1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Crysis 2 Maxing Out PS3

Discussion in 'Games' started by Assassin48, Jul 29, 2009.

  1. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    Source:
    http://www.gamasutra.com/php-bin/news_index.php?story=23898
  2. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    Who cares about Crysis anyway?

    The game play sucked, it lagged like crazy and the game its self was poorly optimized at best....I admit it looks nice but that doesn't make up for its huge shortcomings. :shadedshu
  3. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,541 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    i think it will be interesting to compare the ps3 to the 360 using this game, and who knows, maybe they got it right for pc this time too :)

    here's hoping.
  4. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    I dunno, I kinda enjoyed grabbing onto the retards, going into strength mode, and whacking them with my rifle up into a tree, which subsequently fell on top of a jeep and blew it up :) It did get old REALLY fast though. More fun for the screw-around factor.

    Then again, Crysis 2 may actually have decent gameplay. Let's hope so.
  5. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    Im wondering what hardware requirements would be quaddie and a 285 for 20 fps lol.
  6. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,541 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    well if those guys with the two Asus MARS cards in quad SLi cant run it well, it looks like we're waiting for DX11 :rolleyes:
  7. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,963 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    Couldn't agree more. I loved just messing around on it rather than actually playing the game :laugh:
    Hopefully 2 will have better game play to keep my from going ADD on it
    And I think Crysis in general would make a 360 crawl and a PS3 walk. We'll have to see what happens though.
  8. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,886 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    Singapore
    I think it'll be the other way around, coz the game is more GPU bound than CPU bound, so unless they can offload some stuff from the GPU to the Cell CPU of the PS3, the X360 will do a tad better
  9. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    I`m tired of this garbage. When some one talks about PS3 like it is hardware from future. It has 512 DDR3 memory. And GPU similar to GeForce 7900. That is it. It has zilion NOT complete cores. Games are not that much dependent from CPUs. Even if you could simulate whole army they would not fit in to the 512MB and it could not be rendered with 7900. THE END.
  10. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    I just played crysis just to see if my computer could run it. it seemed fun but with the game requiring so much it wasnt worth it. now that its coming out on the ps3 and 360 I think it would be pretty fun can't imagine how bad it will perform on the 360 however :/ ps3 I bet would run pretty good but also thats not saying much, but either way I may give it a try on my ps3
  11. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,645 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,381
    volatile int i;
    while (true)
    {
    i=i+1;
    }

    omg i maxxed out the cpu
    FatForester says thanks.
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,983 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,390

    Am i the only one who feels dumb, for not getting this?
  13. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    Lol i dont know either. =/
  14. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,895 (2.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,184
    for any i, you add 1 to make a new i :p

    I think? :p
  15. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,896 (8.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,475
    Oh no I thought you were dumb WAY before i+i+1..........wait what?
  16. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,645 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,381
    endless loop consuming all cpu time doing nothing basically
  17. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    How come great games play pretty well on consoles and then when you have a good computer it performs about the same?
  18. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,896 (8.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,475
    You answer that question and you will have successfully divided by zero.
  19. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Error 2 :(
  20. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,896 (8.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,475
    Anyway if the gaysouls can run "Crysis 2" then any of our CPU's will be fine. This thing will be so watered down compared to the first one it will be sad.
  21. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,331 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,358
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Only one core and only until i = 2,147,483,647. The moment it tries to hit 2,147,483,648, it will crash (out of bounds--can't increment).

    If you put so much effort into trying to "max out" a platform, I can't see how you'd spend much time making the game fun. I suspect it will be the same story as Crysis (gorgeous but boring).
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,983 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,390
    crysis was terrible optimised. end story.

    You could do basic ini tweaks and get far better performance, with the same or better visual effects - the game needed 6 months of polish.

    Hopefully with the second, they work on that.
  23. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,896 (8.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,475
    FordGT90Concept what have I told you about over analyzing things? Hmmm?

    The dude abides.
  24. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,331 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,358
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Over analyze? That's just grazing the surface! :laugh: Want me to continue? :D
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,600 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    lol wizzard, and we all know how optimized crytek games are, remember crysis when it first came out:laugh:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page