1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Custom Hi-Fi Systems/Car Subwoofers for PC Speakers

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by WOG-BOY, Apr 7, 2010.

  1. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    I prefer McIntosh, VMPS, Avalon and JBL myself :)

    I desperately want a set of VMPS Lowboys, I have a set of adcom amps sitting waiting.
  2. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    The only REAL production home amp maker left out there. You have to go boutique to get any better.
  3. SabreWulf69

    SabreWulf69 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    349 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Cooloongup, Western Australia
    I'd love some Classe' or McIntosh amps personally, but alas money constraints. Hmm maybe time to list a completely unrealistic dream system perhaps heehee :-D
  4. SabreWulf69

    SabreWulf69 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    349 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Cooloongup, Western Australia
  5. WOG-BOY

    WOG-BOY New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    78 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    well on the amp itself it says 900W not on a sticker.... the amp. maybe it is 300W rms but i dont care i got it for free and it has enough power to put cracks in my walls (old house) so im happy...
  6. rizla1

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    482 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    ireland
    does it really matter as long as it sounds good. [and is free:toast:]

    i got a 25watt dell powered sub wired it up to some crappy pc speakers altough crappy its self im happy .

    anyone got and idea for me ? i want to add on a few cheap speakers and maybe a 100 watt amp . im not rich like you guys . just something in £50 - £60 range maybe some hifi speakers? i no very little about audio. thanks:)
    WOG-BOY says thanks.
  7. WOG-BOY

    WOG-BOY New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    78 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    hahaha yea true ;) im not rich either most of the stuff i got for free and sounds fukn good for me and most others.

    i dont know how much £60 in AUD but if i was you i would save up for a new receiver and buy some alright bookshelf speakers and then later on you can add a subwoofer, side and center if you want. my 3 way pioneer front speakers have pretty nice bass for what they are.


    Thats what i would do. ask niko084 he sounds smart ;)
  8. SabreWulf69

    SabreWulf69 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    349 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Cooloongup, Western Australia
    Yeah some basic pioneer home theater can be really cost efficient. My brother just got himself a low-cost system full 5.1 system with receiver for around AUD $700 and I must say I did not know you could get something like that for the price he paid.
  9. WOG-BOY

    WOG-BOY New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    78 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    yea i only paid AUD $500 for my yamaha 5.1 ( only use the center and rear speakers on it now) and it souds really clear and loud for the price
  10. SabreWulf69

    SabreWulf69 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    349 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Cooloongup, Western Australia
    Sweet good amps for home theaters the Yammy's are, sounds like you got a bargain :)
  11. WOG-BOY

    WOG-BOY New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    78 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    haha yea.....
    i have been saving up for a new subwoofer but then i saw the cerwin vega xls-15 :O
    what do you guys think of it? and how many watts will i need to power 2? i was thinking a 1000W denon or something like that. not too expensive just something with enough power
  12. SabreWulf69

    SabreWulf69 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    349 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Cooloongup, Western Australia
    1000W Denon? they may explode lol considering they have only a 400W PEAK power rating lol and for a 1000W Denon, it would be uber expensive if they even exist, so I am going to assume you meant a 100W RMS /channel amp. When I first saw them I thought they were PA speakers and I was like, oh OK but then I read on. From the sounds of it, yeah a 100W Denon will be a nice amp to drive them, whether your teaming them with an actual amp or just a 100W receiver they at least look like they will crank.
  13. WOG-BOY

    WOG-BOY New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    78 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    so i need atleast 100W rms each channel? if i need that much my yamaha would do, its 100w per channel but not sure if thats rms or peak. (proberbly peak) and if i get the lower ohm version on the cerwin vega's i can use my NAD, manula says lower the ohm the higher Watts it will put out :S
  14. SabreWulf69

    SabreWulf69 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    349 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Cooloongup, Western Australia
    What was the model of your Yammy? Yeah on some amps you can run at some lower ohms just keep an eye or a handle on amp temps. My Cambridge goes to 4 Ohms so your NAD should be able to run them no probs as long as the Cerwin's are definitely at 4 Ohms and not lower for a start and if you wanna run them off the Yammy make sure their suitably matched impedance wise to the Yammy too.
  15. WOG-BOY

    WOG-BOY New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    78 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Yamaha HTR-6130, i might just put some fans near the NAD amp and run it off that. right after i posted that last post i went to a hi-fi shop in the city to replace my broken tour beats by dr dre with the studio beats by dr dre (coming thursday, tested there demo pair and soundds F@KIN AWSOME, cant wait to get them) and had a look at a few rotel and denon amps. i would get 1 but at the price of the cerwin vega's theres no way i could afford 1. the Beats cost enough as it is....
  16. SabreWulf69

    SabreWulf69 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    349 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Cooloongup, Western Australia
    Yeah maybe if your into ripping your stuff apart then try rig sum DC 240V fans for the NAD amp into it.
  17. WOG-BOY

    WOG-BOY New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    78 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    yea i was thinking that puting 2x80mm fans ontop of the heatsink. but i need to find a + - that running 12V (using computer fans)
  18. SabreWulf69

    SabreWulf69 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    349 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Cooloongup, Western Australia
    Ah ok yeah try that for the PC fans should be good.
  19. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,356 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    i dont have anything tooo fancy, but...

