1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dedicated server

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by Snake05, Feb 13, 2008.

  1. Snake05

    Snake05 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Messages:
    530 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
    I am wanting to use one of my desktops as a dedicated server at an upcoming LAN. I have no experience doing this before, so I figured I'd ask some questions here. Does this all depend on each game that we play whether or not I can host a server? This is a mediocre machine that I will be using, so is there anything else I should know before attempting to get the pc ready for gaming?
  2. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Highly depends on the game of course. A dedicated server shouldn't render graphics and therefor is usually less demanding than the game itself.
  3. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,835 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Florida, US
    if it has a decent amount of ram you should be fine
  4. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    How so? I could stuff 4 GB in a P2 Xeon and it won't run anything for modern games.
  5. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,835 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Florida, US
    i never said 4GB or 2GB or even 1GB,
    if the os runs decent he should be fine
  6. Snake05

    Snake05 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Messages:
    530 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
    It has a P4 3.0HT, 1.5Gb DDR2(533), and an X800
  7. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,835 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Florida, US
    that's fine
  8. craigwhiteside

    craigwhiteside New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,178 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Location:
    UK, Liverpool
    that should be totally ample for any game server today :toast:
  9. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    So as long as the OS runs fine you can run a dedicated Crysis server? Where do you get your information?
  10. Snake05

    Snake05 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Messages:
    530 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
    Crysis is one of the game on the agenda. The computer can run the game at Medium just fine, so I am hoping that it will host it fine without any problems.
  11. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,835 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Florida, US
    he said crysis?
  12. craigwhiteside

    craigwhiteside New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,178 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Location:
    UK, Liverpool
    wait crysis on medium????, on a P4 and an X800 :twitch:
  13. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,835 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Florida, US
    medium- x800 nice
  14. Snake05

    Snake05 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Messages:
    530 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
    The following is a list of all of the games that I would like to be able to play. Some of the Steam games may not require a server, but for the others one would probably help. Any suggestions on the following?

    UT3
    Cryisis
    C&C3
    TF2
    CoD4
    UT04
    AoE3
    CS Source
    HL2 Deathmatch
  15. Snake05

    Snake05 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Messages:
    530 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
    Yeah, x800 was running it just fine on medium. I was surprised myself. :rockout:
  16. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Just after me, yes.

    However he didn't name any game and you already assured him he would be fine with anything that runs just the OS.
    For one the server needs to be able to load the maps, so depending on the game 1GB is far from overkill.



    Crysis server documentation, it says you require at least a C2D 2.4 or X2 at 2.5GHz with 1GB RAM. So I can't be sure if your P4 will cut it as I have no experience with it.
  17. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,835 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Florida, US
    yeah yeah yeah it was wrong of me to say "if the os runs decent he should be fine"
    i kinda got confused, answering in all there ftp/media server threads...
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2008

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page