1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

d3d11 AppWindow::do swap(): device removed On Xfire 5870 and 5850 set up????

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by 20mmrain, Apr 30, 2010.

  1. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,751 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    819
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    DX 11 Tessellation Crossfire Problem that ATI won't talk about....Notd3d11 AppWindow

    ******I originally wrote this thread about another problem. Because I thought the MS DDI 10.1 bug was causing this problem. But..... I found out it wasn't the problem. So since then the thread has kind of gravitated to the real problem of ATI's Tessellation Crossfire problem. If you feel like chiming in here please feel free. I know there is another thread similar to this..... but it hasn't got allot of notice. So I am trying to find answers about this problem. The problem is described towards the end of the page. Sorry And thanks*******






    Hey guys I recently just bought a XFX 5850 to go with my Diamond 5870. I also got a new motherboard if this info helps for what I am going to tell you.....(Which is a MSI GD65 P55 Board)

    Anyway ..... I started installing some games tonight. I went to go test them out because this is my first..... Xfire setup.

    Well anyway any game so far running DX9 and in DX10 will work fine when in Xfire.

    But if I run a DX11 Game it won't run fine. What will happen is that it makes the game pause...... then it will make the Driver Crash and either makes it so I have to reboot ..... or it will give me this error below.....

    d3d11 AppWindow::do swap(): device removed

    I am completely lost.....

    I have no Idea what is going on here has anyone had this problem or know anything about it?

    If so please help......

    Or if you have any suggestions on what to try please let me know.....

    My specs are as follows.....

    MSI GD65 P55
    i5 750
    XFX 5850
    Diamond 5870
    Corsair 850 HX
    Corsair H50
    Corsair XMS3 RAM
    Western Digital Black Carvers

    Thanks...... I won't be around tonight to answer questions.... but if there are some suggestions for me to try..... I will gladly respond back tomorrow.
    Last edited: May 24, 2010
  2. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,751 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    819
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Know one has got any idea huh????

    I have made sure both cards work by themselves...
    Tried updating DX
    Tried switching drivers.....from 10.4 to 10.3 to 9.12

    I have looked at my DXdiag nothing seems to be out of the ordinary.......

    The only other thing I changed was my PSU....

    But like I said...... it always pauses in the same place makes me think its a Driver issue.

    Any other thoughts???
  3. Kariddi New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Same here my friend, you are not alone ...

    I just got my second Sapphire 5850 and I'm stuck with the same exact problem ...

    It seems something related with tessellation, because Unigine 2.0 with tessellation disabled works well even in DX11.

    Stone Giant is the same.

    I have the problem also in Dirt 2 and Metro 2033 (both with tessellation enabled, no problem with DX10 or 9 or 11 with tess disabled)

    Strangely I don't have any kind of problems with Unigine 1.0, Call of prypiat or AVP that are 3 titles with tessellation.

    I tried every kind of thing. I reinstalled my windows 7, I tried in succession 10.3 , 10.4a, 10.4 WHQL , beta 10.5 without luck , I have also tried flashing the bios of my cards with a 5870 one because I read somewhere that you could solve in that way ... but the same issue remains ....

    I see that we use the same platform (P55, I have a i7 860 on a UD4 mobo), maybe this is related somehow ...

    EDIT: I forgot to say that my cards work perfectly singularly.
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,705 (11.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,223
    you arent suffering the DDI 10.1 bug on either card are you?

    'device removed' makes it sound like crossfire cut out for some reason (just like unplugging your monitor would, for example)
  5. Kariddi New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Yes, I suffer of that bug, but microsoft said it's a visualization bug only.

    Anyway, I tried the hotfix microsoft released , but didn't changed the situation anyway :cry:
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,705 (11.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,223
    its not a simple readout bug, if you suffer from the DDI 10.1 bug you cant run DX11 apps. Maybe thats your problem.. one card in DX11, one card in 10.1?
    Last edited: May 1, 2010
  7. Kariddi New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    When I had only one card I always run everything with DDI 10.1 in dxdiag without problems (DirectX11 games with tessellation enabled also). Both the cards , taken alone, work perfectly . Enabling crossfire makes Unigine 2.0 , stone giant, metro 2033 and Dirt2 (with tessellation enabled) stop working (they crash after few seconds).

    I tried the hotfix and now I have DDI 11 in dxdiag, but the problem persist sadly :(

    The strange thing is that Unigine 1.0, Call of prypiat and AvP work ok with tess enabled ...
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,705 (11.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,223
    well i'd say driver bug then.

    tried the 10.4a betas?
  9. Kariddi New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Yes, I tried 10.3, 10.4a, 10.4 and betas 10.5 and no luck whatsover
  10. hallryhu New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I just installed my second 5850 and I now get this error in the Heaven banchmark. It stops at exactly the same point every time.
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,705 (11.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,223
    please fill out your system specs here making sure you change the 'show system specs' drop down from 'no' to 'yes'
  12. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,751 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    819
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    My System Specs are now as follows.....

    CPU: i5 750@ 3.6 gHz
    MOB: MSI P55-GD65
    RAM: Corsair XM3 @ 1444 Mhz (Capable of 1600Mhz)
    PSU: Corsair 850 HX Modular
    Case: CM Sniper With Window Mod and Fan
    HDD: 2x Western Digital 500Gig 7200RPM Raid 0
    OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
    GPU'S: Diamond ATI HD 5870 (Reference) Sapphire ATI 5850 (Non Reference)
    HSF: Corsair H50 Liquid Cooling Push Pull

    Like I said I have seen many others with this exact problem...... 1st I thought the DX11 Tessellation problem was because of the Microsoft DDI 10.1 bug. But I found out after I got that fixed that it is not because of that.

