1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Crysis custom cfg:

Discussion in 'Games' started by Jrob, Jul 15, 2008.

  1. Jrob New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    85 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Crysis Extreme Quality 1.3

    Extreme-quality
    [​IMG]




    These configs will bring you past very high with smoother & consistent framerates.
    Minimum spec is a 8800GT/GTX or equivalent, and a decent dual core processor.


    Thanks:

    Special thanks to Koroush Ghazi over at tweakguides & to MADBoris for his guide on the commands,
    and to all the the forum members who tested to help me improve these configs...


    Tweaks:

    If you have trouble running the extreme version try these tweaks.
    • "r_WaterReflectionsMinVisiblePixelsUpdate=3" change to 0.05
    • "e_recursion_view_dist_ratio=0.15" change to 0.1
    • "e_view_dist_ratio=80" lower to 60-50
    • "e_shadows_cast_view_dist_ratio=0.8" change this to 0.5


    Changelog:

    Version 1.0.1:
    • Increased fps slightly by lowering shadow lod on terrain.
    • Tweaked physics to improve performance.
    • Increased view distance slightly and water reflections.
    • Increased water reflections pixels update distance.

    Version 1.0.2:
    • Removed uneeded cmds that were already being activated through cvar folder with "sys_spec_Full"
    • Changed the cmd depthoffield=1 to 2 for a more natural look.
    • Soften & blur shadows for a more realistic look.
    • Increased Shadows cast view distance slightly.
    • Change HDR brightoffset to default.
    • Increased sprite distant ratio.


    Version 1.3:
    • Fixed performance drop with beams, (i.e.) flashlights, and headlights
    • Improved performance on lite version.
    • Improved reflections on both version.
    • Lite version can be used online now.
    • Added new cvars & updated readme's.


    Version 1.31:
    • Fixed stuttering & increased performance.
    • Added more cmds for users to customize.


    Features:
    • Increased lod distances on terrain, vegetation, sprites & shadows.
    • Increased water reflections distance and quality & tweaked the update
      distances.
    • Added "sys_spec_Full" to force all other cmds not in the config to
      very high.
    • Increase battle dust range in meters.
    • Optimize particles & physics.
    • Tweaked shadows & ssao varibles for best visual lighting.
    • Solved many artifacts with lod & shadows with vanilla settings.
      (ie; screen flickering, terrain, water, and shadows updating)
    • Better water reflections, waves, & update distances.
    • Better detailed mountains and surface terrain.
    • Better shadows & post processing effects.
    • Better view distances.
    • Better bump maps.
    • Better HDR effects.

    Installation for Windows Vista:
    1. Extract .rar file with winrar/winzip.
    2. Place the "autoexec.cfg" file into your; "\Program Files\Electronic
      Arts/Crytek/Crysis/Game" folder.
    3. When inside game hit tilde(~)key, if you see my art it loaded
      successfully.


    Installation for Windows XP:
    1. Extract .rar file with winrar/winzip.
    2. Place the CVarGroups folder into your: \Program Files
      \Electronic Arts\Crytek\Crysis\Game\Config folder" *Remove the
      old one and back it up if you like, thers one on the crysis dvd.
    3. Place the "autoexec.cfg" file into your; "\Program Files\Electronic
      Arts/Crytek/Crysis/Game" folder.
    4. When inside game hit tilde(~)key, if you see my art it loaded
      successfully.

    Note:
    In certain situations Crysis may startup in window mode,
    if this happens try to enable fullscreen mode in graphic options,
    or by hitting Alt+Enter.

    Note:
    Before playing online with the extreme version you will need to change the
    cmd "e_detail_materials_view_dist_xy=4096" to 2048 to avoid a punkbuster kick.

    These are in game shots
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    These are some editor shots no AA or AF was used
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    =======================================================
    =======================================================

    upcoming config:
    [​IMG]
    ===============================================
    Config & Art by: Jmanrob & Forum members



    **Links**

    Extreme Quality v 1.3
    http://www.mycrysis.com/filebase.php?fileid=1905

    http://genvision.net/filebase.php?d=1&id=8&c_old=8&what=c&page=1
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2008
  2. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Very nice. How bout a little explanation on what it does specifically, and how it runs on current hardware?
    Jrob says thanks.
  3. Jrob New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    85 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    config

    ^ moved to top sorry
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2008
    oli_ramsay and ShadowFold say thanks.
  4. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    The screenies look awesome, I've been using this one for ages, bit I'll give your one a try :)
    Jrob says thanks.
  5. Urbklr

    Urbklr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    I get 30FPS average on that one, I'll be benching this one right now.:)
    Jrob says thanks.
  6. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    getting about the same FPS as the old one, but I think it looks a little bit nicer, I might keep it :D
    Jrob says thanks.
  7. Urbklr

    Urbklr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Odd, I gained 4FPS, and the image quality is bomb! It's a keeper for me.

