1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Crysis Runs On DX10 Notebooks

Discussion in 'News' started by zekrahminator, Jul 25, 2007.

  1. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Up to this point, DirectX10 cards in DirectX10 benchmarks have performed abysmally. Company of Heroes, Lost Planet, and other DX10 games have all performed at a fraction of the speed that their DX9 counterparts boast. However, this all is about to change, thanks to recent benchmarks from a pre-release version of Crysis. Dignews benchmarked modern DX10 computers, including a Toshiba Satellite notebook with an 8700. And while all of the computers had occasional stutters (which could plausibly be fixed by the time the game is released, considering Crysis is not even in beta yet), all of them also rendered the game in a quality that simply stunned reviewers. The Toshiba Satellite somehow managed to run Crysis with almost all settings maxed out. Please click the source link for the full review.

    Source: DigNews via TheINQ
     
  2. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Singapore
    It means 8600GTS / 2600XT owns?
     
  3. TXcharger

    TXcharger New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    431 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    SAN ANTONE, TX
    ahhh this is good to know!
     
  4. insider Guest

    At what resolution, at what detail settings???

    My old Geforce 6800 could run most of todays games, doesn't mean it's any good does it! :D

    If you've seen the in game trailers you'll notice just how dumb the AI is, so much time to aim and shoot you could finish a large burger and still manage to get the kills in time.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 25, 2007
  5. LiNKiN

    LiNKiN Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,757 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    298
    I doubt very seriously it will be that way when the game releases. If you ever played Far Cry, it was a b@#$% even on Normal difficulty settings....All in all this is what can be achieved when programmers actually give a s@#$, if ya know what I mean. :)
     
  6. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    So does this mean a 5800LE will own a HD 2900XT in this game :rolleyes:

    I feel for those that don't get it. :shadedshu
     
  7. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Awesome!!! :D
     
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,373 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,681
    what they're saying is that midrange cards (8600GT) can run the game at near max graphics, and the big cards just get the option of AA/higher res.

    In other words, just because its DX10, doesnt mean that ONLY an 8800GTX can play it (unlike lost planet and CoH)
     
  9. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Good news indeed. Thanks Zek
     
  10. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Good news! Since I only play on a 17" (sometimes 22"), I always purchase a mid-range card.
     
  11. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Very good news! I was starting to get a little worried about DX10 performance, judging by the CoH and LP benches.
     
  12. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    crysis will be just like any game if you want eye candy you will need a better gfx card, and from what i can find out about the game (about 40hrs in google (its all i do at work)) is that your cpu will have the biggest impact on the game hence dual / quad core .. a core for rendering/physics/AI and the game its self .. (the latest vid clips from E3 07 there running a yorkfield 3.2 ghz)

    as for comments about the AI seeming a little dumb there showing the game in easy mode as its easier to show off the game that way
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page