1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dead Space is killing me :( HELP!

Discussion in 'Games' started by Adeel_ssj4, Oct 31, 2008.

  1. Adeel_ssj4

    Adeel_ssj4 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    44 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London Essex
    So i just got this awesome game, after watching trailers, gameplay videos i couldn't wait! But after installing it and opening it up i was greeted with this title screen:

    http://img100.imageshack.us/my.php?image=wtfeh7.jpg
    My specs are as follow:

    AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
    2GB Ram
    Windows XP
    Sapphire ATI x1950 Pro 512mb

    Im running on dual screens but for tests i've tried unplugging one of the screens but still the problem persisted. no idea what i should be doing to fix this now, any suggestions are much appriciated ><

    Thanks for your time
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2008
  2. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,083 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,512
    Location:
    Florida
    pics broke
    Adeel_ssj4 says thanks.
  3. Adeel_ssj4

    Adeel_ssj4 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    44 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London Essex
    Fixed it, sorry about that
  4. Fastmix

    Fastmix New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    627 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Heaven
    Try updating your drivers or changing resolution.
    Adeel_ssj4 says thanks.
  5. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,083 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Well I'm running Dual Screens as well and I have no problems from it. Your problem lies else where.
    Adeel_ssj4 says thanks.
  6. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,750 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,641
    Location:
    US

    Your not going to tell people what was doing it ?..
    Adeel_ssj4 says thanks.
  7. Adeel_ssj4

    Adeel_ssj4 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    44 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London Essex
    No i meant i fixed the screenshot, and to the poster above i changed resolutions to the lowest possible and to medium (1280x1024) which also didn't fix it, im going to try a driver install/reinstall now see if it helps ><
  8. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Gfx card overheating ?
    Adeel_ssj4 says thanks.
  9. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,889 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    272
    I second it being a driver related issue.

    Though, do you have your GPU overclocked at all?
    Adeel_ssj4 says thanks.
  10. Adeel_ssj4

    Adeel_ssj4 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    44 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London Essex
    At idle its 42C by thats with an aftermarket cooler because the stock couldn't cut it ><
  11. Adeel_ssj4

    Adeel_ssj4 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    44 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London Essex
    No its not overclocked, and i've updated to the latest one via the site and still it persists ><

    EDIT

    AphexDreamer are you using the latest drivers from ATI to?
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2008
  12. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,812 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,440
    I don't think this would cause your issue but I know on the back of the box it states the card must be OpenGL3.0 compatible. To me it looks like a major driver issue or a overheating issue.
    Adeel_ssj4 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Adeel_ssj4

    Adeel_ssj4 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    44 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London Essex
    If its a driver issue then erm >< ATI users what drivers are you using? And ATI CP reads between 40-50 ><
  14. Cybrnook2002

    Cybrnook2002

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    827 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Drivers man, almost %100. Im using the latest off the ATI site. Trying opening CCC and setting all to default and see if the game fires up then. IF so, turn all your custom settings back one by one until you find the bugger.
    Adeel_ssj4 says thanks.
  15. Adeel_ssj4

    Adeel_ssj4 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    44 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London Essex
    THAT FIXED IT <3 :D could you upload each tabs screenshot and so i know what settings i should have :3 thanks!
  16. Adeel_ssj4

    Adeel_ssj4 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    44 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London Essex
    Ah on second thought it didn't fix it, went past the EA screen fine and then just carried on to kill itself =(
  17. Cybrnook2002

    Cybrnook2002

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    827 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Download the latest drivers, then try again. Make sure you directX and all is up to date as well.
    Adeel_ssj4 says thanks.
  18. Kusimeka

    Kusimeka

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    457 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Get the latest drivers for everything aswell, i think theres even a program which can search everything on your computer and find the latest drivers for you.
    Adeel_ssj4 says thanks.
  19. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,750 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,641
    Location:
    US
    Ooh sorry my bad.

    The ram on the cards not overheating is it ?. Maybe check for dust build up and check all the ram chips on how hot there getting.

    Try cooling topside of the card too.
    Adeel_ssj4 says thanks.
  20. Adeel_ssj4

    Adeel_ssj4 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    44 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London Essex
    Ok i've fixed the graphical issue, a reinstall of all drivers completely hard wiped from the computer fixed it but also setting it at default to :p

    However a new problem has arised, choppy sound >< any ideas?
  21. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,812 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,440
    What sound card are you using?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Adeel_ssj4

    Adeel_ssj4 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    44 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London Essex
    Its a stock sound card:
    Creative SB Live! Value sound card
  23. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,812 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,440
    What do you mean by stock? It came with your system? If it's one of those Dell Live cards..good luck!! J/K What driver are you using(date of driver)?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,812 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,440
    Here is a driver page I found for the card and I see it has met "End of Life". http://support.creative.com/Product... Value&subCatName=Live!&CatName=Sound Blaster

    I would have to say it sounds like your sound issue is due to the same reason you had problems with your graphics card, the drivers. Before continuing make sure you have the original driver install package for this card cause the Patch will not work unless the original driver can be found. Being a Creative audio card I would go and download Driver Sweeper, http://downloads.guru3d.com/downloadget.php?id=1655&file=4&evp=c14f9f3787877eef9ef4b235b9146e96, and install it. Once you have it installed uninstall your Creative drivers and reboot into safe mode(press F8 for boot options during system bootup). Once your in Safe Mode open up Driver Sweeper, check Creative, Analyze system, and clean what it finds. Reboot back into Normal mode and install drivers.

    Supposedly this is the original driver package, http://www.fileshack.com/file.x/545/Sound Blaster Live! Driver Pack Full Package - XP/2000.
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2008
    Adeel_ssj4 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Adeel_ssj4

    Adeel_ssj4 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    44 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London Essex
    My drivers are up to date since i wiped the computer about 2 months back and those drivers are a few years old :p And no its not a dell, i'd never buy a dell :3 DYI ftw :p I've uninstalled them and reinstalled through the method you said above for a test and it still persisted :(

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page