1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dead slot on my motherboard. Help.

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by MohawkAngel, Aug 16, 2009.

  1. MohawkAngel

    MohawkAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,864 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    I just had boot problems. I tried to clear cmos...in many ways..like in the book or the old ways . I unplugged everything. Tried each of my 4 memory sticks in each of the 4 slots....1 ram slot is dead so i can only work on 3 gigs sticks on my motherboard. anyone ever exprerinced a dead ram slot on a Asus M3A78-CM motherboard or any other motherboard??

    Thank you .
  2. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,912 (5.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,063
    Location:
    Ohio
    The solution is obvious... if there is a dead ram slot, RMA it if you can.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    Dead slot = rma
  4. MohawkAngel

    MohawkAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,864 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Ok thx...but it ever happened to you ?
  5. Duncan1

    Duncan1 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    92 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    greece
    Its rare, but its possible to happen.
  6. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    Happened to me on my old asus 780i
  7. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,490 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,149
    I've had that on two boards I think.. 440bx boards I think it was.
  8. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Happened before and RMA'd it.
  9. k0rn_h0li0 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,180 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Hometown CALI, Current WI.
    mohawk have you reached a decision?
  10. MohawkAngel

    MohawkAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,864 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    i wait for the store to ask...the guy is trying to see for exchangewith warehouse instead that i have t RMA to USA and wait for a while<
  11. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,220 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,406
    usually when 1 spot on a board fails, the other areas follow suit
  12. MohawkAngel

    MohawkAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,864 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Mobo was exchanged for arefurbished one from toronto warehouse instead or RMA's in the usa...cost only 15$ of shipping.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page