1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

DDR2 4X1GB or 2x2GB

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by extr3me, Jul 17, 2009.

  1. extr3me

    extr3me New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Lithuania
    Which is better option when the specifications are the same or is there no difference at all?
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,944 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,364
    2x2GB is better cause it lets you go 4x2GB later :)

    Thats about it really.
  3. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    660
    Location:
    South Carolina
    2x2 is better.
    Less slots populated on your motherboard.
    Some boards have problems with all 4 slots being populated.
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,944 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,364
    the problem with four slots being populated is that many boards require higher northbridge (aka MCH) voltages set in the BIOS when overclocking, and in some cases (intel P35 chipset) they need the higher volts to even boot.

    However, this is really a minor issue in most cases.

    There are reasons to go the lesser amount of sticks, but they're not huge things. If you can get 4GB in 1GB sticks cheaper and dont plan to go 8GB, go for that.
  5. raptori

    raptori

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    634 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    2x2GB for sure ....... and if you managed to overclock it it'll be better than 4x1GB
  6. extr3me

    extr3me New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    187 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Lithuania
    Nice info
  7. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,100 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    562
    You'll need about .04 more volts on a P45 board, given that the board has good support for 4 loaded dimm slots. You'll also reduce latencey a little with 2x2 compared to 1x4 given the same settings.
  8. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,495 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,910
  9. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,201 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,089
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Which IC's do all of those 1200MHz 1.8v sticks use?
  10. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,495 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,910
    Not sure, they are newer. I believe the newer OCZ blade series use the same. 1300mhz+ should be attainable.
  11. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,201 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,089
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Yeah I've seen those. I'd like to know what IC's they are, because they certainly aren't Micron D9s. They probably are higher binned Elipedia or Hynix or something and don't scale with voltage. That's what I've seen with higher-end kits nowadays anyway. They stopped putting D9's in the high-clocked stuff.
  12. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,100 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    562
    They probably use Elpida similar to what are in the blades as I think they are the only ones making ddr2 ones at this time.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page