1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Crysis—sudden horrible lag... in strange places

Discussion in 'Games' started by hat, May 15, 2010.

  1. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,999 (5.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,086
    Location:
    Ohio
    For some reason, I get sudden, horrible FPS in places that don't even make sense. It can be perfectly smooth when there's a ton of action going on, but for some reason, in these 2 places it just won't have it...

    1. A certian KPA building with incindeary rounds, shortly after the Onslaught campaign, when you're heading towards the mining complex. I had already killed everyone in this area before going inside.

    2. The carrier, while leaving the Admiral's office, and going to the Armory to see Dr. Rosenthal and Prophet.

    Obviously there's not a lot of intense action, or any action going on here... just for some unknown reason, in these areas, it lags like no game has lagged before... it's worse than trying to run Very High on an 8500gt...

    Any ideas?

    It's certianly not overheating, as I flashed my BIOS so my fan speed runs at a minimum of 80%, and it only gets up to 81c max in Furmark/OCCT GPU test. Folding load is below 70c.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,417 (5.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,716
    Location:
    Florida
    inb4 the first tool that says its coded poorly. come on people think original.

    anyway the only thing i can think of is that on the carrier its rendering outside as well as inside the ship because you can see out the window. running any AA? maybe your running out of vmem in these areas as the maps are HUGE.
     
  3. Champ

    Champ

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    933 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    but the coding...what about the coding!!!
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  4. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,999 (5.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,086
    Location:
    Ohio
    Nope. All 'high' settings, 1440x900, no aa
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,417 (5.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,716
    Location:
    Florida
    put shadows on medium see if it fixes it.

    latest drivers and patched i assume?
     
  6. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,999 (5.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,086
    Location:
    Ohio
    I got it through Steam, so I assume it's patched, but it's possible Steam doesn't have the latest version (S.T.A.L.K.E.R. Shadow of Chernobyl anyone?).

    Latest drivers on everything.

    I'll try turning the shadows down.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    I recall a lot of post with people having problems in this area. Was it always like that for you?
     
  8. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,999 (5.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,086
    Location:
    Ohio
    Nope, just this time through. Mayve it's a DX10 issue, I don't believe I've ran it in DX10 mode before.

    Changing the shadow quality to medium seemed to help.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page