1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

crysis X64 any benefit ?

Discussion in 'Games' started by mullered07, May 24, 2008.

  1. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    is there any benefit in running crysis in x64 mode as opposed to 32bit ? i know in theory there should be but whats the difference in real life ? any comparisons etc ?
     
  2. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,215 (5.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,570
    Location:
    Florida
    i gained like 2-5fps.
     
    mullered07 says thanks.
  3. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    that could be cruicial in crysis lol, oh well if theres no downpoint to running x64 then i might aswell cause i can thanks solaris
     
  4. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,215 (5.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,570
    Location:
    Florida
    np man go for i also noticed in places were i didnt gain fps they were more stable didnt low-high as much
     
  5. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    is the "Benchmark_GPU" accurate as when i select "optimal settings" it sets everything to medium with those settings i get an average 55-58fps in the benchmark and when i set all settings turned to "high" average was 38fps ? so can i exppect in game reults similar to those fps ? would you reccomend i run it in high ?
     
  6. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,215 (5.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,570
    Location:
    Florida
    you can try it the fps will hover around the 38 range but ina fire fight or the end of the game your fps will plummit.
     
  7. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    any idea which things i could turn down but keeping most things on high just to run a bit smoother in heavy fighting etc ? ill probably turn shadows to medium, any others i could without losing much eye candy ?

    thanks again solaris btw ;)
     
  8. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,215 (5.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,570
    Location:
    Florida
    post processing will give you a jump in FPS and or motion blur (i cant remember if their are 2 diff settings or if motion blur and post processing r the same thing) any way i turn that off. with those and shadows on med you sholdnt notice much of a drop at all and youll be able to keep high settings
     
  9. ghost101

    ghost101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    London
    I got a hit of a couple of FPS.
     
  10. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    He's right, at the end of the game I was only getting like 28fps on very high, no aa, 1200*880.
    But for the x64 vs x32 I'm sure it's just a different optimization for the game (Granted I've never played it x32) because the way I understand things your os would just be running the game in 32bit mode instead of the native x64... I'm probably wrong though.
     
  11. Davidelmo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    330 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    I get better FPS with 32bit XP than I did with 64 bit Vista

    (specs under my username)
     
  12. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    I got lower max FPS, but they are more stable in x64 than x86.

    And if you run x86 on an x64 OS, you are running an emulator underneath it. Granted, the SYSWow64 emulator is invisible, but it's still better to run at the native bits of your OS.
     
  13. jonmcc33

    jonmcc33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    580 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    Thankfully the x86-64 technology that AMD developed means that you don't lose any performance by running 32-bit applications on a 64-bit OS. In most cases, performance can even increase by a small percentage.

    In all, the difference is negligible between the two. You'll be able to take advantage of 4GB RAM or more. You'll be able to use 64-bit applications as they become more available. You will also benefit from lack of fear of most viruses out there as they were encoded in 16 or 32-bit. A 32-bit virus cannot infect a 64-bit OS. A 16-bit virus? Forget about it.
     
  14. Davidelmo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    330 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Is this actually true?

    Wow.. never heard of that before!
     
  15. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Yup, a 32-bit virus can only affect the 32-bit parts of the Operating system.

    32-bit is incompatible with 64-bit, that's why all 64-bit OS's have a 32-bit emulator (SYSWow64 in Windows case), but it's invisible to the user.
     
    HTC and Davidelmo say thanks.
  16. Davidelmo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    330 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21

    Cool, thanks
     
  17. jonmcc33

    jonmcc33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    580 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    Check out the link in my signature (now) for more info. :D
     
    Davidelmo says thanks.
  18. Davidelmo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    330 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    hmm.. interesting, thanks.

    I had 64 bit Vista but had to leave it behind because of issues with SATA/RAID drivers. Back to 32 bit XP for now
     
  19. antzen

    antzen New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    Messages:
    40 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Dresden, Germany
    same here. the difference is huge.

    edit: the DX9-version under Vista 64 runs fine like under XP 32. but DX10 totally sux ...
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2008
  20. jonmcc33

    jonmcc33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    580 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    RAID is overrated anyway for onboard. I've never seen a significant performance boost using it at all (past or present).

    DX10 doesn't suck, it's hardware that cannot push it that causes performance drop. Crysis runs as smooth in Vista 32/64 as it did in Windows XP for me.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page