1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Crysis finally playable (Benchmark GTX 580 SLI)

Discussion in 'Games' started by platinumyahoo, Nov 24, 2010.

  1. platinumyahoo

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    209 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Flint, MI
    When I bought crysis in 07 I strapped up with the highest end card at the time - the 9800GTX to run it. I was very disappointed when I found the framerates extremely laggy on very high settings. I then paired it with another 9800GTX in SLI and it did a little better but not good enough to go through the game, it was still a bit laggy.

    The year after I upgraded to a GTX260-216 and it was an improvement but even that card in SLI could not run crysis on very high on my 22" monitor (1680x1050).

    Just this week I got my two GTX 580s in the mail and I decided to try running crysis on those boys. To my surprise crysis did very well with one GTX 580 and extraordinary when I put them in SLI.

    I benched the first level a few times using fraps and I just copied the FRAPSLOG data onto here. Enough with the nonsense and on to the system and results!

    [​IMG]



    GTX 580

    2010-11-24 03:14:43 - Crysis
    Frames: 2216 - Time: 49974ms - Avg: 44.343 - Min: 33 - Max: 67

    2010-11-24 03:21:44 - Crysis
    Frames: 1861 - Time: 45733ms - Avg: 40.693 - Min: 29 - Max: 53



    GTX 580 SLI

    2010-11-24 04:51:46 - Crysis
    Frames: 3233 - Time: 54570ms - Avg: 59.245 - Min: 43 - Max: 63

    2010-11-24 04:52:42 - Crysis
    Frames: 2676 - Time: 45288ms - Avg: 59.089 - Min: 46 - Max: 63

    2010-11-24 04:53:33 - Crysis
    Frames: 8743 - Time: 148323ms - Avg: 58.946 - Min: 41 - Max: 63

    2010-11-24 04:57:29 - Crysis
    Frames: 2324 - Time: 38808ms - Avg: 59.885 - Min: 57 - Max: 62

    2010-11-24 04:58:11 - Crysis
    Frames: 6027 - Time: 100928ms - Avg: 59.716 - Min: 42 - Max: 63

    As you can see the card runs this game really well on very high 1680x1050. But when paired with another GTX 580 it pretty much destroys the game. the AVG frame rate for 1 card is 42fps and the AVG frame rate in SLI is very close to 60fps! one card should be sufficient to run this game on this resolution and barely any lag should be noticeable. but if you plan on running this game at a higher resolution (maybe 1920x1200) then I would recommend SLIing these two cards.

    Hope this benchmark helps!
    t77snapshot and DrPepper say thanks.
  2. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,134 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Nice one :rockout:

    Crysis was the reason I gave up on PC gaming nearly 3 years ago :roll:
  3. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Do you have v-sync on somewhere? seems weird to get 63 max so many times.

    Also I can't believe your using two 580s for that resolution, buy a new monitor next dude! or 3!
  4. mdsx1950

    mdsx1950 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,107 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    In a gaming world :D
    Nice!

    Though it was playable for me almost about an year ago :p
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,003 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,397
    he could be CPU limited for the max FPS.
  6. arroyo

    arroyo

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    393 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    Location:
    Bydgoszcz, Poland
    I remember that in 1998 Unreal was unplayable on my high end desktop (Celeron 433/Riva TNT). Then 3 years later is started to work perfectly (Pentium III 800/Geforce 256). Crysis is the same example. Cry Engine was released too early for hardware he need.
  7. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,134 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Would that i7 really be a bottleneck? :eek:
  8. platinumyahoo

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    209 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Flint, MI
    HAHA no I dont think my 4ghz core i7 is bottlenecking anything. I do have vsync on but i dont know why the max goes over 60 sometimes, but it dosnt matter this game looks absolutely stunning on very high running that smooth, despite its age.
  9. platinumyahoo

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    209 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Flint, MI
    Im trying to get a 26" or 27" soon but I need to find a good deal!
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,003 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,397
    if a 4.3GHz wolfdale could bottleneck 4870 crossfire (which i personally verified it did) i can EASILY say that your 4Ghz i7 would be held back by a 'mere' 4Ghz i7.


    dont forget that these game engines are single threaded for the graphics - it only needs to max that one thread out on one core to be bottlenecked. on an i7 with HT thats a mere 12.5% in task manager... so people assume they got plenty of power to spare, when they dont as far as games are concerned.

    that cap might be at 60FPS or at 200FPS, but in the end there is ALWAYS a bottleneck, be it from CPU, GPU, game engine, or monitors refresh rate.
    mafia97 and platinumyahoo say thanks.
  11. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Would try and help you out on that but I'm more the guy to talk to if you want bargains in the UK : [

    Would you care to do a run or two with v-sync off so we can see max frames please? : ]
  12. platinumyahoo

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    209 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Flint, MI
    2010-11-24 07:24:20 - Crysis
    Frames: 2412 - Time: 44192ms - Avg: 54.580 - Min: 31 - Max: 79
    pantherx12 says thanks.
  13. platinumyahoo

