is in a laptop and i don't crunch on it but core 0 is about 9degrees Celsius higher than the other 3 cores?:eek: plus under 90% load the temps are ave. 70-75 degrees this seems hot compared to my amd's
  16. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    what cooler are you using on the cruncher?

    if its a stock hs then its not too much imo, but def high

    and mopst c2d/c2q have some odd temps due to their crappy Heatspreader that might be concave
    garyinhere says thanks.
  17. garyinhere

    garyinhere

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    948
    Location:
    I'm roomates with Corey Feldman
    yea i'm using the stock cooler since i'm not overclocked at this time... gotta read up on intel's I've been a fanboy of amd so long i don't know what i'm doing lol...
  18. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    hmm no overclock, then it does seem a bit high

    what are your ambient in celcius?
  19. garyinhere

    garyinhere

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    948
    Location:
    I'm roomates with Corey Feldman
    well i don't think their is an overclock... i've never messed with intel's bios so i set it to turbo on the gpu and the other option for turbo... so it may be overclocked lol let me see what i did and will report back!:D
  20. garyinhere

    garyinhere

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    948
    Location:
    I'm roomates with Corey Feldman
    I set the performance enhancer to extreme as well as the gpu to turbo under the intelligent tweaker
  21. garyinhere

    garyinhere

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    948
    Location:
    I'm roomates with Corey Feldman
    don't know about in C but my ambient is 67 degrees
    sorry about the repost meant to edit the other one lol
  22. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    could you take a cpu-z screenshot?

    and do a prime 95 run while you have cpu-z open? i wanna see how high its clocked with the extreme preset,
  23. garyinhere

    garyinhere

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    948
    Location:
    I'm roomates with Corey Feldman
    [​IMG]

    It doesn't seem to overclock it at all... not sure what the extreme setting is even for?
  24. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    hmm, they do seem a bit on the odd side. maybe reseat the cooler?
    garyinhere says thanks.
  25. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    @garyinhere

    I think I still have a Scythe Ninja in my box o schtuff. Yours for shipping if I can find it along with its s775 mounting.
    Chicken Patty says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page