1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Crunchers Helping Crunchers

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Aug 8, 2009.

  1. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,235 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,861
    How'd the interview go?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    if i can get the stuff needed to make it happen i will. My b-day is friday but i don't want to spend all the money on rigs (and won't spend all the money on them) i want to get a couple piercings as a gift to myself,you only turn 18 once and what a way to say happy 18th by getting holes punched into you :shadedshu

    not going to go into details but lets just say they wanted someone that was "more qualified".
    still looking and next week i have another interview at a restraint (not what i want but its a job)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,235 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,861
    I think everyone has to have a job in food service at one point, if anything having a job you don't like will make you appreciate a good job later down the road.

    Good luck :toast:
     
    KieX says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Already told yah pos, I got a board comin' if yah want to buy it (discounted might I add) I'll put you in for first dibs.
     
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  5. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    ygpm



    CP to make this easy

    needed
    p_o_s_pc AM2/AM3 quads,tri,duals(95w max), 600+w PSU, AM2+ ATX mobo(ATX=MUST,also must use DDR2,onboard GPU would be ideal)

    also i have nothing up for grabs everything is long gone so please remove that from the list.
    thanks :toast:
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2010
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    OK, my 775 mobo is gone.

    Might have a 400W PSU coming up soon for EU crunchers.
     
    theonedub says thanks.
  7. mrsemi

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Messages:
    658 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Needing SSD & Win 7

    My computer is starting to show its age, I was considering a wipe but I've been wanting to check out win 7 & pick up an ssd boot drive or sas since my system supports it.

    I'm not here for a handout, just asking if anyone has any decent deals on these or knows of a good source to let me know. I dread formatting and my machine has had a few random crashes so I'm not willing to crunch till it's sorted.

    Let me know, thanks.
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  8. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    None that I know off at the moment bro :(
     
  9. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    @mrsemi

    TheGoatEater has a pretty good deal on a 30GB ssd.
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  10. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    [Ion] says thanks.
  11. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,235 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,861
    ^ 1GB sticks.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,458 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,392
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Wow...seriously insane! Tempted to pick up 10 sticks of the DDR2 just to have...shame he doesn't have any DDR3 & or laptop memory :ohwell:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. garyinhere

    garyinhere

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,610 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    978
    Location:
    I'm roomates with Corey Feldman
    Is wcg down? Three rigs still have work to finish but the main one finished all of it's work and can't connect to the server was giving me an error... So i installed the latest version and still won't connect???
     
  14. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    I don't think they're down atm :ohwell: Looks like it may be problem on your end. Noticed there's a hour gap or so between our posts, has it uploaded anything yet?
     
  15. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    @Gary

    You might be having a problem with time and the recent DST change. If you had recently cleared CMOS you may need to correct your time first.
     
  16. garyinhere

    garyinhere

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,610 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    978
    Location:
    I'm roomates with Corey Feldman
    hasn't loaded anything yet... let me sync the time with the internets and see if that does anything we just had daylights savings kick in maybe that's doing it???
     
  17. garyinhere

    garyinhere

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,610 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    978
    Location:
    I'm roomates with Corey Feldman
    nope still won't connect??? All help is appreciated!!!
     
  18. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Does it show any useful info in the messages log in advanced view?
     
  19. garyinhere

    garyinhere

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,610 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    978
    Location:
    I'm roomates with Corey Feldman
    no i just downloaded the latest and greatest version so it's all blank... it just show logging on in the lower right corner with the occasional disconnect an back to logging on???:banghead:
     
  20. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Why don't you try pressing "alt+f4". That should fix it .... :p



    Jus kidding, in a run box do cmd then "ipconfig /all". See if you are getting an IP address, then we can go from there.
     
  21. garyinhere

    garyinhere

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,610 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    978
    Location:
    I'm roomates with Corey Feldman
    when i run that cmd the window dissapears... deleted everything in the temp folder... restarted the client and no luck
     
  22. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    working fine for me. Try to detach from the project and attach again. It may help.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. garyinhere

    garyinhere

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,610 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    978
    Location:
    I'm roomates with Corey Feldman
    i re downloaded the old client and it's showing me error no work available to process... took a screen shot of the messages in the advanced menu anyone see anything wrong
    [​IMG]
     
  24. mjkmike

    mjkmike

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,567 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,563
    Location:
    Alberta,Canada
    @gary this may sound stupid on my part but I would check the clock on the rig. WCG real doesn't like when the clock is off by even a little bit.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. garyinhere

    garyinhere

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,610 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    978
    Location:
    I'm roomates with Corey Feldman
    yea i checked the clock and sync'd it too just in case... wasn't a problem... the client was working fine then once it finished it's work it gave me that error... the new client won't connect to wcg... is this some local file of mine going bonkers... don't know what to do now:banghead:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page