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    209 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Flint, MI
    So are you saying that the game would run similar if I switched out my i7 and put in my 4ghz E8400?
  14. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,131 (4.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    04578
    yes it would run the same

    example Metro 2033

    Core 2 duo at 2ghz vs I7 at 3.8ghz the with the same gpu and ram the fps is the same it dosent budge not even by a single fps

    Crysis at best utilizes 2 cpu cores and that includes AI, Graphics, Physics, etc still only BARELY utilizes 2 cores

    http://www.guru3d.com/article/cpu-scaling-in-games-with-quad-core-processors/9

    Crysis is just as fast on a Core 2 Duo Core 2 Quad or even Phenom I the cpu made 0 difference after the 1680x1050 range

    what ends up happening is while there is CPU power to spare. The game engine maxes the number of threads it can use and at that point it cant push any further adding more gpu grunt will get you more FPS but at that point you tend to hit a wall eventually where only better performance clock vs clock helps but even then its miniscule.
    platinumyahoo says thanks.
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,003 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,397
    no, cause the i7 is faster clock for clock.

    if you could magically disable 2 of your i7's cores and get it to 5GHz, then yeah, you'd get faster FPS (when something else isnt the limit)


    to put what i'm saying into context:

    something has to stop your FPS from going over 9000. do you REALLY think two 580's is going to be that limit, before your CPU is?
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2010
    platinumyahoo says thanks.
  16. platinumyahoo

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    209 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Flint, MI
    correction!, 580s :roll:

    but yea I get the jist of what your saying, there always has to be a computer part that is the bottleneck stopping the FPS from going to infinity.
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,003 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,397
    and in this case, i bet its the CPU since DX9 and 10 only have singlethreading for the graphics (DX11 fixes that)
  18. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,456 (10.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,004
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Im sorry but thats a dumb reason to give up PC gaming
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. MatTheCat New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    883 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    Not really.

    Why bother with something that is meant to be fun and part of chilling out, but in reality poses constant frustration from performance issues, pressure to upgrade, and then dissapointment when you do upgrade only to find that it was the games code that was crappy and causing the performance issues all along?

    Considering all the games we get are mere console ports, in that respect my gaming rig is like overkill*5 for any current popular title, or at least it should be. But all my 360 gaming mates are playing online Black Ops with no problems whatsoever whilst I cant play it due to constant lag spikes, freezes, judder etc. There is nothing technically special about this game at all, yet it runs like shit on my rig.

    PC gamers pay out a hell of a lot for thier hardware and are left laden with compatibility/performance issues pissing out of their ears, unable to play games that they have already paid for until another 6 months worth of patches finally sort the issue(s) out (or perhaps not).

    Being a PC gamer is a stress ridden pain in the arse.
  20. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,172 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    Im sure he was just being humorous :D You know how Crysis VeryHigh affected us all :p
  21. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Yes really, it's one game.

    One game should never be a reason to stop playing games :laugh:

    Imagine if you applied the same to books " ARRGH THIS BOOKS DISAPPOINTING AND THE PLOT IS SLOW, NEVER AGAIN WILL I RISK SUCH PROFOUND DISAPPOINTMENT! NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO" :laugh:
  22. streetfighter 2

    streetfighter 2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,658 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    732
    Location:
    Philly
    I had to read the part about going from a GTX260-216 to two GTX 580s several times. That's like going from a Lotus Elise to a Bugatti Veyron. They're both lots of fun, but the top speed is 100mph apart.

    That being said my HD 5830 plays Crysis just swell.

    Sometimes I think that when I imagine my friends fighting it out with their gaming rigs. But then I look at the massive library of games I have (that still work) and all the free games I can get (flash, etc.) and I think, "well that's not so bad". Of course, that's highly subjective.
  23. mrw1986

    mrw1986

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,111 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    I had Crysis running maxed out a couple years ago on my GTX280...didn't have any framerate problems. I even have that *.ini or whatever that enhances the graphics and what not.
  24. MatTheCat New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    883 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    Yes.

    But Crysis encapsulated all the frustration of wasted time spent tweaking settings, wasted time (and money) due to bouts of misguided upgrade fever, and of course the lingering dissatisfaction due to the less than satisfactory performance that your rig presented you with. Yet all along it was the game that was crappily coded, as far superior, better looking, and better running titles such as BFBC2 has proven since then. The Crysis story epitomised the endless unwinnable battle of the PC gaming enthuisiast and all the tears, labour, and $$$'s that go hand in hand with PC gaming.

    With shit books, u just put it down and don't read it. You don't waste a termendous amount of hours in vain trying to get it to be a better book, or spend hundreds of pounds paying an author to rewrite certain chapters in order to make the plot that little bit more engaging.

    Comments like this are a pox on honest 'naive' PC gamers everywhere.

    Just think of the poor kid who saves up his pocket money to purchase that GTX280 just so that he can max out Crysis on V.High, only to find out that u were talking pish or that 'no frame rate problems' just means that you were perfectly happy with 25-35 FPS for the whole of the game (with no AA).
    platinumyahoo says thanks.
  25. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,421 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,111
    It's still no reason to turn down PC gaming. Upgrade is by choice, you can also chose to turn down the settings a bit and simply skip high end hardware.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page