1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

damn amd uninstaller killed my pc

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by theoneandonlymrk, Jun 23, 2013.

  1. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,413 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    Right so I tried a bad driver and tried to remove it with amds uninstaller this pulled tooo many drivers and my pc would bsd every boot.
    I eventually got into safe mode and have it booting now but it looks like my usb and Southbridge drivers aren't installed because my keyboard and mouse are not working at all also in safe mode now so I can do nothing to fix it, any ideas.
     
  2. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    What about doing a clean install?
     
  3. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,413 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    I could and I am on the edge of it but would rather not so I thought id ask Tpu first :).
     
  4. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,666 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,324
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Does the keyboard work when you try to get into the BIOS? Are you absolutely certain it is software? For example, try popping in your Windows install disc and see if they work. If they do you'll need a clean install, however it sounds very weird that AMD would have pulled that much during the uninstallation.

    If this were my own rig and it got to this point, I would be trying a clean install.
     
  5. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    Try connect via PS2 connection? I always run at least 1 through that, usually the Kb
     
  6. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,413 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    Thanks for the replys, I have tried a ps2 keyboard and the installer disk and all the keyboards and mice work in bios and whilst booted to my win7 setup disk just not my ssd boot or its safemode thats why im outa ideas?.
     
  7. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,761 (5.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,293
    maybe create a partition if you can and install on that to test
     
  8. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,952 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,787
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Go into safe mode, get a USB keyboard/mouse, and unplug/plug them in. Windows should see a plug and play device was connected and install generic drivers for it. That should get you functional enough to fix the problem. When in doubt, driver rollback.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Huguito

    Huguito New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2013
    Messages:
    23 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    in my house
    the thing with AMD uninstaller is that "cleans" EVRYTHING amd realted from your machine, including chipset drivers and whatnot..

    maybe it erased something important from your system
     
  10. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,761 (5.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,293
    sounds like it took out the usb controller device drivers, but id thought windows would replace them at startup.
     
  11. jihadjoe

    jihadjoe

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    392 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Safe mode in with a PS/2 keyboard and sysprep the thing.
     
  12. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,911 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,596
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    If you used the tool in Windows 8, do not do it again. I'll never use it for that very reason, even though my desktop is still on Win7.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  13. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,413 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    Yeah it should but it isn't im going to have to clean install !damn yoou bill Gates!

    Cheers for the help I did try everything you said guys thanks
     
  14. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,265 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    448
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    I would run the hardware installation disc again.
    Reinstall the USB drivers with that.
    Reinstall it all to be safe.
    Or try a system restore to a date before u ran the AMD thing.
     
  15. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Doubtful it would cause a BSOD fella. You have no specs liste including what OS your running. Win7 should have the neccesary drivers to boot.
     
  16. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,893 (13.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,297
    Why is that?

    System works fine...

    Uses the (problematic) AMD uninstall utility

    Gets BSOD's

    I wonder what caused the BSOD's? lol.

    No, I don't wonder, it's the AMD uninstall utility. Junk.
     
  17. Divide Overflow

    Divide Overflow

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    198 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    They stated that they used a bad driver which caused the need for the uninstaller in the first place.
    Doesn't sound like their system was fine.

    If they used the uninstall program which only supports Windows 7 on their Windows 8 install, it's more an issue of user error rather than a junk program.
     
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2013
  18. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,884 (4.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,110
    thanks, now ive been warned of this nuiscance.


    nvidia isnt far behind on the crap train. their drivers are impossible to get rid off if you dont have an nvidia card :s
     
  19. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,413 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    The driver was the recently posted new beta which was shaded in doubt but did work.
    And its as erocker says , thats my first and last use of amd un installation utility simples.
     
  20. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,933 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    475
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    Last time I did this I had to put in the Windows install disk and restore to an earlier point...
    I can't believe AMD hasn't fixed this yet...
     
  21. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,413 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    I don't exactly know why I had no restore point but I will this time and damn if I don't bacup someday too.
     
  22. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,893 (13.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,297
    Was this in win 7 or 8?
     
  23. techtard

    techtard

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    930 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    I don't get how people run into problems with the uninstaller. I've been using them for years and haven't run into any problems.
    I don't have Win8 though, maybe it's a problem with the new OS?
     
  24. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,413 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    Win7 and these things happen.
     
  25. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,559 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    954
    Are you talking about the one that comes with the driver or the "atiman" one? If it's the atiman one it's pretty well known for not being compatible with AMD systems. It removes the drivers the cpu and chipset need. Unfortunately there continues to be a need sometimes for super clean driver installs but I've never seen a good option for double AMD systems because of how hard it is to separate registry entries and such for the two.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page