1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

DayZ (Mod for ARMA II: OAH) Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by erocker, May 21, 2012.

  1. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,975 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,401
    It did restart around 4am. If your car is there, you're a luck sob. My truck is out getting humped by some other car most likely.
     
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,778 (9.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,239
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    No I stole it back this morning around 10AM and its parked well.... somewere safe so if it leaves this time I will know the server is def not saving.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. catnipkiller

    catnipkiller

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,494 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    canada
    lets forget about the cars and have death matches in electro!
     
    erocker says thanks.
  4. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,313 (7.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,795
    Sounds like CoD now.
     
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,975 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,401
    Pretty much. Another Monday and no news on a patch. All we get is Rocket's twitter feed claiming dogs are hard.

    READ THIS AND RESPOND:

    1.7.2.5 or 1.7.2.4 again?

    Let me know.


    Every time you post in this thread I facepalm myself hard. I'm starting to get a bloody nose now...
     
  6. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,778 (9.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,239
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I hate to say it but I believe you were right! 1.7.2.4 is what we may need to stick with until 1.7.3 is released. We WILL get hit with less traffic though.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,975 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,401
    Possible setbacks from "downgrading"

    -Vehicles may go back to their spawns (this might be fun for something to do)

    -We'll all probablly spawn on the coast.

    -Gear and tents should save with the transition.

    I won't make any changes until tomorrow at least.
     
  8. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,778 (9.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,239
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I would say go ahead and do it on next server restart (the one this afternoon I guess?)

    Also!! for those who are plagued with the graphical glitches I have found a temp cure! When you start getting them, stop and hit escape key to bring up menu then hit ALT+Enter to go windowed mode then ALT+Enter again to go back full screen and BAM! no more glitches for a while. Found it out this morning trolling reddit.
     
    erocker says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,975 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,401
    I want others to chime in as well. It will be tomorrow morning if we decide to change.

    Thanks for the glitch tip! Much better than exiting the game all together. :toast:
     
  10. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,778 (9.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,239
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Yea I used it quite a few times this morning in stary, NW AF, Balota, and cherno. It worked every time.

    *Edit*

    Pretty neat non hive server I found

    72.5.195.229:2302

    DayZ ATOMIC GAMING[NON HIVE]|*[SERVER 1]*|[100+ VEHICHLES][95883/1.7.2.5][Regular](www.atomicgn.com)[WORKING VEHICLE INVENTORIES
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. ChaoticG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    381 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    You are going to lose player base again if you downgrade. I know you were ancy that last time no one was playing after you downgraded, and that's why you put back the latest release.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,975 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,401
    Why are you telling me what I obviously know already? :laugh:

    This is why I'm asking the people that play on the server... YOU!
     
  13. DEFEATEST

    DEFEATEST

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    372 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25

    I believe in his interview he said when the stand alone comes out it will be locked down so no modding then. I think it's ok to now.....
     
  14. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,975 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,401
    Nope. When the standalone comes out, the mod will be opened up to more mods and configurations.. I just wish they'd let us do this now.
     
  15. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,338 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,376
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    You might be thinking of him talking about Scripting being gone.
     
  16. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,715 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    300
    i agree with a downgrade. The 1.7.2.5 version is still buggy as all hell. And the scripting can not be removed since the scripting is how the ArmA engine does everything.
     
  17. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,778 (9.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,239
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Wished I could figure out how to setup a private hive server like the one I posted earlier.

    It has to be one of the best well maintained monitored server I have ever been on. They have 100 vehicles total and I only found one. Its not too drastic in regular when you spawn you get a hatchet and compass. They also have side chat (server chat) enabled but you cannot use your mic or you will get banned. They have FULL control of the server and can do what they need too. Why can't the dev's take a look at servers like this and think about the BIG picture.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,975 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,401
    So.. should I just ditch this server and we can all play on a private hive?

    Btw, Ural is gone and the Jeep is gone.
     
    Sir B. Fannybottom says thanks.
  19. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,973 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,240
    Do this!
     
  20. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,715 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    300
    It would be interesting if we could figure out how to set one up though. After all, the mod is going standalone.
     
  21. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,778 (9.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,239
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I am saying we should all try to figure out how to do this. hell loading speeds were phenomenal! I was in the game in under 20 seconds.

    I am not saying ditch the server but do research on this private hive.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,973 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,240
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2013
  23. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,975 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,401
    Buy a very powerful computer and the best internet connection you can buy. Setup a server. This cannot be done through an official hosting company that I use.

    I just want to know if people from here will be playing on the server I currently pay for. If not, no need to have it anymore. :(

    I presonally like to play the game the way it is meant to be played. I don't really care for most of these non hive servers just so I can spawn with beanz and use hacks. Lame.
     
  24. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,778 (9.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,239
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Yes we want to play with how its meant to be played but that doesn't involve non saving cars tents and player spawns along with limited access to server settings.

    I guess our best bet is to just downgrade like you mentioned earlier and wait for 1.7.3

    I don't think this is how they have it setup. They are using a dedicated xeon machine that allows for all stuff to be saved locally and this includes players/vehicles/tents


    You're right! It was there this morning when I stole the car back. They took it all!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,975 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,401
    Alright, I'm reverting the server back to 1.7.2.4 and I will make a thread in the official DayZ forum to "advertise" the server.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page