1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Crysis, is it still the hardest game on your system?

Discussion in 'Games' started by troyrae360, Mar 2, 2009.

  1. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    yeah but so is medieval 2. I still get lag on huge battles I mean wtf its old now :laugh:
     
  2. ArmoredCavalry

    ArmoredCavalry New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    617 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Ohio
    Medieval 2 runs pretty awesome for me, but oddly enough, Rome Total War has lag issues when building quality is on very high. It is some sort of bug though, because I had the same problem with a hd3850/8800gt/hd4870

    :laugh:
     
  3. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,434 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    im sorry lol buts thats like sayin u crnt tell the diff from 16 bit and 24 bit sound lol 16 is what your gameboy would produce playing pokemon whilst 24 is your huge stereo with floor rumbleing bass, see what am tryin to say lol
     
  4. troyrae360

    troyrae360 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Christchurch New Zealand
    How is Empire Total War? and good is Hows the graphics copmared to Total Way? is gameplay the same? do you play online?

    PS, 64 bit Vista is more responsive than 32 bit :)
     
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2009
  5. DarkMatter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,714 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Well I can't really speak for you or others, but I can guarantee you that I would, and IMHO most people in most games would. In games is more noticeable than in pictures, photos or videos I mean, because those use techniques to avoid banding, like dithering and optimiced palettes. In games, the difference is enormous in the terms we speak in an enthusiast forum like this, so much noticeable than different AA or AF levels, even lack off. I mean the colour banding is so evident in games running in 16 bits...

    See this:

    [​IMG]

    Modern games don't use dithering AFAIK, so the banding is just as noticeable as the one in the picture above. That I know, only the first games in the era 32bit was implemented (first GeForces or Radeons) had any tricks to avoid banding, games of today simply lack any because they don't need to.

    Oh and BTW, it really took me by surprise that the game ran better in 16 bit mode. It's been ages since the cards can do 32bit in the same clocks as they do 16bit and caches and registers are 32 bit too AFAIK. It must be related to the amount of memory used and ONLY that. Because it's very badly optimiced and I really mean it. Unless someone can explain me why runs better in 16bit mode in year 2009, otherwise. :twitch:

    Eeeeeh!! Don't exgerate man. Gameboy is 8 bit. ;)

    Even the first generation Audigy had 16 bit on some of it's stages.
     
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2009
  6. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,434 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    dark matter youve just helped me explain a problem when playing dead space the shadows look like there in 16 bit colour now ive seen that pick i no what it loos like but in my ccc it says im running 32 bit can you offer help please?
    edit jesus christ... only 8 bit!!!!! thats why it sounds so cool haha
     
  7. ArmoredCavalry

    ArmoredCavalry New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    617 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Ohio
    It seems to be pretty good so far, I have only played the demo. The difference in graphics is a lot more noticeable from medieval 2 to empire, than it was from rome to medieval 2.

    At least imo they are... :cool:

    It includes Naval warfare now which is pretty awesome, the land battles are a bit different since almost everything is gunpower now. It is going to take some getting used to at least for me. I haven't played online yet, but I never did play total war online. I always do the campaigns.
     
  8. RevengE

    RevengE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,662 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    211
    Location:
    Ohio
    I would like to play total war soon.
     
  9. troyrae360

    troyrae360 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Christchurch New Zealand
    yea, it sound good yo me. i never played Mdeieval on line but played alod of 1v1 lan games, lots of fun :)
     
  10. RevengE

    RevengE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,662 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    211
    Location:
    Ohio
    I remember back in the day it was hard for my PC to run blood..anyone remember that?
     
  11. troyrae360

    troyrae360 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Christchurch New Zealand
    HaHa, yea, spent ages trying to get it to go on my mates laptop, had to have the Gfx settings just right, we used to lan it with my secondery system, MSI KT700 ultra, athlon 2800 and geforce 4 Ti400 i think, it went ok as long as you didnt set it too high
     
  12. DarkMatter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,714 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    I haven't played dead space and I have not any experience with it, so no, I can't help you sorry. But you should try checking with others if that's not something natural. Banding can happen because of lots of things and not only color depth. Most modern games with soft shadows (I don't even know if DS has soft shadows, but I suppose it does) use shadow dithering, because shadows in essence are nothing more than a visibility check, light "sees" this point or not, and then create the shadow maps. So as I said they use dithering to "time-interpolate" that shadow maps with the objects they are casted on, in order to create the soft edges. But older games with soft shadows didn't use dithering, and just used different layers/bands to create the effect. That could be the case in Dead Space.

    ^^ Sorry, I'm assuming the banding happens in the dges because I have no single explanation otherwise.
     
    ste2425 says thanks.
  13. troyrae360

    troyrae360 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Christchurch New Zealand
    Hmm, i think i get like Bad Banding when i watch those 700mb xvids?
    Any idea on how to fix that?
     
  14. DarkMatter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,714 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Hmm there's very little you can do (with little effort) if the videos were created in low color depth. Re-encoding them at a higher depth and applying some smoothing algorithm could reduce banding, but in expense of blurring the image. The result is always going to be far from perfect though, you simply can't add detail were there isn't.

    An easier thing to try is playing the videos in the DivX player (if you aren't already), which I think it forces the superb divx deblocking and all other enhancement algorithms for xvid too, something that the WMP doesn't do except for DivX <- forced by the codec. An improvement in banding is not assured, but a slight increase in overall quality may happen.
     
    troyrae360 says thanks.
  15. crtecha

    crtecha New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,407 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    ipsay meechigan
  16. troyrae360

    troyrae360 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Christchurch New Zealand
    thanx
     
  17. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,963 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    I hope one day they make a crysis game not base in the jungle. Instead we will fight in various cites around the world. That will look awesome, and the gameplay will be out of this world. But then again, that will take a powerhouse of a computer to play.
     
  18. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,936 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    actually that's not a bad idea
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. troyrae360

    troyrae360 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Christchurch New Zealand
    HAT how come you have no stars?
     
  20. RevengE

    RevengE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,662 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    211
    Location:
    Ohio
    He has 5000+ posts You get a custom Title..unless you decide to keep your stars.
     
  21. ArmoredCavalry

    ArmoredCavalry New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    617 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Ohio
    I actually think it would be less demanding than a jungle based crysis. Less plants. :)
     
  22. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,136 (7.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,662
    Man I hate to admit this. I mean you guys don't understand how much I HATE to admit this but I........agree with DarkMatter on this one. :cry:
     
  23. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,434 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    mint pic mate mail man
     
  24. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,963 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    So after testing Crysis Warhead on my P3, This is what i found out:

    1280X1024 resolution, Gamer, to Mainstream settings, Gamma Correction in Anti-Aliasing, transparency anti aliasing multisampling, full screen anti aliasing AAX4( note, sound and water and Shadows on low) I put this game on AAX4 and i lose no performance whatsoever, i average around 9-13fps at these settings, not bad for my rig. NO OC, all stock gpu settings.

    (resize to 1024x640)
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    The most demanding visual options for warhead is Water. I put water on mainstream and it just kills performance. Sound i always keep on low, seems to be a waste of time. And another option that kills performance is Shadows, MY GOODNESS.

    So i keep textures, objects on mainstream along with Volumetric effects.
    Game effects, Shaders, Physics, Particles and post processing on all gamer settings.
     
  25. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,434 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    Did you say sound was a waste of time in the fact that you carn't tell the different from one setting to the other or that it kills performance?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page