1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

D-Link Wireless AC1200 Dual Band Gigabit Cloud Router Now Shipping

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Mar 28, 2013.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,536 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,642
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    D-Link today expanded its line of award-winning Cloud Routers with the availability of the Wireless AC1200 Dual Band Gigabit Cloud Router (DIR-850L), offering next-generation wireless speeds for seamless HD video streaming, online gaming and file sharing.

    The Wireless AC1200 Dual Band Gigabit Cloud Router delivers concurrent wireless dual band speeds of up to 300 and 867Mbps, eliminating Wi-Fi interference for faster and more reliable Internet. The router is also backwards compatible with 802.11a/b/g/n devices for seamless connectivity.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    The AC1200 Dual Band Gigabit Cloud Router offers easy remote network management with the free mydlink Lite app from an iPhone, iPad or Android device as well as a USB port that works with the free SharePort mobile app, enabling users to easily share and enjoy photos, music and movie files from a range of devices. And with the QRS Mobile app, users can quickly and easily setup their router right from their mobile phone.

    For fast wired connectivity, the Wireless AC1200 Dual Band Gigabit Cloud Router also features four Gigabit ports enabling users to connect their Ethernet supported devices, including gaming consoles, laptops or desktop computers.

    The Wireless AC1200 Dual Band Gigabit Cloud Router (DIR-850L) is now available at Newegg.com for $129.99.
     
  2. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,552 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,493
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Wireless LAN technologies are improving so fast yet wired LAN is going at a snails pace by comparison. This is disappointing. :(
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,264 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,077
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Since most hardware supports 10Gbps. :p
    There is simply no need for it. Wireless speeds are still kind of poor, but they're getting better. My 5Ghz is jumping between 216Mbit and 300Mbit. Of course that's traffic both ways so it's at least as fast as 100Mbit Ethernet which isn't too shabby.
     
  4. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,552 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,493
    Location:
    IA, USA
    But even 10 Gbps deployment is rare. It's mostly 1 Gbps and 802.11ac is knocking down that door.
     
    digibucc says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Solidstate89

    Solidstate89

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    201 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Western New York
    D-Link - never again. I've had such bad experience with their routers.
     
  6. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,264 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,077
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Me too. The last D-Link router I had would randomly restart when too many connections were opened, like when a torrent runs.
     
    Solidstate89 says thanks.
  7. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,552 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,493
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I don't have any problems with my DGL-4500 and I've had it for years.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Solidstate89

    Solidstate89

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    201 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Western New York
    Heh, that was exactly why I got rid of mine. Torrenting was the biggest offender, but not the only thing that would cause it to crash.

    I've had two ASUS routers since (gave the old one to my Mother) and they've worked flawlessly so far. I've noticed that if you give ASUS about 6 months to get their firmware up to snuff, they're the best damn routers a consumer can buy.
     
  9. Jorge

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    735 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    IME D-Link's product design is horrible and customer support is nonexistent. Never again sums it up very accurately.
     
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,208 (11.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,512
    its because even at 1.2Gb, wifi is still less than half the speed of 1Gb wired.


    1.2Gb bi directional, split between wifi N and wifi AC means that you're gunna get crap all for a single transfer/connection.


    also, goddamn, stop with the internal aerials.
     
  11. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,606 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    919
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    This. You'd expect at least 1Tbps transfers by now considering the constant speed jumps by WLAN networks.
     
  12. zallkool New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    this is a bit false

    LAN is just too big too fill when it comes to consumer routers
    consumer routers have been using mips for ages now and just within the last couple of years it started using 74k mips cpus and these will never be able to handle full gigabite speeds
    for gigabite speeds u need duel core arm cpu and even then i have my doubts if they will be able to reach 1 gigabit with QOS
    just look at this

    http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/lanwan/router-charts/bar/74-wan-to-lan

    when it comes to download speeds there isnt a single router that can handle full gigabite speeds from wan to lan

    not to mention that routers that can handle 800+ mbps will fall down to around 200+ when QOS is enabled because QOS disables CTF or any other kind of acceleration

    if your talking about house networking and u want something fast u could do two things buy a 10 gigabite swtich for about 5000+ dollars + or build ur own x86 system using a duel core ivy bridge (atoms wont reach gigabit ) and buy a bunch of these http://www.ebay.com/itm/Mellanox-ConnectX-EN-10Gbps-MNPH29B-XTC-Network-Card-/151002423611?pt=US_Internal_Network_Cards&hash=item232872213b
    Mellanox are the only company that sells these amazing infiniband cards for cheap

    check this blog http://davidhunt.ie/wp/?p=232

    if u want a 10Gb+ router/switch just buy a fast system with lots of pci express slots and fill them up with used infiniband cards
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2013
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,208 (11.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,512

    maybe you should edit that, and clear up gigabit Vs Gibabyte, because you seem to be swapping the two back and forth and losing all meaning.
     
  14. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    The main reason why I would consider buying this router is because it's a cylindrical shape.
     
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,208 (11.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,512
    so that you get a tangle of wires that goes vertical, instead of horizontal?
     
  16. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,585 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,215
    Huh? The ports are on the back.
     
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,208 (11.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,512
    but they go UP. meaning theres a snakes nest coming out the back, that you cant tidy up.
     
  18. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,585 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,215
    Oohhh oh yeah i understand now. You can tidy them up for sure, a bit at least. My router stands up so its the same for me and i can tidy that up if i wanted to.
     
  19. terrastrife New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    172 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    You'd think vertical ports would be easier to tidy as you can simply run them straight down through conduit or velcro ties or whatever, without having to bunch them together first as they all fall vertically together.
     
  20. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,208 (11.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,512
    but they dotn fall vertically together - they have to rest either on top of, or beside each other.


    as an example: if your router was flat on a desk, you'd have all the cables side by side, going straight down behind/off the desk.

    with this, they're all at different heights, and thanks to gravity they're competing - they all want to fall into the same space. that means some cables have to go our horizontal further before they can 'drop' vertically.


    a router with both options makes sense. a router with only vertical ethernet ports does not.


    edit: yes you can zip tie them together and make it all nice and neat. but with horizontal you dont need to.
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2013
    Aquinus and digibucc say thanks.
  21. terrastrife New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    172 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Have you tried to make cables from a light consumer device that has horizontal cabling tidy or go through a desk port? :p
    bundling the cables together lifts the device off the table, but if they were all vertical sure they try to fall into the same space, that's exactly what you'd want to be bundling them all together <:
    But I guess it all depends on how you run your cables. I like to keep devices accessable but out of the way, so they sit far back along my tables or in corners, where the cabling needs to instantly all form the smallest possible single route, my dinky little Billion router is velcroed to the table because bunching the cables together without giving them enough room (say about 30cm) just lifts the router off the table. With every cable vertical you can tightly pack them together so that they hold their shape, using the prior shorter cable to keep it's sharp angle required to drop down a hole in a table :p
    I'd also hope it's heavy too, to keep it stable <:
     
  22. OneCool

    OneCool

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    844 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    Look behind you!!
    Bass Bazooka!!!
     
  23. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,792 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    598
    It looks liek a PARTY SPEAKER!!!
     
  24. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,208 (11.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,512
    no i have not. perhaps thats why we have different opinions on this. we have different desks.
     
  25. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,792 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    598
    My Amped R20000G can be both horiz or vert and I prefer it horizontally.

    Have you tried having sex standing up... it's not as good. This is what mussels is tryinna tell yah
     
    Mussels says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page