1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

CS Source problem

Discussion in 'Games' started by wazzledoozle, Apr 4, 2005.

  1. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    Whenever I run the video stress test i see this-
    http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y64/wazzledoozle/cserror.jpg
    Also when I join some games, there are purple/black stripes on the welcome menu to the server, but nowhere else.

    Also in HL2 singe player, there are some objects that are purple. It almost seems like some textures are missing?
  2. FatMaserati New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    34 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    I was getting that sort of stuff as well, but only when I overclocked my card too much.
  3. nightelf84 Guest

    The error signs will hopefully be fixed with the next CS update. Usually caused by missing models due to corrupt installs or updates. Does not affect performance when you play though..

    Purple textures usually appear when you change video settings, resolution, details, AA/AF etc. in game.. I'm not sure whether this is a bug or not. Quiting and restarting the game seems to fix it..
  4. Nergal New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Messages:
    243 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Belgium, Leuven
    don't mind that 2much.

    just reboot when you have it ingame, tbh, I don't care when it happens and just play.
  5. Gzero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    718 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Scotland
    Yeah when you change vertical sync on/off you see purple, and the update at the end of march screwed up some video graphics, hopefully they are fixed by this update, and don't while in game turn up model detail up from medium to high or terrain I think it was, buy anyways it crashes with memory violation error.
    :D
  6. wtf8269

    wtf8269 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2,495 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Ohio
    The purple walls etc, are usually missing textures. On some CS:S servers (such as mine) people aren't able to download textures. Therefore, if a custom map has custom textures as well, it will just show up as a black and purple checkard board pattern. But I don't know why the ERROR thing pops up in the benchmark. Sometimes it happens, sometimes it doesn't. :confused:
  7. Gzero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    718 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Scotland
    I am positive valve have knocked a screw loose somewhere in cs:s, that could explain it.
  8. Kr4nG New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    92 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    i use photo bucket too but when i put a pic in my pic comes out really small and its not the same size as the actualle size do you know y?
  9. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    Even when you click the link to the picture?
  10. wtf8269

    wtf8269 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2,495 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Ohio
    Save the picture so it's under 100kb, Photobucket doesn't seem to like high res pictures unless they're under 100kb, even though they say 250kb.
  11. obso1337 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Messages:
    77 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    imageshack is also good, u just cant upload them in a bulk. i get that same error thing too, but i dont care about it, performance is the same and nothing seems to be missing on ANY of the maps. very strange.
  12. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    Valve messed something up with an update, because in-game HL2 has a lot of purple and black striped objects, which is the placeholder if there is no texture. KInda pisses me off, but oh well. IM getting a 4 megabit internet conneciton on friday so I will just un-install and then download Half Life 2 so I have the newest version from the start.
  13. wtf8269

    wtf8269 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2,495 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Ohio
    Zoom, zoom, zoom!
  14. Kr4nG New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    92 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    alright its wierd though y does it do that they should fix it
  15. obso1337 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Messages:
    77 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    they've got better things to worrk about, the rest of the player models for cs:source? and the rest of the maps? o ya they half released that game so people would shut up!
  16. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    Well re-downloading HL2 and CS:S didnt help.
  17. obso1337 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Messages:
    77 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    maybe its a reg key, i doubt it, im just throwing it out there.
  18. Gzero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    718 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Scotland
    Well now I get a error type message when I try to play with my graphics settings at default at 1280x1024. Its the antialiasing thats not working, recommneded 4x* - doesn;t work for me yet 6x and 2x do!!!!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page