1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Crysis multiplayer beta coming

Discussion in 'News' started by zekrahminator, Jan 31, 2007.

  1. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Crytek and Electronic Arts have been rumored to be biding their time until Vista gains serious momentum before unleashing the first major DX10 title. However, a recent chat with the developers of Crysis reveals that this is not the case. In fact, we should be hearing details about a public multi-player beta very soon. We'll keep you posted on how to register for the beta as the information becomes available. However, if there's one thing this beta will show, it is what hardware you really need to run Crysis. All those amazing movies we've seen have been on Crytek's hardware. It will certainly be interesting to see how Crysis runs on a slightly more normal computer.

    Source: 1Up
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2007
  2. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Money says it won't run on any of our rigs very fast.
     
  3. Protius New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,411 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Wonderful Ohio
    i wonder what it looks like with everything on low
     
  4. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    possibly you can adjust the settings to similar graphics such as far cry...
     
  5. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    ::drool:: Public Betas!!!
     
  6. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,291 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,614
    Location:
    Florida
    amen
     
  7. RickyG512 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    477 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Croydon, England
    look how slow far cry was when is first came out, then it was 9800xt and that only spat out 45 fps and now days mid-end cards are doing like 70 fps on that game

    what i dont understand is on that new trailer that came out yesturday which is soo good and real liofe graphics, how did it run soo smooth on the trailer, how does crytek run it soo smooth, they cant have better hardware than the ones in that post a few days ago can they
     
  8. Scheich

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    245 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Running the game and recording it at 1% speed doesnt obviously required much hardware :laugh:
     
  9. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,465 (4.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,264
    sweet! ill be looking out for that public beta! hopefully it will run ok.
     
  10. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
  11. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    it will probably give very respectable options...Game designers these days make sure it can use older shader models. Like NFSC had this feature. I say it will still look very detailed with DX9.0C


    If they want to make money, they should also allow DX9.0C settings.
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2007
  12. 1Strive

    1Strive New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    682 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Texas
    I think I'll be okay. :pimp:

    My 8800GTS takes everything I throw at it and then begs for more.
     
  13. zOaib New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    985 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    FL
    just saw the trailer for the game , kinda excites me , of what games are gonna be becoming very soon , also get ready to have small nuclear generators for a personal PC , cause for these kinda graphics u need soo much wattage ................ unbelievable , wasnt there a thread where someone tried crysis beta on a Q6700 with sli 8800 gtx and 8 gb low latency ram , and was getting only 44 FPS at 1028X768 resolution ............... i mean if 2 8800 gtx could not handle this thing , my 8800 gts gonna **** its **** out. lol
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 31, 2007
  14. 1Strive

    1Strive New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    682 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Texas
    That thread was total BS.
    Don't even bring it up.

    There aren't any Vista Drivers for 8 series SLI yet.
    Vista wasn't out it was Beta.
    Crysis hasn't released a Beta. They had no screen shots or proof.

    Again that was total BS.

    Your 8800GTS will be great w/ it or I will give you mine.
     
  15. zOaib New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    985 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    FL
    well thats good to know , cause the game looks awesome .
     
  16. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,682 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    We will see how well it runs, I want to see benchmarks of it with:
    Single vs. Dual vs. Quad vs. Native Quad
    (Athlon/FX/Optron vs. Core 2 duo vs. Core Extreme vs. Barcelona)
     
  17. i_am_mustang_man New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,854 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Boston
    i want beta more than i want water

    i want to play i want to play i want to play

    although i always worry about playing it and maybe missing out on the excitement of when you get a new weapon/thing/suit option as the story progresses. that's part of what i love about gaming is the surprises. like the bfg. that was sweet. oh doom....

    sorry, retro coma

    anyways, i want in
     
  18. C.Ash

    C.Ash New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    204 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, Missouri
    I dont know about this.. Crysis is only in Pre-Alpha stages currently.
     
  19. modarsatu New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    this works ??? :D :D
     
  20. SlipSlice

    SlipSlice New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    770 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Indiana
    I hope my system can play it some decent settings..not high res. maybe 1024X768..with medium would even be nice.
     
  21. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,682 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    I don't like the hardware change...it used to be (for the past 5 years) buy CPU, have enough ram, and spend all your $ on a video card and it worked out, Crysis is more like buy a new video card quad cpu and low latency ram and it will at least run... seriously, my 2800+ OCe'd was about as fast as my Opty 148 un oc'ed, it all worked out...

    Ok, done with my min rant about having to spend a large amount of money in the next few years to play new games. :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page