1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Crysis just doesn't want to run at all

Discussion in 'Games' started by ShadowFold, Dec 19, 2008.

  1. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    What am I doing wrong? What ever settings I put on Crysis Warhead I can't get any higher than 25fps. Even on all low and all very high I get 20-25fps which is terrible and unplayable. I am still on my Intel E7200, I have tried 2.5/3.2/3.8/4.2ghz and it runs the same no matter what. I hope when I get my 9750 it plays atleast 30fps but I still want to play it.
     
  2. FilipM

    FilipM New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    802 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Bitola, Macedonia
    Ehm, have you tried re-installing the game?
     
  3. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Yes. I have it on steam too.
     
  4. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Do you have V-Sync enabled? If you do, then take it off and then put it back on.
     
  5. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Nah I don't need vsync. Should I try turning on and then off again tho?
     
  6. proletariandan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    475 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Chicago
    I had a similar issue with Warhead on my 3870, which runs the original Crysis without a problem. I have a feeling it is a driver issue because when I stepped up to a GTX 260 in the same system I had no problems whatsoever.
     
  7. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Original Crysis runs good too.. I remember it running even better on my HD 3850 as well.
     
  8. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    I would try the Vsync bug fix anyway. If not turn down your Shader or Shadows setting.
     
  9. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    It runs the same no matter what I do. Even on all the lowest I get 20-25fps. Haven't seen 30fps at all.
     
  10. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
  11. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    have you added your video card to the profile list?
     
  12. Wartz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Messages:
    168 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    CPU bottleneck?

    Tho a Phenom should be able to do just fine with crysis.

    Edit: Try taking out your soiund card. I had a bitch of a time getting my Audigy 2 to stop causing FPS problems in Vista, so that might be a possibility.

    Edit 2: didnt see that you mentioned trying with overclocks, so nvm first line of reply.
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2008
  13. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,963 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    I watch the video, you were getting over 50fps at one time, i guess look at the ground or away from the viewpoint, then it drop down to 25. Sometimes 15. I notice that you are playing a i guess ok resolution for 2008, and you have everything max out. But you have a 4870x2 , you should be able to play the game max, and get 50-70fps, maybe or 40-70.

    Hey Wartz, i doubt the sound card is a issue. I have a Sound Blaster AE 2 PCI card, i done some testing on games to see if the sound card does decrease performance, i didnt.
    Only thing tho, some good advice, when install the drivers for your sound card, only install the drivers. Do not install all that extra crap, so install the drivers only by doing the device manager , find the driver fine. If you install all that extra crap, yea performance will decrease in games.
     
  14. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Do you really think its my sound card? Crysis is the only game that runs bad for me.
     
  15. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,963 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    ShadowFold, have you tried uninstalling the drivers for the sound, and then reinstall, but only install the drivers and not none of that extra stuff. That extra stuff you install slows down things.

    Or you can turn down hardware acceleration for the sound card and try crysis. Also keep everything at stock settings, CPU, GPU. And what is windows 7 , that OS, try removing that and just run the game with Vista Ultimate 32bit.
     
  16. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    OK I am uninstalling all traces of sound drivers. I will use the new drivers they came out with a few days ago. The things I have after the /'s are things I am getting later. Windows 7 is going to be the new OS.
     
  17. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,382 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Don't know if you've ever tried xp64, but it runs crysis perfect. In fact all my games run better and faster than under xp32 or vista64. And yes, win7 64 is better than all of them, can't wait for it to be final. (yearsssss)
     
  18. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I hated XP 64. Everything ran like crap and it was slow compared to Vista x86.
     
  19. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    and 25 fps is A lot (at least if you live here), last week i got mass effect and half an hour ago i finished. Did you know how many times i got 30 fps, other than the cutscenes, NONE, just play it with 25 fps.

    PD: i remember something that happened with me in the original crysis, that in the first levels, it was slow but then the system assimilated the game and it ran smooth (at least for me :D)
     
  20. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,382 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Bizarre, guess I'm the only one who knows how to tweak xp64 . I have vista64 ultimate installed, vlited, tweaked, it's way faster than vista32, but it truly sucks at performance. I lose like 20% performance in games with it, and on a $500 video card, that's not acceptible..... Edit: and I don't even see 25fps min, and I run at 1920x1200 all high... typical is 30fps to 60fps, warhead starts at 40fps...
     
  21. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    25 is not playable to me. Plus people with 4850's are getting well over 30fps with their cards.

    I don't like tweaking OS's I just let them run. I turned off UAC in Vista, thats about it. Everything ran faster for me in Vista x86 and XP x86. I guess I got a lemon of a xp x64 copy.
     
  22. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,382 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    I love tweaking, guess thats the diff, and no, my min is 30fps, and I only see that in really full scenes, and I use 4xaa. 8xaa can bring me down to 25, I think I even saw 22 flicker, ugggg! So I'll admit nvidia is weak at aa. I can't play below 30fps. But I have a weaka** athonx2, so I have no idea what this card could really do.
     
  23. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,963 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    So the only game which you have trouble with is Crysis?
    If that is so, is your Video card OC, did you OC it, put it back at stock and use the 8.12 drivers. And maybe just don't install CCC and use ATI tray tools.

    Do you mind if you post your GPU-Z SHOT?
     
  24. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Uninstalling sound drivers and updating them to the latest gets me to 30-35fps but its still choppy. When ever I turn or zoom in it just lags for like 5 seconds its fkin annoying.
     
  25. ASRockIQ

    ASRockIQ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    949 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Daphne, AL
    you sure you don't have any programs running in the background that uses CPU or RAM? you sure you don't have any Spyware or Viruses?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page