    Desktop/Entertainment Center
    Philips MC 500 Micro Stereo System or w/e. I have my tv, gameconsoles, and pc hooked up to it

    [​IMG]

    Specs:
    USB port connection for digital music files
    100 watts per channel speakers
    5-disc CD changer plays CDs, CD-Rs, CD-RWs
    Built-in digital equalizer settings

    Headphones
    Tritton AX51 (older model) but i don't use em much since the cord wont straighten out

    [​IMG]

    96 Hyundai Elantra:
    2x 5 1/2in stock
    2x 6x9 Dual Illuminites 150watt
    Aiwa (or however it's spelled) 45x4 head unit with cd player in line in jack

    81 D-150:
    Pioneer head unit 45w x4 cd player
    2x 6x9 150watt max illuminites/DUAL
    2x 5 1/2in Sony Xplode 225watt max
    800watt Sony Xplode 12in (older round red ones)
    760watt pioneer amp
    2Farad Cap

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    ^ sorry just had to post it

    and the others hehehe

    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

  20. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Oh nothing against the amp, Rockford still makes decent stuff all considered!
    And very solid built sub amps.

    All these companies just turned to giving peak power ratings dunno why... :ohwell:

    Oh the other note, ya money constraints, tis why I still use solid state equipment, sadly it's cleaner and more powerful than most of the current solid state hifi equipment, and needless to say it cost less than 15% of what the new stuff costs, so what I replace a few capacitors :p

    I'm putting Focal speakers and Image Dynamics subs into my 330ci, probably going to use a Nakamichi deck, I have a few MBQuart amps sitting still I might use. Still sitting stock HK for now, which really isn't that bad for a stock system.
    xBruce88x says thanks.
  21. WOG-BOY

    WOG-BOY New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    78 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    thanks for sharing :toast:
    nice setup in the truck btw :)

    tru i wish there was an eayser way to tell which amp is better without actually testing it or listning to the fake specs from audio companies. half the new amps cant even hit the peak power anyway without overheating.... well according mt my friends amps
    xBruce88x says thanks.
  22. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,356 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    i recently grabbed an mtx amp for $30 for my brother and it was actually rated by RMS. I went on their site and found the little 400watter could push some of their Jackhammer line.

    and for the philips sound system, i got all my consoles connected to a gamestop switcher, which goes to the tv. the tv then has an audio out going to the system. currently i use my pc on the usb connector, but its a basic ac97 audio thing, i plan on getting one of those mini-stereo to rca cables and adding it in with the switch so i still get the quality of my on-board ALC888 which is better than the one built in the stereo.

    hehe yea i found all of that more than sufficient for my truck WOG-BOY. In my town the wafflehouse late at night seems to be the gathering place for bassheads... i was in Mcdonald's (next door) and decided to crank mine up. they all turned theirs off after hearing mine... even though they had 2000watt+ systems. Why? b/c theirs all sounded like diesel trucks idleing... all rattle. I took the time to adjust my audio setting and position the boxes in a way to minimize all the rattle (when i installed the system) so you could actually hear the bass and the rest of the songs as well lol. although i'll admit, the truck is all metal so there's still some rattle

    and Niko i agree, Rockford still rocks lol. btw those lightning audio speakers at wallyworld are actually a division of Rockford
  23. WOG-BOY

    WOG-BOY New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    78 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    haha yea bass always souds good in small spaces, acts like a big subwoofer box :D
    that gamestop switcher.... what connections are on it and are they good quality? i want 1 with audio RCA's but a good quality 1 with like gold plating. havent found any yet
    i havent heard much about MTX so i didnt know about the RMS rating.
  24. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,356 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    its not gold plating or anything, but it works well enough for me... played Mass Effect 1 and 2 on my xbox360 with it and audio sounded great. I also stream my movies to my xbox360 from my pc and no audio problems.

    It has hookups for,
    Red and White Audio
    Yellow RCA video, S-Video, RGB RCA
    LAN

    edit:

    [​IMG]

    the last group where i have teh white in the yellow is my nes... its only mono sound so i just used the white for vid.

    [​IMG]

    Damn pollen is everywhere, no AC so i have to use a window-fan and the pollen is real bad right now

    the lan ports aren't used all the time, in other words only one lan device will work at a time, its a manual switch, no power required.

    and it is HD, with RGB RCA

    and a side note... wallyworld = Wal-Mart lol

    edit: the systems currently hooked up

    [​IMG]

    and the nes still works, i replaced the white xbox with the above elite, and the Gamecube is at a friend's house

    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 25, 2010
    WOG-BOY says thanks.
  25. WOG-BOY

    WOG-BOY New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    78 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    wow its big with alot of connections :D just what i like... do u know where i could get 1 from and how much?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page