1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

DDR2 1066MHz or DDR3 1066MHz?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by de.das.dude, Jul 19, 2010.

?

Choose:

  1. DDR2 1066MHz

    14 vote(s)
    27.5%
  2. DDR3 1066MHz

    37 vote(s)
    72.5%
  1. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    It will if you install it from a USB memory stick if you're not already.
     
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,220 (11.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,520
    DDR2 will give better performance due to timings, but DDR3 is easier short and long term.

    running 4x sticks of DDR2 @ 1066MHz can be quite difficult on many systems, whereas the same with DDR3 is a walk in the park (and at MUCH lower voltages - so zero overheating concerns)


    oh and yeah, flash drive method ftw... i tend to have 7 installed in under 15 minutes, and ready and gaming (thanks to my dedicated games drive) in less than 30m from a fresh format.
     
    Magikherbs says thanks.
  3. Magikherbs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    366 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    nope.. Im still using the DVD drive. Dont use images and/or flash drives... yet. My old ddr2 config would take 2-3 hours for a full install/driver,os updates/os tweeks. Wundows :roll: update uuugghh !! lol Now its about an hour.
     
  4. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,652 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,019
    wat an awsome thread i hav started. this thing is really confusing!
     
  5. Magikherbs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    366 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    nothing confusing about the benefits of ddr3 ! :slap:
    just need to read between the sub topics :twitch:

    p E A C e
     
  6. demonbrawn

    demonbrawn New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,006 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Kentucky
    Btw, can I just point out have futile it is to say any computer hardware is "future proof"? There is no such thing anymore. Only future resistant.
     
  7. Magikherbs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    366 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    My PII 550 was bottlenecking the ram ! At stock cpu 3.1ghz my memory would score about 900 on Passmark. Ive been Oc'd @3.5ghz, 1.3v, for the past 2 weeks and now and the scores are now 1030 hehe .. the performance boost is quite noticeable even though all Ive done is up the CPU multiplier. :rolleyes:
    DDR3 ALL THE WAY !

    Peace
     
  8. DaveK

    DaveK

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,889 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    I'm gonna go ahead and hit you with...DDR3.
     
    Magikherbs says thanks.
  9. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,998 (7.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,544
    FYI my mobo can do DDR2 1300 all long with the right RAM. Its one of my mobos selling points.

    [​IMG]
     
  10. Magikherbs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    366 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    Ive read the bottleneck starts at about 1000mhz, ddr2 or 3. That explains why goining to DDR3 did not show much if any performance boost. Even UAC is waay speedier lol
     
  11. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,652 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,019
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,220 (11.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,520
    just because your mobo offers 1300MHz DDR2, doesnt mean its going to be easy. you have to OC to reach it, and you're only going to be able to do it witjh specific ram in two of the four slots of your board.


    if you think it will be easy and that you can do it with 4 sticks, read the manual/specs more carefully - you've been duped by marketing.
     
  13. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,652 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,019
    i know that very well, amd CPUs dot really support OC ing in all 4 slots. and hey, i just use only one slot now.
     
  14. Magikherbs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    366 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    When using the two dimms closest to the cpu, it is vital to have ram coolers w/ fans. The cpu has no room to breathe and depending on you tower/cirulation, your temps will drop at least 5-10C when you keep them vacant. Its also a bit odd that Asus recommends using dimms 0 and 1, then later mentions that dimms 3 and 4 are for better OC. Btw dimms 0 and 1 are set closest to the cpu which also makes me wonder lol.
    Considering there is really no price difference, why no go DDR3 ? AM3 cpu's memory controllers run default DDR3 @1333mhz. DDR2 is 800, anything more you risk burning out your cpu. OC the cpu, not the memory.
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2010
  15. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,552 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,644
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    DDR2-1066, because usually DDR2-1066 kits have lower latencies than DDR3-1066 kits (5-5-5-15 vs. 7-7-7-20)
     
  16. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,652 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,019
    you guys know what?? i am still using DDR2 667 oc'd to 800MHz and i still dont feel the need to upgrade to 1066MHz./ anything.


    i think the full potential of DDR3 will not be required in another 4years(maybe less). Till then DDR2 is good to go.
     
  17. Magikherbs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    366 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    My ddr2 800 system scored the same as my new ddr3 gear, until I oc'd the cpu. While I was expecting the obvious jump in cpu scores, the memory scores surprised me abit b/c I did not think they would change much, if any.
    I wish I had a Phenom II x4 to test with.
    Is the cpu speed causing the bottleneck ? Or is it b/c Im only running 2 cores ?
    If you are running a similar config as mine, I want to know what your Passmark memory and cpu scores are. At stock cpu 3.1ghz, appox. Passmark Cpu 2150, Memory 900.
    Logic tells me, if the cpu speed is the cause, then those w/ 3-6 cores should be scoring about the same on the memory, as those w/ 2.
     
  18. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,220 (11.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,520
    running two cores is very likely, the cores DO share ram.

    so 1600MHz ram has its bandwidth shared between your cores - you've got 1/3 the amount of cores i do, so you'd have a lot more room to spare before running into a bottlebeck there.

    good observation tho, hadnt really occured to me before now.
     
  19. Magikherbs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    366 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    What cpu and memory scores do you get running Passmark ? DDR2 or 3, but both would be nice lol...
    I am considering upping my oc to 3.7, soon, so we'll see if the memory performance boost stays constant. And with my crazy low temps, idle/load cpu was only 31/42C last night heh... who knows I may try for more :p
     

    Attached Files:

  20. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,205 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,691
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    DDR2 1066 is faster, but i would go DDR3 1066 or >. Just remember DDR2-1066 is just overclocked DDR2-800. Most if not all DDR2 kits will have to be manual set in BIOS from 800 to 1066.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page