1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Daemon tools messed up laptop

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by donttrustevery1, Jan 20, 2009.

  1. donttrustevery1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    108 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Hey,

    I downloaded an iso image and I went to go download daemon's tools to read it on my dell inspiron 1720 and when prompted to restart, I did. When vista came around to boot up it blue screened. I tryed to do system restore but then it still kept on bluescreening. Then I figured windows was corrupt by then so I reformatted my harddrive and went to go reinstall vista and it can't finish the installation. It will reach 100% on expanding files and then it will pop up with an error message and make me restart. I tried reinstalling the vista disc that came with my laptop, vista disc that i own, a vista x64, and they all do the same thing. Then I made a XP SP3 disc and that can't find any harddrives. I am really out of ideas and need some advice. :banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:
  2. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,606 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    -.- did u even try to boot in safe mode 1st?

    as for fixing your problem i have no idea's atm.
  3. donttrustevery1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    108 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    yeah it was stable in safe mode for the most part
  4. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,606 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    did u acutaly format or just try to install over the top?
  5. donttrustevery1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    108 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    i tried both :(
  6. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,606 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    what was the error message it gave you?
  7. donttrustevery1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    108 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    ummm im not sure something about something being offline. The next step is install updates and thats were its screws up. I'll reinstall again and post the exact message.
  8. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,606 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    if it asks you, say no to updating... or yes if u already said no before.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page