1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[Case Gallery] Cube of Fire rev. 2

Discussion in 'Case Mod Gallery' started by Tory, Feb 24, 2006.

  1. Tory New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    339 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    To view this case mod, go here.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Specs:
    CPU: Athlon 64 3200+ Clawhammer 754 2.0Ghz
    Motherboard: Asus K8V-MX
    Graphics Card: Connect3D X800XT @ PE speeds
    Memory: 1Gb Generic PC3200
    Hard Drive: Seagate baracuda 120GB SATA
    Cooling: CPU: Zalman 7700-ALCU, Video: Ati silencer 4
    Power Supply: Aspire 450watt dual rails
    Sound Card: Audigy 2 (value)
    Monitor: Sceptre Naga II 19 inch 12ms
    Case: Aspire X-QPack
    Operating System: XP SP2
    Mouse: Razer Diamondback green
    Keyboard: Aspire turbocase green

    This rev. 2 of of my cube PC, so I am creating a new entry and deleting my old one (I was having problems getting new pictures on the old one). Just so you know, I did try and fit my lighting from bluething in but those 12 inch uv sticks are just about a half inch too long for this case. As usual, it's dead silent, now idle and load partially due to my CPU voltage mod (running it at 1.325 instead of 1.55). Cpu fan is now fixed at 1300RPM since my new motherboard doesn't support automatic cpu fan speed (which really sucks). Also it scores 6235 in 3Dmark05 without any overclocking other than the video card flash (not overclocked further).

    So what's new?

    -New motherboard (old one had memory errors)
    -New wire management (zip ties etc...)
    -Better pictures (I actually put some effort into it this time)

    -Enjoy!
  2. i_am_mustang_man New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,854 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Boston
    clean!

    that is one of the cleanest looking shuttle builds i have seen. nice!
  3. Drewstyle Guest

    Super clean good work!!
  4. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    ...I want lol. Just a question, is it possible to replace that power supply with a beefier one? otherwise, it looks awesome, great specs, just looks like the thing everyone at the lanparty envies :p
  5. Tory New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    339 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    It is possible but you need to find one under about 5.25 inches otherwise it will hit the CD drive. The included power supply is 4.5 inches though, and most new power supplies are at least 5.5 inches.
  6. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    that thing just looks soo friggin cool!

    I think i'd have problems fitting my AC Freezer in there tho lol

    Very nice job keeping it tidy n'all.
  7. markkleb Guest

    Clean Build.

    I built one too but I used the same but cheaper case(chenming). It was a pain stuffing all that stuff inside and keeping it cool too. Good Job
  8. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,559 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Like it.
    Can you let me know your system temps.
    I like the case but don't know any about the temps.
  9. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    What makes it special is the time he's spent keeping it tidy. Those shuttle cases are difficult to work with at the best of times. ;)
  10. POGE

    POGE New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,724 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    In banjo's Goats.
    Wheres the fire?
  11. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,559 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands

    Sorry. i did not want hurt your feelings. I did not saw his first case.
  12. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,559 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    His first one looks even better.
  13. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    No probs m8, you didn't say anything wrong :)
  14. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,559 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    I don't think it is so hard. Because of the two levels it makes it a lot easier to make it a nice and clean case. But that is just me thinking.
    I want one!
  15. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    The cable management is what makes that type of case tricky, where you've got the hardware on two levels, hiding the cables is awkward. Also the shuttle cases are quite small, so you've got to carefully pick what coolers to use. He also had to put a lot of consideration into the PSU he was going to use because the case is a strange size.
  16. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,559 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Do you know if there are any SLI micro atx boards?
  17. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    to be honest, i havn't looked. Most of the companies like ASUS, ABIT, DFI etc doing the high performance boards prefer to stick to a standard ATX size.

    I think gigabyte do some micro ATX boards, but i don't like them :p
  18. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,559 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Would be nice to have a nice clean and little sli gaming system.
  19. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Yeah, i wander how compact it would be possible to make an sli rig? A pair of 7900gt's, don't take up too much space. You'd probably have to watercool the cpu with a small pump, and 120mm rad at the back. Hmmm, that gives me something to think about :D
  20. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,559 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Yeah that would be possible. I know that thermaltake has a double liquid cooled vga cooler.
    The tidewater vga cooler. Takes up one pci slot
  21. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,559 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    I hope i get my 7900 gt this week.
    I orderd it last week but did not get it. Its always the same crap.
  22. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    I've been very tempted to buy one of those recently, slap a good cooler on it, and voltmod the core... The alternative is to buy a second x850xt to go in crossfire. There's pros and cons for both :( Why can't decisions be easy? :p
  23. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,559 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    I now. It took me about two week to decide if i should go for a ATi or Nvidia card.
    I have a X800 XL and very happy with that. So i wanted to buy the X1800 xt but it was stil 400 euro. Now i got the 7900 gt for 290. That is a great difference in price.
    And if you go for a crossfire and then voltmod, the power that it consumes is very high.(even without the voltmod)
  24. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    yeah, the x850's are very power hungry cards :( Thankfully i've got a nice psu and don't pay the bills =D
  25. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    WOW, that looks better. Pretty. Alot of power in a small package.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page