    Symptoms:

    Can't play DX11 with tessellation enabled if I have my 5870 on top in the Xfire config.....
    1. Dirt 2 (W/tessellation enabled on Crowd)
    2. Metro 2033 (with tessellation enabled period)
    3. Heaven Benchmark 2.0v (With Tessellation enabled)
    4. STALKER Call of Pripyat Benchmark (At All)

    ***5. From what I understand BF2BC would give me a problem but I don't own it.... I know this from others who have the exact same problem*****

    I can play all of these games with DX11 enabled as long as I don't turn on the Tessellation while running Crossfire with the Diamond 5870 on top.

    But I can play these games in that config.....5870 on top
    1. AVP (runs fine in that config)
    2. Heaven Benchamrk 1.0v (runs fine in that config)
    3. ATI Lady Bug Demo (runs fine in that config)

    Now .... what fixes the problem is to switch the 5870 to the bottom slot. Making the (Non-reference) Sapphire 5850 the main card.

    But of course there is a problem with that......Why would I have bought a 5870 then? I wanted the 5870 to be there in-case of a situation where Crossfire was not available. So the 5870 as of right now is a waist of money in my situation.

    Thing I have tried to fix this problem besides switching the 5870 to the bottom.....
    1. Multiple Driver switches and installs
    2. Clean Windows 7 Installs twice
    3. Returned the first 5850 which was an XFX
    4. Reapplied thermal paste to video cards
    5. BIOS update to everything (If available.)
    6. MS Hotfix DDI 10.1 to DDI 11
    7. Just upgraded my MOB & PSU
    8. Tested each card By themselves...(Which both ran fine by themselves)
    9. Different Crossfire Bridges
    10. Waiting for a response from ATI and also from Heaven Benchamrk
    11. Made Sure cards were not running too hot
    12. Tried 10.5 beta drivers.
    13. Made sure I had all of the APP profiles.
    14. Cards and Hardware Visual inspection.

    And other things......

    My thing is though...... there are allot of people having this same problem. And all you get when asking for help from Diamond or Sapphire is..... Well we have never heard of anything like this. Which is BS because I know people are reporting it.

    The funny thing is too..... if you even mention this problem on ATI's Forums.... they will right away lock the post and shut it down. Even if you are being very polite. ATI know's there is a problem.

    I just wish I had a bigger platform to get noticed on this. Because I no there would be allot of other people willing to speak up on this problem too.

    Check out Googling this problem once..... there are a lot of post's and threads about it!

    But if anyone has an idea what is causing this problem.... please feel free to take a crack at it.

    Also a side question on this....if you people would have to guess.... would you say it is Hardware or Driver related?

    Thanks.....
  13. Bo$$

    Bo$$

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,206 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    836
    Location:
    London, UK
    the Cards got a newer bios revison?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,751 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    819
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    the Diamond 5870 has their latest BIOS.... I haven't tried another brand.

    And the Sapphire has the only available for this card (Except the Toxic BIOS which I am not sure that I could flash this card with even thought they share the same PCB)
  15. Rik55

    Rik55 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    54 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
  16. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,751 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    819
    Location:
    Midwest USA
  17. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Funny enough this version gives me the "d3d11 AppWindow::do swap(): device removed" error :shadedshu
  18. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,751 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    819
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    That's the same error I have been receiving the whole time with this problem on Heaven Benchmark 2.0 and now 2.1. Which was the same error I recieved before I had DX11 video card Installed with vista

    Possibly this whole thing is a Microsoft error.

    BTW I was just about to report this version doesn't work either.
  19. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    What makes things worst is this Heaven 2.1 doesn't do Tessellation on openGL as it claims.
    :nutkick:Unigine
    TBH, this Heaven crap doen't look very well coded to me either.
  20. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,751 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    819
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Yeah Me either!! I'm getting sick of this crap....

    I never thought I would be saying this ever.... but I am really thinking about... switching to the green team.

    I mean I am not thinking about this lightly either..... I stuck through with them......even when the 2900XT was around.

    But this I think might be getting too much. I am going to give a couple of days and let some things play out before I make a hasty decision though.
  21. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,156 (13.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,607
    When was the last time you reinstalled your O/S? This is DirectX shennanigans for sure.
  22. Rik55

    Rik55 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    54 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    HD5 series Tesselation on OpenGL works with OpenGL4 Final, which Is in Cat10.5-8.731


    PS: some nvidia 400 series in SLI get the d3d11 AppWindow error aswell. Tesselation is very gpu heavy. Resoved with slight increase in memory voltage with a slight reduction in mem clock speed usually fixed the issue.
    Last edited: May 25, 2010
  23. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,156 (13.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,607
    But I'm not having problems using 10.4's.:confused:
  24. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,751 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    819
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Actually this is a brand new OS.... I upgraded a tone of stuff after I got my taxes back.

    I went from a EVGA P55 LE to a MSI P55-GD65. A Corsair 750 TX to a Corsair 850 HX and bought the 5850.

    I also got a new copy of windows 7 home Premium 64 bit.

    I have installed it two more times since I noticed the problem. Included trying the DX11 DDI 10.1 Hotfix.

    I also tried the cards on my other MOB same problem.

    That is why I am just out of answers...... I hate to give the impression.... that I don't need the help..... by me keeping on saying "I tried that" "I tried that"

    Because the help is all appreciated keep it coming..... but..... seriously I have tried a tone of stuff.

    Even switching brands of 5850's on a return. From XFX to Sapphire.

    The only thing I can think of is that it is a Reference/ Non reference thing.

    Either that or god hates me LOL :laugh:
  25. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Still Unigine's fault even if you are right
    Cat 10.4 = latest stable drivers
    http://unigine.com/download/
    [​IMG]

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page