1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Darn those Radeon

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by MRCL, Jun 23, 2008.

  1. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,791 (2.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    Weeeell, I just picked up my gap-graphics card today, because my old radeon x600 finally went to the land of the ancient.

    However, my new GPU is a HIS HD 2600 Pro. Installed it today, and though it is a card so that I can work on my pc, I was curious to see how she would do in 3d. So I made the test with Prey, Portal, and Trackmania Nations. While playing Prey and Portal, I experienced irregular system crashes, soem followed by shut down, some followed by this nice screen here. Not only does that error message occure, somehow also the screen resolution sets back to 1025x768 instead of the 1280x1024 I have set.

    Odd enough, same happens while playing TMN. Now first, the GPU worked with the CD-drivers that came with it. I decieded to install the newest ATI drivers as well, with no result.

    Now my question is, why does this happen. Maybe I have to add, that I set up windows completely new today, but on a HD wich was previously used as file storage. Might that have an influence? Or what else could it be... I'm kinda confused now facing the fact that my three years old x600 dind't cause any errors, and the new one...

    Ideas, anybody? Thanks in advance...
     
  2. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,942 (4.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,622
    you have to remove the old drivers before installing the new ones using driver cleaner which is on driverheaven.net follow directions to the bone. If this system is AGP id suggest reinstalling the GART driver for the AGP slot, if its PCI express i am unsure if there is an equivalent driver to that slot, but the other point. Also another Thing VPU recovery was a measure to prevent system locking if there is a major problem which appears to be a driver problem when you installed the new drivers. VPU recovery is designed to reset the graphics settings, which also includes the monitor.
     
    MRCL says thanks.
  3. craigo

    craigo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    665 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Australia
    MRCL says thanks.
  4. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,791 (2.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    Thanks until now, lets see what happens...
     
  5. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,791 (2.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    Okay, update. I set up windows a second time, and installed directly the newest drivers from ati homepage for the card. But that problem happens again... this time, add Earth2160 to the list. Now what to do.
     
  6. Rurouni Strife New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    124 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    google the ativagg.dll error. i didnt type it right, because i dont know the exact error message but it happens with some of their drivers/cards/ whatever. I've had it happen once, probably more but i'm not a patient man so i just reset my pc when it appears to hard lock.

    I'm sure someone on the fourms here can give you better insight than I can.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page