1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

DDR MAX Voltage

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Demos_sav, Aug 18, 2007.

  1. Demos_sav

    Demos_sav New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    877 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Cyprus
    Hey guys.I was wondering what is the max voltage anyone has seen for DDR? I just edited my P4C800'S Deluxe bios from 2.85V max to 3.0V. Have you seen any higher than that?

    BTW: If anyone wants me to mod his AMI bios then shoot me with a pm:D
     
  2. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,111 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    246
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    3.6-3.9 for BH-5/6

    Probably 3.3ish for TCCD/regular DDR.

    You'll start to see large diminishing returns after 3v though unless otherwise specified above ^^
     
  3. Demos_sav

    Demos_sav New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    877 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Cyprus
    When you say BH5-6 you mean their chips, right? I don't know what chips they have but I have the Crucial Ballistixs:D
     
  4. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,111 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    246
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    Crucial = subdivision of Micron.

    Ballistix have always used micron chips because of this ;)

    Winbond made the BH series.

    Samsung makes the TCCx series.
     
  5. Demos_sav

    Demos_sav New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    877 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Cyprus
    So what is my ram's max and safe voltage?

    Also, english isn't my native language. So, what is the meaning of the word diminishing?:p
     
  6. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,111 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    246
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    Diminishing- +.2v may get you 100mhz, but +.2v more may only fetch you 50Mhz extra. Doesn't scale.


    I would say 3.1-3.2V perhaps. I'm not positive as I haven't dealt with Micron ram a whole lot, but its probably some pretty strong stuff considering its in the ballistix stuff and people like to torture it.

    I would be sure to COOL it with anything above 3V.

    For 24/7 stability I would say 3.0-3.1v. Won't give you insane speeds, but is most definately in the safe range.
     
    Demos_sav says thanks.
  7. kureng

    kureng New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    100 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    for DDR2 6400, what is the max voltage?

    im using AMD64 X2...
     
  8. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,111 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    246
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    No idea what DDR2/3 cap out at. I haven't been able to throughly enjoy torturing enough of it yet :roll:
     
  9. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    17,588 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,346
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Depends again on chips....highest I have heard of is 2.6V.....mine stock at 2.2V and for 1170Mhz I need 2.35V thru them....cooled of course but I would go no higher than that.
     
  10. kureng

    kureng New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    100 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    currently using corsair xms2 ddr2 6400c4... now voltage 2.2V on 900Mhz... anyone have gone higher?
     
  11. Demos_sav

    Demos_sav New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    877 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Cyprus
    The ASUS Commando motherboard can go up to 3.3V for DDR2:eek:. Although you must use some aircooling over 2.5V or watercooling over 3V (Yes, watercooling for ram DOES exist)
     
  12. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    17,588 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,346
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Yes me in the post above......:D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page