1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dead caps on 7600gt

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by freaksavior, Apr 15, 2010.

  1. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,071 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    908
    So I got a 7600gt and 3 caps blew. I want to know which ones I need to get to fix it.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Tried googling the numbers ontop of the blown ones?
     
  3. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    I MIGHT have some spare ones... from a mainboard though... They are of Rubycon and Nichicon type which are notoriously reliable.

    6.3V 1500uF would be the replacement cap ratings.

    Make that 6 6.3V 1500uF Tall ones though.
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  4. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,218 (5.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,571
    Location:
    Florida
    Remember your polarities bro
     
  5. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,071 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    908
    Well if you have some pm me :) other wise link me :) and Chris, i have. It doesn't pull any info up. Just other users reporting their EVGA 7600GT with blown caps.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    I don't really have the tools to remove the caps off this dead mainboard (mainboard might be dead or it might be the CPU who knows)... I could try with just a regular solder'n iron if you want?
     
  7. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,071 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    908
    Thats all you need to do anyway. just use a soldering iron, heat the ends up and 'gently' pull
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,211 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,749
    Location:
    S.Cali
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,071 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    908
    :) id send you whatever the i had left from the 10 for the caps ;)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    You should be able to get those at radioshak they aren't like crazy caps
     
  11. robn

    robn New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    180 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    UK
    Bottom right of first picture is 470uF 16V also.

    For caps you have to get the Farad value spot on (1500uF and 470uF) in your case, but Voltage values just need to be "at least". In other words 20V rated caps with the right F values would be fine here. Type of cap (electrolytic, "solid", etc.) doesn't matter, though electrolytics have polarities as Solaris says ...they splode the wrong way round, or over volted.
     
  12. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,071 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    908
    I went to radio shack, they didn't have any 1500's
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,211 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,749
    Location:
    S.Cali
    Oh yeah, using the money for new caps! that's perfect:toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    try ebay they always have cheap stuff like this on there, also I would definatelt get ones that are rated higher because obviously those arent cutting it
     
  15. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,071 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    908
    I dont mean to be rude guys, but when i look for caps, there are so many. Can someone link me to them?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. jaydeee

    jaydeee New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    54 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    same issue here!
    I actually posted it on my blog >> windriver.blogspot.com see what happened to my video card caps.

    Is this really possible to replace it and work again? guess it will not be easy as its a dual sided board if I am not mistaken.
     
  17. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
  18. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,071 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    908
    Thanks guys.
     
    overclocking101 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page