    [​IMG]
    Jrob says thanks.
  8. Jrob New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    85 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Thats great news glad you guys like it enjoy...
  9. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Nice contribution :D you've been thanked :p what are you going to do in v 1.03
    Jrob says thanks.
  10. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    DLing now ill tell you what I think :) I just hope it runs on my puny 3850!
    Jrob says thanks.
  11. Jarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    388 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Wrexham UK
    looks good! think i need a reformat though (must still be traces of nvidia drivers in system :'( )

    :

    [​IMG]
    Jrob says thanks.
  12. Jarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    388 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Wrexham UK
    hmm, doesnt seem to matter what i set the AA to, i get almost the same FPS. Need more MHz outta this cpu :D

    not bad considering the settings though:

    [​IMG]
    Jrob says thanks.
  13. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,003 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    The only thing that stands out for me in these screens, is some of the lighting and smoothing on the textures of plants and flora (at least the larger ones).

    From my own experience/tinkering, and any others' I've seen around the web, the only time those kind of 'plush' visuals are achieved is when having access to the shaders that Crytek used in the promotional videos almost two years ago. They made it clear that they removed some of them due to performance issues, and were set to release a patch containing such content; unfortunatley it doesn't seem that will happen.


    Yet then again, maybe this suggests that the shader are there, and were rendered inate by Crytek?
    Jrob says thanks.
  14. craigwhiteside

    craigwhiteside New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,178 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Location:
    UK, Liverpool
    very nice ^^
    Jrob says thanks.
  15. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    [​IMG]

    Did I do it right, doesnt really look like the screenshots :X and yes I do see your jungle thing in the console lol

    BTW this made Very High settings very playable :D I got 10-14fps with out this and 24-30 with :D Thanks man!
    Jrob says thanks.
  16. Jrob New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    85 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    *** If you have trouble running the cfg, try the following;

    "e_view_dist_ratio="lower this value like 50

    "e_shadows_cast_view_dist_ratio=" lower this to like 0.5

    "e_shadows_max_texture_size=" lower this to 768
    =======================================

    This config is aimed at rigs that can play veryhigh with no problem. Try the tweaks above if your getting poor performance, should get a increase of like 4-5 fps with above tweaks, and without losing any noticeable quality.

    The screenshots above were taking inside the editor. click on link below to see some ingame shots at top portion of the crymod thread, thanks..

    Regards...

    http://www.crymod.com/thread.php?threadid=31242
  17. Jrob New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    85 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    1.03

    Well depends on the feedback mate, might be an update to improve performance without loss of quality...

    I'm already working on a config for warhead:) I dont knoe the new varibles yet either:|
  18. Urbklr

    Urbklr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Would you be able to release a .cfg that just looks plain out amazing, without worrying about performance:laugh:...I wana see what Crysis can do.
    Jrob says thanks.
  19. philbrown23

    philbrown23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,231 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    147
    Location:
    vermont
    my fps did not chenge at all, and it looks the same for me
    Jrob says thanks.
  20. Urbklr

    Urbklr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Like, the quality is the same as regular high?:wtf:
    Jrob says thanks.
  21. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I get high 30's low 40's using those at 720p nice!
    Jrob says thanks.
  22. Jrob New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    85 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    in game

    Here are some in game shots;

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    These are all in game shots with the config, only thing diff is I use "depthoffield=1" I have it set at 2 in the config because most people rather the blurred back ground textures, I prefer dof=1, it makes the distant terrain alot sharper.
  23. Jrob New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    85 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Jarman thats because in the autoexec I have the cmd "r_useedgeAA=1" enabled.

    If you want to use AA set edge_aa to 0... I recommend using edge_AA very minmal performance loss compared to AA.

    * All screenshots above had no AA or AF, just "r_useedge_AA=1"
  24. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I should be getting my HD 4850 on Friday, do you have any configs for vista that just make the game look better, not just optimize? I wouldn't try one on my 3850, barely plays all VHigh + your config :p I just want to see what the 4850 can push out!
    Jrob says thanks.
  25. Jrob New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    85 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Sure I can make it to where your card will overheat and burn your mobo...lol seriously there's not much more to do that would really make it look better. You could increase the shadow rez and the lod distances though.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page