1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Crysis 3

Discussion in 'Games' started by HammerON, Feb 18, 2013.

  1. techtard

    techtard

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    930 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Got the Hunter Edition from ther Never Settle Reloaded bundle, now I have some incentive to play Crysis 2 first. Bought it during a Steam sale and haven't touched it yet. :D

    I haven't been following Crysis 3, didn't want to spoil anything. But I am hearing good things.
  2. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,143 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,650
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    How much vRam is it using maxed out? :toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. BigMack70

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    498 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Wow this game is gorgeous. :respect:

    Single player is indeed significantly more impressive than the MP Alpha/Beta. Far and away the best looking game yet released. IMO it's similar to the original Crysis in that the graphics are so good that they elevate your experience with the game overall.

    It does melt PCs, though... I'm playing maxed out with 2xSMAA at 1440p on a pair of overclocked 7970s and getting about 45fps average with minimums around the 30 mark. Very playable, no issues. I'm happy with that.

    I am a little disappointed that the campaign is just 7 levels, but it is a LOT more fun than Crysis 2 so far.
  4. Hybrid_theory

    Hybrid_theory New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    ontario canada
    lol im screwed. running a pair of stock 7970s but at 5760x1200. cant wait to see what that's like.
  5. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    913 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    360
    Leaving for Toronto, I cannot play on laptop :(

    and I think when I'll be back, I'll buy an HD7k or something enought powerful to run it maxed :D
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Hybrid_theory

    Hybrid_theory New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    ontario canada
    Yay smoother than i expected.
    30-40 fps.
    5760x1200p
    Most settings maxed at very high.
    post processing on high
    motion blur medium
    ansitropic filtering at 4x
    AA at sxaa x1

    If I change AA to mxaa x2, stays 28-32 fps so far. edit. drops to about 23-28 in the harsher spots.
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2013
  7. BigMack70

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    498 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Honestly, I like how 2xSMAA looks better than even 4xMSAA. They really did a nice job with SMAA on this game.
  8. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,213 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,438
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    What drivers you on?
  9. BigMack70

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    498 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    13.2 beta 5s

    Can't get the beta 6 drivers to install.
    the54thvoid says thanks.
  10. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,213 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,438
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    I have the 6's downloaded but i'm still running 12.11 (beta 6). Crysis 3 doesn't release in UK till Friday. I have until then to try install the 13.2 6's.
  11. BigMack70

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    498 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    I'm not too worried about it, since I'm not experiencing any corruption with AA enabled and the beta 6 drivers don't claim any performance improvements. Hoping for a beta 7 or something else that offers a performance bump.

    One thing that I'm very thankful for is that I've experienced almost zero stutter. Sometimes crossfire can have some nasty stuttering when the framerate dips below 60 consistently, but not here. I haven't even had to fire up Radeon Pro for it :)
  12. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,213 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,438
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Could well be AMD's relationship with the developers. Something they've hitherto been a bit rubbish at. Nvidia had the best strategy to work with developers and AMD have finally bought into it. Better drivers and better relations with developers = less buggy experience.
  13. BigMack70

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    498 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    I was a bit :eek: when I saw that AMD Gaming Evolved logo at the start of the game rather than the Nvidia TWIMTBP one that I'm so used to seeing on AAA games.

    I'm a bit curious if there's tesselated ocean under the whole world like there was in Crysis 2, though :roll:
  14. Hybrid_theory

    Hybrid_theory New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    ontario canada
    i find 2xsmaa drops me below 30 fps. keeping at the 1x to keep it playable.
  15. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,529
    I will check tonight...
    Mindweaver says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. BigMack70

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    498 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    I'm seeing about 2GB vram use per GPU maxed w/2xSMAA at 1440p
    Mindweaver and HammerON say thanks.
  17. Akrian

    Akrian

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    170 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Well, now I know why 4-6gb of VRAM is, well not that unreasonable.
    Max Settings + max MSAA + 5760x1080 res = swap-fest. Afterburner shows unholy 9gb usage ( which is not correct, never is for some reasons, when it comes to tri-fire). But nevertheless it swaps badly.
    Took down MSAA to medium - now shows 7gb and actually works fine.
    GPU usage across all three of my 7970s - 60-70% at most.

    Visually looks amazing

    P.S. which is supposedly better MSAA or SMAA ? I'm a bit confused
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2013
  18. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,529
    The first time I tried to run 3 7970's, the game froze after about 10 minutes...
    Two 7970's work great. Both run at 99%:)

    What drivers are you using?
    I would love to see this game on your 3 monitors:toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,052 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    893
    A buddy of mine just bought me Crysis 3. Woo! not looking forward to the download.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,639 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,374
    Is the single player gameplay any good?
  21. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,529
    Haven't had the chance yet to play more than 30 minutes of the game (stupid work) so I can't tell you about the story line or AI:(
    However the graphics thus far are amazing...
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,213 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,438
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    By the sounds of things looks like it could be a Benchmark for the reviews... I'm going to try running it on 12.11 6's before installing the newest drivers.
  23. NHKS

    NHKS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    596 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    need some max'ed out screen-shots, HammerON! or some good video sequence..
  24. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,639 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,374
    not interested in graphics, i want good gameplay
  25. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,502 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    931
    Like a refinement of 2 with a little bit of one's openness, or illusion of it.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page