1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

DD-WRT more powerful than ever!

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by [I.R.A]_FBi, Jun 8, 2008.

  1. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    ddwrt 2.4 brings new features and funtionality. i suggest you upgrade now!
  2. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    openWRT is alot more "powerfull" even whiterussian

    <3 whiterussian + X-Wrt
  3. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    im still waiting for full support of the gigabit switch on my wrt600n. it's sitting in my closet until they get it figured out. all my other routers are using v24 currently.
  4. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    do you think they will ever fix ipkg?
  5. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    openwrt only runs on certain routers. most only being the wireless g routers that are broadcom based only.

    dd-wrt supports almost every half way decent wlan ic out. it supports wireless a, g, and n. and is contantly being developed to run on more and more equipment. it can even be run on a computer with multiple ethernet and wireless cards as well as WISP rap/router boards with multiple radios.
  6. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,398 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    I have a Netgear WNDR3300 and I wanted to know how I could put the ddwrt firmware on (I check the supported hardware list and it is there)

  7. richardsmth New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well….there are many ways of getting to a solution…may be the one you say is not the most appropriate one….but whatever….;-)
  8. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    DL both the micro and the possibly the regular version of v24 either for your router or the generic form dd-wrt's site.

    then go into your router and go to the update firmware page.

    YOU MUST DO THIS WITH A WIRED CONNECTION!

    hit browse and find the micro build of v24 and let the router update to it.

    wait a few minutes and log back into the router. you should now see dd-wrt on the router. if not hard reset your router for 10 sec.
    dark2099 says thanks.
  9. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,398 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Much thanks. Is there and advantage of the micro version over the regular version, or is the micro version just easier to install?
  10. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    micro version is smaller and therefor fits in 2mb of flash space, some newer routers have only 2mb of flash space [industrys attempt to point out that people in general are not intelgent]

    it got smaller by removeing a bunch of things, it works,... if you only have 2mb of flash space i suggest useing it, else use a normal release

    omg need ipkg :(
    dark2099 says thanks.
  11. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
  12. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
  13. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
  14. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    dead link
  15. CarolinaKSU New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    443 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    I tried DD-WRT for my WRT300N and it made it run like a dog. Connections I used to have that wouldn't get below 243mbps and an excellent signal turned into a good to low signal with ~100mbps. I got frustrated with it and went back to the stock firmware, but that was a few months ago.. maybe with the new revision it might be worth a try again.
  16. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    oh hey its you again! :p man, WRT300n, omfg if you wanna spend some real money and get something that is worth every single cent of your money and can support any wifi that exists and will ever exist [so long as they make mini pci cards for it] get an avila gateworks router, they are the king of openWRT

    by wifi i mean like, A, B, G, N or whatever the future holds.
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2008

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page