1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

DDR2 1066MHz or DDR3 1066MHz?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by de.das.dude, Jul 19, 2010.

?

Choose:

  1. DDR2 1066MHz

    14 vote(s)
    27.5%
  2. DDR3 1066MHz

    37 vote(s)
    72.5%
  1. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,519 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,948
    which gives better performance DDR@ 1066 or the DDR3??




    i mean in price and everything. no overclocking necessary though.


    im worried about ddr3 timings
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2010
  2. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,479 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Title needs to be changed, but it depends on the platform. Are we talking about your rig here?
  3. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,424 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,357
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Changed title, not enough info to give an accurate answer or vote, if the timings are the same then on a Socket 775 system performance should be pretty much the same, if you were using the DDR3 on an i7 System then the memory would be running in triple channel (providing you had 3, 6 or 12GB) and therefore would be quicker.

    The main point of DDR3 is that many should run much quicker than the capabilities of DDR2, so personally I would never only run them at 1066mhz but that may be motherboard dependant if not overclocking the CPU.
  4. rammedst

    rammedst New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    25 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Down under
    I only responded with DDR-II because it *generally* has lower latencies.
    de.das.dude says thanks.
  5. Magikherbs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    366 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    Last week, I just went from 4gb ddr2 800 5-5-5-18/ Asrock A785GM/LE-128M, to my current config. My benchmarks are the same and a little worse than my ddr2 sys, using Passmark, 3dmark06 and Win Exp rating. :eek:
    I thought my new and much better quality mobo, ram and power supply would score much better. From what I understand, the higher latencies and FSB:DRAM ratio, was 1:2 now 3:10 or similar... are slowing me down.
    btw.. I am running 1333mhz b/c 1600 adds about 10C to my Cpu/Vcore idle/load temps.:banghead:
    see pic for Sisandra warnings about latency and security. any advice on these would really help. :twitch:
    Peace !

    Attached Files:

    de.das.dude says thanks.
  6. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,057 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    897
    ddr3, usually has more room to overclock
    de.das.dude says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. mdsx1950

    mdsx1950 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,107 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    In a gaming world :D
    DDR3! Future proof and most likely faster than the DDR2 Ram you got in mind.
    de.das.dude says thanks.
  8. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,359 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    551
    Location:
    AZ
    I vote ddr3 1600 is better, but I'm wierd like that
    de.das.dude says thanks.
  9. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,773 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,853
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Here's DDR3...
    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

    de.das.dude says thanks.
  10. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,722 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,867
    I say go with DDR3 for a few reasons:

    • Future Proof - No explaination need here.
    • Greater Overclocking Potential - Most DDR2-1066 isn't going to go muich higher, maybe 1100MHz. However, most DDR3-1066 can probably run at least 1333.
    • Lower Voltage - Generally DDR3-1066 runs at 1.5v, while DDR2-1066 is probably at 2.0-2.1v(some run lower, but most are specced for 2.0-2.1v). On the DDR2, that is pretty much the limit of voltage you can put through it safely. However, on DDR3 1.65v is safe without a problem. So there is probably still overvolt headroom on the DDR3 sticks, which also will likely lead to some more overclock headroom also.
    de.das.dude says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,057 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    897
    Agreed √
    Most will do that and some will do more, like my 1066 do 2100√
    Again true lower voltage is nice √
    de.das.dude says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,479 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    You just wanted to use your 'ticks' didn't you?

    ;)
    de.das.dude says thanks.
  13. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,057 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    897
    Yup :)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,074 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,292
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    I will go with DDR3 1066. I agree it should be lower voltage, assuming all other specs match, so it should run cooler.

    Odd comparison as DDR3 at a lower speed than 1333 Mhz is rather limited in availability. Future proof is more of the mobo feature than the RAM, especially since the speed will be fairly limiting with future upgrades.

    Overclock headroom is a plus as the DDR3's primary defining characteristic is the increase in clock speed over DDR2 which hit its proverbial wall at 1200 Mhz. Any higher than that couldn't be kept stable without extreme cooling or over-voltage failure.
    de.das.dude says thanks.
  15. ZenEffect New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    622 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    generally speaking yes, however there are quite a few kits that were out that could do +1200 24/7 @ their rated 2.2v

    besides bandwidth is not always about mhz alone :p

    i vote ddr2 because there are some really fun times to be had when overclocking ddr2. with ddr3 you hit 20k everest and everything else after that is kind of bland.
    de.das.dude says thanks.
  16. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,074 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,292
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    At the peek of DDR2's life I can only recall a hand full of kits that advertised 1200 Mhz default clock speed and even fewer that would OC beyond it.

    Still a moot point as DDR2 at 2.2V straining to maintain 1300 Mhz speed with high timing, will be quickly be outclassed by DDR3 RAM who's stock speed is much higher with virtually lower timing.

    I digress, he asked about the two at the speed of 1066 and at the same speed, and same specs, with virtually identical timing (DDR3 is calculated on a different scale), the only significant difference will be voltage/temp being lower on DDR3.
  17. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,519 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,948
    this closes 21st july!! keep the posts coming!!
  18. mm67

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    140 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Location:
    Finland
    [​IMG]

    That's DDR2 running at 1236 MHz with 1.8 V. My G.Skill Trident set.
    de.das.dude says thanks.
  19. ZenEffect New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    622 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
  20. Magikherbs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    366 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    Is the speed gain being nulled by the increase in my FSB to DRAM ratio ?
    My 550be running @ DDR2 800 5-5-5-18 = 1 : 4 , @ DDR3 1333 9 9 9 24 = 3 : 10. Both configs scored almost identical results with Passmark 4200 memory mark , 3dmark06 11,200 and Windows 7 Exp rating 7.4.
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2010
    de.das.dude says thanks.
  21. Rakesh95 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    205 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    The poll results are quite surprising.
  22. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,519 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,948
    ^ rakesh roshan? LOL
  23. Rakesh95 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    205 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    lol nah man, I was born in Chennai, I live is Aus. :toast:


    Oh yeah, im running my ddr3 RAM from 1333 to 1536, pretty nice jump if you ask me.
  24. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,424 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,357
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    That to some degree however depends to a certain extent on platform and the apps your running.

    And thats the point exactly, most DDR3 kits are capable of that, for example, you can buy a very cheap value kit of 1333mhz crucial's that don't even have heat spreaders that will do 1800mhz, now you might get a few kits of DDR2 800's that do 1200mhz but none of them will do 1400+, then of course you get down to the bandwidth versus latency question which does pretty much depend on apps and platform, some apps love raw speed but see little improvements in performance from tighter timings, others vice versa, as for platform..... I7 does enjoy high bandwidth and you will see a greater performance increase from 2000mhz @ CL9 than say 1600mhz @ CL7...... with the odd exception of course.
  25. Magikherbs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    366 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    That makes sense ! Running DDR3 @ 1333 or 1600mhz, benchmarks score the same as DDR2. :shadedshu While at the same time, Windows is alot more snappier. New windows and dialog boxes materialize and animate much more dramatically. And fresh install also took record time, under 25mins, will time it next time. Btw.. NFS Shift is flawless at HQ max res settings ! soo tripped :wtf:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page